We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riddle Road Retreat
Ranked #9 of 18 Penticton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a home away from home”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at this lovely, quiet B&B set high on a hill in the Naramata Bench wine region, which is just outside of Penticton. Doug & Joyce were wonderful and generous hosts! Their home is beautiful and the views were to die for. We stayed in the avocado room, which was comfortable and well-furnished. We also had the opportunity to borrow their bikes ($10 each) and biked to several wineries just down the road. Be warned, the B&B is up a hill to be prepared to walk your bike back up!

The breakfasts were delicious and enjoyed out on their patio (the hummingbirds provided all sorts of entertainment). We loved talking over coffee and getting to know Doug and Joyce, they are truly wonderful people. Doug has an interest in local history and has even published several books, make sure you ask to see them! When we mentioned we were interested in visiting some wineries, they provided us with maps, coupons, vouchers, and several excellent recommendations. They also suggested the Hillside Bistro, walking distance from the B&B, which was phenomenal.

We have stayed in some B&Bs where we felt like we had to be out of the property for the whole day and that we were only welcome there in the evening. This was NOT the case with Riddle Road! They have lots of outdoor and indoor space downstairs where we were welcome to sit, relax, and have a glass of wine at any time of day. Overall, Doug and Joyce made us feel like family even though our stay was only two nights. We wish we could have stayed longer. If you are the kind of traveler who appreciates staying in small establishments and making personal connections with your hosts, then Riddle Road is the place for you. If we return to Penticton, we'd never consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I have just spent two nights here with my husband on a short trip to explore the area and wineries and cannot recommend it highly enough!
When we arrived Joyce and Doug greeted us with a warm welcome and showed us around the property. The bedroom was very clean, a good size with dressing gowns provided. There was a shared bathroom, communal lounge with games and a TV, fridge/freezer and tea and coffee making facilities.
Bikes were $10 to hire per day and there are some great trails on the doorstep as well as a good cycle route to around 20 wineries and the local town (6 or 7 are within walking distance).
They kindly let us use their BBQ one night and we sat eating our dinner over looking the wonderful views of the lake (the house is positioned on a hill with perfect views). The breakfast was also great.
In summary this is a great B&B and the hosts Joyce and Doug went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I believe my co-guest wrote the below review, but here is mine, written before I knew:

Staying with Joyce and Doug was fantastic! We booked with them very last minute due to a mix-up with our previous reservation elsewhere, and it was the best thing that could have happened. The place was very cute and well put together. Also, before I forget, I must say, the bed was SO comfortable. Honestly the best sleeps I have had in ages, if not ever. The BnB itself, I believe, is three rooms on the ground floor and a washroom to share. This was more than comfortable, however, Joyce and Doug were happy to show us the washroom upstairs to use as well. The breakfast every morning was absolutely lovely-- talk about world class! Lots of fresh coffee, a fruit and granola cup, orange juice, and a scrumptious and fresh hot dish to top it all off. Doug and Joyce ate breakfast with us on the outside patio (surrounded by hummingbirds!), and chatting with them was so lovely, we sat for quite a while every morning just to enjoy the fantastic conversation. They also own a very sweet dog. The location was great—nice and quiet, and right along the old KVR trail—if you like to run or go for long walks, it would be perfect for you. I’ve stayed in several bed and breakfasts in different countries, and Joyce and Doug are by far the most welcoming, warm and generous hosts I have ever had. They really almost felt like family by the end (only three days!). I could not recommend staying here more, you will be so glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emk-scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our hosts were phenomenal! They took us in basically last minute and were extremely welcoming. They toured us around the house, gave us a solid history of the area, and even offered to take us mountain biking! The stay included homemade, delicious breakfasts on the patio with a lake view and hummingbirds, was within walking distance of multiple wineries, the bed was very comfortable, and all of the clean linens and towels are provided.

The house and surrounding area is very quiet. All of the guest rooms are located on the main floor and the hosts' living quarters and kitchen are upstairs. There is a shared living space with TV and free wifi for the guests as well as a fridge and free tea, coffee, etc. at all times in a side room. Our bathroom was a shared one with the other guests, but were given access to the upstairs one if busy. The hosts allowed us to come and go as we pleased with the main entrance being downstairs, so not to disturb the house.

Clean house with a cat and dog, which never trekked near our rooms. Parking available. Just remember to bring cash to pay for the stay.

Overall, I would re-book here in an instant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_gallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This modern yet cozy establishment on the eastern slopes above Naramata overlooks the KVR trail and ultimately Lake Okanagan 10 minutes walk from the renowned Hillside Winery and restaurant. The friendly and helpful proprietors kept an eye on our car while we biked the KVR from Christina Lake and the bed and bath were eagerly anticipated on arrival. It is a perfect venue from which to bicycle tour the Naramata wine country and we spent the better part of the week based there. The breakfast balcony is lush with flowers and hummingbirds. The summer Olympics were on that week too. No pool, but the Lake is readily available, and lots of tennis courts in Penticton. If you like summer vacations that combine great weather and views, activity, good wine and food, and relaxation, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLvcrbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I had amazing time at this B&B. All thanks to the hosts - Joyce and Doug. They are such a wonderful couple who went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable and worry free. We were fortunate to get to know them better through a little incident - our room got accidentally double booked. Joyce and Doug solved the problem within no time by offering us their own bedroom.
We spent 3 nights there. The B&B is in the heart of numerous wineries, on a hill. Each day would start with delicious breakfast prepared by Joyce herself (and served by Doug, they make a great team! and they've been married for 40 years!), on the patio with gorgeous views. First, would be a variety of local fruits with yogurt and granola, followed by savory scrambled eggs or fritata with toasts and variety of jams to have with tea or coffee. I can not have dairy or gluten, so Joyce was kind enough to cater to my needs, so I never felt left out. Both her and Doug would join us later for some interesting conversations.
Doug showed us the vineyard, gave us lots of suggestions on which trails to do and told us about the history of the place (Doug is a local historian). We borrowed bikes from him one day and went to the Little Tunnel (the path was at a slope so we were exhausted by the end of 10 km and didn't make it further, left it for next time) with some absolutely stunning views of the valley.
By the end of each day, we would have our dinner on the patio sharing the views with the hummingbirds and relaxing. Doug and Joyce joined us a few times for some long and entertaining discussions.
We never at any point felt like we were restricted in any way or unwelcomed. We felt so at ease and so homey that if we could we would have definitely stayed longer. We couldn't expect a better ending to our road trip. Would recommend this B&B without a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaika24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Riddle Road Retreat! The innkeepers Joyce and Doug were knowledgable and helpful about seeing the area. Additionally, when my sister injured her back on the trip they helped in every way they could including providing remedies and magnet therapy tools. The breakfasts were delicious, conversation was wonderful and the scenery was breathtaking. I will definitely return to the Riddle Road Retreat :)

Room Tip: Ask which room stays the coolest at night, there is no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce C, Owner at Riddle Road Retreat, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I appreciate all the wonderful reviews and amazing guests we have had the honour of hosting over many years. I would just like to clarify the above review comment regarding A/C in our home. We enjoy a unique and amazing natural cooling location at the base of a gulley coming off the mountains behind our home. In the summer Okanagan Lake gives off a lot of heat at night, & draws incoming cooling breezes off the mountain & down the gulley. We have lived here for over 40 years & enjoy this phenomenon every year. Also all our guest rooms are on the ground floor which keeps them pleasantly cool. So please do not let A/C concern you as we have found it unnecessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
3.9 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
E'Laysa Guesthouse and Vineyard Retreat
2.8 mi away
Cormier's Studio
Cormier's Studio
#1 of 18 in Penticton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
OK Whistle Stop B&B
OK Whistle Stop B&B
#8 of 18 in Penticton
18 reviews
6.1 mi away
Above The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riddle Road Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riddle Road Retreat

Property: Riddle Road Retreat
Address: 1275 Riddle Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8X2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riddle Road Retreat is a secluded quiet B&B within the city limits of Penticton, but on the edge of crown land with amazing biking & hiking, & a quiet nearby beach. The view from the B&B is referred to by our guests as our "million dollar view".There is a wonderful restaurant/bistro within walking distance along the Trans Canada Trail, which runs directly below the house. The B&B also includes Classic Country Cottage, which will sleep 4 comfortably. It has a full kitchen for self serve meals, amazing view, bbq facilities, and a private bathroom. It is situated in our vineyard with city & crown land behind it. There are special rates for weekly & monthly bookings of the cottage. The 3 house rooms range from $110 to $115/night & the cottage is $199/night. All prices are based on 2 people, including breakfast for house rooms. Discounts for repeat customers. Cottage has weekly & monthly special rates. Extra beds are $40/night extra. We have rental mountain bikes & a kayak available to our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing