We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time at Above the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Penticton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd Time at Above the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The last time I was at Above the Beach was 3 years ago and promised myself that if I ever came back to Penticton, I'd stay there again. This year, I came back with extended family and friends from Italy. Everyone was impressed with the friendly service, the view and the accommodations. We even made use of the bbq by the pond.
The breakfast is always abundant and delicious and our hosts went of their way to make our italian guests feel more comfortable.
I'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meyerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    15
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
122
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The location of this B&B is fantastic. We had a great view of Skaha Lake from the common balcony deck where breakfast was served every morning. The hosts, Barb and Gary, were friendly, helpful and extremely hospitable. We love their dog, Gigi, too.
The room - Sapphire - was very clean and well equipped. While it did get hot in the day, the hosts had the air-conditioning turned on to keep the place cool and comfortable. The washroom was clean and had everything you need - shower foam, shampoo, conditioner, make up remover, hairdryer and hand soap.
The very best part about this B&B is the fantastic breakfast! We get a different breakfast every morning. The taste and presentation of breakfast is simply amazing! I wished they had made a recipe book on the breakfast that I could take home.
At night, we enjoyed mingling with the other guests, drinking wine and chatting. Barb and Gary were super generous to open their bottles of wine for us to enjoy together.
We highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a great place to chill with great people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieFossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently stayed at Above the Beach for the Penticton Granfondo. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous. They were even up at 5 am on the morning of the ride to prepare a healthy breakfast for all of the riders staying at the Inn. Although we didn't have a view from our room there were many outdoor sitting areas and we always felt welcome to enjoy the home and the many views.

I highly recommend this B and B for your next visit to Penticton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Above the Beach B & B and truly loved it. Couldn't have been better. The hosts were great and totally spoiled us with their fantastic breakfasts sitting on the outside deck with a million dollar view overlooking Skaha Lake. Would definately love to go and stay there again. We both would highly recommend staying here. Loved it. Shirley/Steve S

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great Location, Nice View, Clean Air Conditioned Rooms, Delicious Breakfast...

We enjoyed the Skaha Lake beach which is only 2 minutes away and has lots of free parking.

Will come again in the future.

Highly Recommended

Zoe

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent 3 days in Above the Beach B&B this July.


Probably the best 3 days I have ever had in Okanagen. We have been in Penticton several times but first time in Bed and Breakfast.

Above the Beach delivered Above our Highest Expectations.


Phenomenal Service, So Friendly Owners, Fantastic View, Superb Clean Emerald Suite, Breakfast made just for us: Vegan for my wife & GIBANICA for me (My Old Country Dish).

Awesome.

Thank you so much.

Bob

Room Tip: Book In Advance, any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed at Above the Beach on Canada Day weekend with my boyfriend and had a great time! We're a young, 24-year old couple and have never stayed in a B&B before so were a little skeptical of the experience. Being a long weekend, the hotels in town started at $300+ per night and Above the Beach was more in our budget. After reading the reviews, we decided to take a chance and make an adventure out of it. We ended up loving it! The guests happened to be a younger age for the weekend (including Barb & Gary's son and wife from Vancouver) and we spent two nights out on the deck, drinking wine with everyone and having a hilarious time. Even though we were staying at someone's house, it often felt like we were the only ones there and could enjoy sitting out on the deck or by the pond or pick cherries from their trees without feeling awkward and invading. Barb & Gary were both incredibly friendly and it was fun to get to know some of the other guests staying there. My boyfriend and I both like the nightlife and were planning on going out one night but ended up staying in because we didn't want to miss out on any of the fun with everyone on the deck!

The view is amazing - I'm not sure why other reviews say that the view is obstructed or not as nice as it sounds. Sitting out on the deck when the sun goes down and the moon casts a bright blue over the Skaha Lake is an incredible experience.

One 'downfall' I suppose (although I don't actually have any complaints) is that the B&B is up on a hill at the other end of Penticton from where the bars, pubs, etc. are located, so if you want to head there at night, you'd have to take a cab. Not a big deal but during the day when we were visiting the wineries and floating down the channel (so much fun) with a 6-pack of beer, we wanted to be able to enjoy ourselves without worrying about driving back to the B&B. We brought our bicycles and were hoping to bike to the wineries but ended up driving through town to the beginning of the bike path because it's quite far and there's some big hills. There's just no fun in having to be a designated driver on vacation!

Overall, a terrific experience. I would absolutely stay at Above the Beach again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ruby Suite which is actually in the basement floor of the house. I debated over spl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
3.3 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cormier's Studio
Cormier's Studio
#1 of 18 in Penticton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.7 mi away
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 102 Spruce Pl, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8V9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Penticton, above Skaha Beach, in an orchard, and within one hours drive of over 150 wineries. Choose from one of 4 rooms, each with their own luxurious features. We invite you to come to be spoiled and have a stay you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing