We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here at all costs!”
Review of Crown Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Resort Motel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here at all costs!”
Reviewed 28 August 2007

A friend recommended this motel. It is one in a street of older, family style motels on Okanagan Lake. Our experience from the start was dismal. The office stunk of cigarette smoke, we had to pay up front, & the office staff were surly & semi-rude. The room was very small, dirty carpet, with the largest spider I have ever seen on the bathroom ceiling. The mattress kept coming off the bed as there was no proper headboard. The cleanliness was completely suboptimal & I was praying for no bedbugs. The only thing this motel has going for it is location, it was pricey in relation to other better motels we stayed at during our travels. All in all, a dreadful experience. As my husband put it, it's a perfect motel to commit suicide in.

  • Liked — Nothing at all.
  • Disliked — Room quality, cleanliness, horrible staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceeniebinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
29
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stateside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

my family and i have been going to penticton on and off for many years. we have stayed at the crown motel at least the last 8 years in a row. it was a wonderful place until it was sold 3 or 4 years ago. we still have been staying there but every year our room rates are increased and this year it was increased by $30 a night. the value for the amount of money is not there. the rooms are okay but the pool is falling apart, the bbq's need to be replaced, and any complanints are ignored. one of our friends rooms has a stove that has 1 burner that works and the oven does not work and has not for the last three years. needless to say we are looking into other places to stay in the future. our party consists of about 24 people depending on who comes and i would think they would want to keep our business but instead they are chasing us away

  • Liked — the location and the ability to socialize with other travelers on their decks
  • Disliked — owner/management attitude toward guests and value for the money spent
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank callieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We stayed at the Crown Motel a year ago. I see that nothing has changed and the numerous customer comments/complaints (the ones I directly observed while staying there) have fallen on deaf ears!

There was nothing positive about the Crown Motel other than its location. Rude "take it or leave it" attitude by owner/manager, inept and belligerent cleaning staff , and poorly maintained rooms. We encountered rooms with no numbers on the door, upper railing that could easily be pulled apart allowing a small child to fall through, spiders complete with webs, dirty fridges, stoves, dishes etc, small dingy/dirty bathrooms, garage sale furniture, shabby linen, blinds with slates missing, broken screens, windows that would not lock, junk and debris piled beside building etc etc.

These rooms are well below industry standards. Save yourself the grief and go somewhere else!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alberta16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

Low wattage and in some cases no lightbulbs. No hairdryer. Room was small and musty. Bathroom small with the vanity in the room. Would not recomend to anybody.

Helpful?
4 Thank Reader8/18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#21 of 44 in Penticton
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spanish Villa Resort
Spanish Villa Resort
#27 of 44 in Penticton
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resort Motel

Property: Crown Resort Motel
Address: 950 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
#4 Business Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Resort Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly, affordable motel right at Penticton's beautiful, sandy Okanagan Beach. Guests enjoy a casual relaxed atmosphere and heated saltwater pool. As well, many rooms and suites come with a Lake view, all with a cottage-style charm not found in the usual motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Motel Penticton
Crown Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing