We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable staff, excellent service”
Review of The Book Shop

The Book Shop
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff, excellent service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I always drop by The Book Shop when I'm in Penticton. I was looking for information on a particular obscure subject and was very surprised when one of the staff had knowledge of this! I always spend at least an hour (or more) when I visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    40
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Always on the to-do list”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are regular visitors to Penticton and The Book Shop is always on our agenda. Most of their immense collection is non-fiction and we always find excellent reference material to bring home. It's always a struggle to fit all of our new books and wine into the car for the return home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochrane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“hidden gems are waiting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Incredibly knowledgeable help from all the staff, well read , true bibliophiles , ready to help , talk , and dig through the unbelievable amounts of well sorted books, an experience in itself!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mosella_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“unusual books”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

thousands of old books, travel and language guides.Excellent knowledgeable staff. outside bookstand invites you in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kajbar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic service in this new and used shop”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We needed a couple of bird books and the gentleman in this shop was fantastic. He was not pushy but he knew his books and where they were located in the store, which is quite large and filled with new and used.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Book Shop also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Book Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing