We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, unwelcoming staff”
Review of La Frenz Winery

La Frenz Winery
Ranked #13 of 88 things to do in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located on the beautiful Naramata Bench in the heart of the Okanangan Valley. At LA FRENZ, we believe the quality in the bottle begins in the vineyard. Cutting edge and meticulous vineyard practices are used in combination with varieties tailored to the unique soils and micro climates of our vineyard sites to produce the vibrant and intense grape characters found only in the Okanagan Valley. The potential of the resulting fruit, using experience and careful stewardship throughout the vinification process, is maintained and enhanced to create exceptional wines that truly reflect the grape variety and vineyard site. We welcome you to our unique wine shop overlooking Lake Okanagan. This spectacular view was featured on the $100 banknote from 1954 to 1975. From April through October, we are open daily, 10am to 5pm for tastings and purchases. Join us on our patio for a seated tasting experience or sample at the tasting bar. Seating is limited so reservations are encouraged. We do require advance reservations for groups of 8 or more.
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great wines, unwelcoming staff”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I greatly enjoyed the wines but the server seemed cold and unwelcoming. I bought a bottle since the tasting fee is applied to purchases, but I doubt I'll be back for tasting in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank prestoninaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    13
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very Good Wines! Needs improvement in their staff.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stopped at La Frenz many times over the last 10 years. Their wines have consistently been very good. However, over the last two years - we have noticed the staff have become less friendly and more officious. They may know a lot about wines but could sure use a tune up in their communication skills with the public. It's not a fun environment and they seem to take their job too seriously. Probably won't include this winery again when we visit Naramata in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hockeymom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt rushed, but friendly host!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was looking forward to the “quaint” walk up to this winery but found this to be slightly overstated. A nice view, but not the most spectacular on the Bench. Our server was the highlight of this winery – very personable, bubbly and energetic. It did feel a little rushed, but I get the sense that any time you visit a winery that is full to the brim with tourists, this is the experience you can expect. As we left this winery we noticed a rolling field populated with beautiful black cows, and we stopped to say hello. This is one of the great features of the area – so many luscious fields filled with healthy cattle, horses or row upon row of fruit trees.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_C_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great viewpoint but felt rushed”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Staff was very busy during wine tasting so felt rushed through each sample (I like to chat about the winery's opinion on their wines). Liked the short walk through the vines to get to the main building. We had heard that La Frenz has the same viewpoint as shown on the back of the old 100-dollar bill. .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“La Frenz...it continues to impress”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

La Frenz is becoming a victim of its own success. While a great thing for business, it also means a busy tasting room full of people who have heard about it and want to try it or loyal customers flocking back to where they get their treasured wines. We arrived with a group of 7 to find a hot and packed tasting room but the ladies behind the counter smiled and made room for all of us.

La Frenz remains one of our favourites and they continue to impress with their flavourful and bold wines. Our favourites continue to be the Malbec, Cab Sauv, and wonderful port selections.

Despite it being packed, they even took the time to ask me how my previously purchased wines were fairing, how we were enjoying them, and even asked how I was storing them...then offering updates on how long I should cellar them for after they've had a year or two to age and be tried by winery staff.

Even though quite a few other wineries are making their way into my cellar, La Frenz still has its own special place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Centurion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Frenz Winery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to La Frenz Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing