We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique vacation experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Resort
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If your get-a-ways usually involve a hotel room & room service, a yurt vacation may not be your ideal vacation. On the other hand, if like me, you loved camping as a child but as an adult find yourself looking for a more upscale camping experience, you've found your ideal location. As a Penticton local, I have had the opportunity to see the transformation of this previous eyesore into a unique & beautifully landscaped vacation property. Last night, I was able to experience the resort as a guest when my husband and I booked a yurt for our anniversary. Annually, this weekend is one of the busiest of the year as Penticton hosts our iron distance triathalon - tons of road traffic. We stayed in yurt #2 which is the smallest yurt and closest to the highway. Upon arriving, we found our yurt situated among a grove of mature trees. The grounds around our yurt were well landscaped. As the plantings mature, it will resemble a woodland setting - something hard to achieve in the semi-arid desert! Out front, a wooden deck with two deck chairs and a family sized BBQ. Entering our yurt we were greeted by a King sized bed, small kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, full sink & polished concrete counter) flat screen TV and 3 piece washroom. The resort is located on highway 97 and has direct beach access through a tunnel under the highway. Road noise is definitely audible through the walls of the yurt, especially the transport trucks that are slowing down as they enter Penticton. The traffic died down as the evening progressed, and did not interfere with a good night sleep. Traffic was noticeable again around 7:30 am as was the daylight filling our yurt through the rooftop skylight - a great view to wake up to. The bed was comfortable and the extra pillows were appreciated. In hindsight, I should have inquired about availability of a yurt behind the retail space as it does provide a buffer between the resort and the highway. Added features of the resort: a full service restaurant with rooftop patio open for lunch & dinner, a large rooftop deck over the retail stores (great place to take in the lake view while enjoying an ice cream.) Snack shack & Breakfast bar right on the beach. A small ask of the owners would be a small shelf to hold make-up and toiletries in the bathroom. A radio by the bed would be a nice addition as well. I am looking forward to seeing the continued development of the resort and look forward to trying another stay next year.

Room Tip: Know what a yurt is before you stay in one.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Hi VLM, thanks for your review!

You hit the nail on the head with what our experience is about. We are not trying to be a 5-star hotel with full luxury amenities. We are in the "glamping" industry - glamorous camping! It is the perfect mix of upscale amenities with the down to earth tenting experience we all loved when we were children.

In response to a couple of your comments I wanted to let you know that we have added the shelf into the bathrooms after hearing the feedback from guests like yourself and I will certainly look into getting some alarm clocks. (You try to think of everything on a project this size but inevitably miss a few things!)

We also have future plans to develop an additional store front beside the first set of buildings to offer more services and further cut down the road noise.

It is great feedback and reviews like yours that help us to improve our resort and we look forward to having you visit our property again as we continue to grow!

Thanks,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The yurts are absolutely beautiful. The owners have really done a wonderful job providing their guests with a comfortable, clean and spacious place to stay. That being said, the noise is horrible. The airport is right next door so every night at 11 it sounded as though a jet was landing on top of us. The highway is right behind the yurts and the traffic noise is really loud all night long. The yurts are placed too close together and we had the joy of listening to our neighbours conversations and loud music playing all day and into most of the night. Because of this I would not stay at this resort again, which is a shame because the yurts truly are amazing. Good effort, but not quite right.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaskres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi Jaskres,

Thanks for taking the time to review our resort, I am quite pleased to see that you enjoyed the yurts we built for our customers.

We are located close to the airport which has created mixed reviews from our guests. There is unfortunately the noise that comes with the planes (the latest flight is 11:15pm so there is no concern throughout the night), but we have a number of guests who stay with us because of the convenience of being within walking distance of this amenity and quite a few guests who love the great view of watching the planes take off and land. Especially the children!

We will be continuing our development of the property over the next few years and will have yurt offerings on the opposite side of our 11 acre property from the highway and airport. This will provide future options for those looking for a quieter spot and aren't as concerned with being as close to the beach access.

We hope to host you again in the future!

Thanks,

Max Picton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Worst campground I've every stayed at! I couldn't sleep here because it's a party all night every night here... Full of drunk people, even after complaints nothing was done. Not a family friendly
Campground people puking in washrooms... I'll never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi Dale C,

Upon reading your review I can assure you that we are not building a "party" campground. We take every complaint quite seriously. Guests offending our policies, disrespecting staff or other guests are removed from our property and flagged in our system as unwelcome to return.

Unfortunately we had to spend a large portion of the summer cleaning up the legacy left from Happy Hour Campground, which was the former business located on this property. They may have run their business without rules, but we certainly don't.

I hope that you will give our resort another try and see that we are creating an amazing, family friendly environment, that will provide long lasting memories to our guests for years to come.

Thank you,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We just returned from the Barefoot Beach Resort. One part of me loved it the other......well. The yurts are fabulous. We had no problem with anything in our yurt. The bed is quite comfortable, the bathroom is fine with nice towels and the kitchen is workable. One needs to remember this is a YURT not a hotel room. Some reviewers were complaining about no kitchen in their yurt? This makes no sense. There is a small workable kitchen in each unit. No, there is not a regulation size range but you certainly can cook an entire meal there. They have microwaves and a small frig in the smaller yurts (20 ft). Not sure about the larger ones. There was brand new bbq grill on our deck and from what I could see all the yurts had them. The grounds are lovely. They have done extensive plantings and are doing more from the looks of it. The resort does have its own beach with easy access under the highway. There is a small yurt on the beach for coffee and a light breakfast. The is also an ice cream shop and a small organic market right in front of the part of the campground. The campers that were using the traditional campgrounds were all polite and we had no problems with any of them. It is a campground so you need to keep that in mind. I guess my only complaint is the noise and there is a lot of that. The traffic goes pretty much all night. I knew they were along the highway and brought earplugs. This made my stay much more enjoyable. I am a light sleeper and I managed to sleep just fine. We traveled with friends and they too enjoyed their stay. Would I come back? Probably. This is a brand new place and they are finding out what works and what doesn't. Some other reviewers need to remember this. Barefoot Beach Resort is a new idea that I think will be wonderful very, very soon. If you stay be open minded and realize some of the kinks will be worked out and you will have a great time!

Room Tip: Yurts # 6 and above are behind the store fronts and quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biccabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi biccabons,

Thank you for taking the time to review our new property.

It sounds like you took the time to visit some of our great on site amenities and I hope that you were pleased by the selection. We will be expanding our services over the next few years and would love to have you back to explore our new offerings!

Cheers,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a good camping ground with cabins available too. It has its own beach on Skaha lake. Unfortunately noise travels from the adjacent airport. The washroom facilities have been updated but you have to pay $1 for a shower. We camped here so the facilities were adequate for us. It seems the cabins may not be well-serviced, reading other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blinkybillWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi blinkybillWhistler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and posting your pictures.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our area and I hope to have you return for another visit in the future.

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our trip here was terrible. We paid almost 300 dollars a night to sleep next to a highway, the airport and a very noisy campground. Our baby slept terrible and we had no kitchen or BBQ in our yurt. The water that came out of the facets was literally mud, we had to wash our baby with bottled water.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babymomma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi Babymomma001,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

The yurt that you vacationed in was our Fantasy Suite which is clearly marked on all of our promotional material as a couples suite that does not include a kitchen or a BBQ. Instead this unit is equipped with a large 4' soaker tub set in the room for a romantic inspired theme. It sounds like you may have been more interested in one of our standard suites that comes equipped with the items you mentioned.

As for the water comment, our water is tested weekly by Health Canada and has passed every test, meeting all guidelines for safe, clean, potable water. The same water source is provided to all of our rental units, washroom buildings, restaurants and other businesses and there has been no record of any "mud" coming out of faucets.

A section of our 11 acre property is close to highway but this also puts us a stones throw from the beach. The accessibility of this beautiful amenity is a bit of a trade off with the road noise. The traffic does die down significantly later in the evening.

And finally, as with any accommodator located in the SW corner of Penticton, there is some noise to be expected from the airport. That being said, the last flight of the night is at 11:15pm, with no further flight traffic until the next day. The airport will not interrupt anyones sleep beyond that hour.

Sincerely,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Worst campsite I ever stayed at. People were Very noisy all night. Bathroom facilities were inadequate. No hot water for showers or at the dish washing station. Bathrooms were a mess and at one point were all closed for hours.

The worst part was when my 11 month old got sick in the middle of the night and had to go to the hospital.
The security people let my wife through the gates at 2:00 am. They knew why she was leaving but when she got back they wouldn't let her drive back into our site. She had to walk with the baby and all of the baby's stuff back to our site.

Overall not a very good place to take your family

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi AdamRutledge,

I would like to take a moment to address some of the concerns mentioned in your post. I can see by your comments your visit with us was on the August Long Weekend. This was the first time the resort saw a capacity crowd and it was certainly a learning experience.

We had close to 800 people staying in the resort on this weekend, which tested our brand new systems to the edge of their capabilities, and unfortunately beyond, resulting in some of the issues you mentioned.

Our hot water system was built to specifications provided to us by an engineering firm. Unfortunately their design was not adequate to keep up with the volume of people that we encountered, resulting in colder showers later on in the morning. We are looking into a couple different ways to upgrade the system and will have this issue fixed before we experience this volume of clientele again next year.

Our main bathroom was temporarily closed when we had a pump clog due to foreign objects being flushed into the system. This is something that was out of our control though we did have two other washrooms made available during this time to service our guests and had the issue resolved in less than two hours.

In regards to the issue with your wife not being allowed access to drive in, I sincerely apologize. We had outsourced security staff for the long weekend who were trying to keep the noise down from vehicle traffic inside the resort during quiet hours, but I think an exception should have been made in the case of a sick child.

As we had only been in operation for a month at the time of your visit we were still experiencing a few start-up difficulties. I appreciate you taking the time to review our property as all feedback will help us improve the resort and our operations moving forward.

Thanks,

Max Picton
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
3.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
10.6 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
1.0 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#2 of 44 in Penticton
171 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 4145 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6J7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Penticton
Price Range: £106 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach Resort is a brand new unique, eco-friendly development featuring 11 nightly/weekly rentals in amazing units known as yurts & 130 campsites. In addition to these units, guests will find the resort full of amenities such as water sport rentals, restaurants, markets and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing