We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Bogners”

Bogners of Penticton
Ranked #80 of 192 Restaurants in Penticton
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bogners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a wonderful meal at Bogners, even though it was very crowded with a wedding party on the patio portion of the restaurant. My wife had the Duck confit and I had an aged beef steak. The portions were large and the attention to the presentation was wonderful with a diverse selection of vegetables from the on-site garden. Chef-owner Darin also provides wonderful desserts.

It is difficult to be successful in a small town that probably does not have much interest in fine dining, but Bogners would be wildly successful in any large city. If you are looking for a great meal in the southern Okanagan region, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    17
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock Bc Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and wanted to spoil ourselves with some Fine Dining. Booking for "just the wife and I" at 7.00pm was a breeze until arriving to try and explain that the reservation was for 2 people not 7 that they were catering for. The Menu was not exactly overwhelming so we had some advice from our hostess and chose Artic Char with fennel cooked in parchment and a Filet Mignon, cooked medium, with both of us ordering Caesar Salad for appetizers. Service was very prompt and the Salad looked fresh and was delicious. There were no condiments on the table, but the Caesar really needed some seasoning. We could not attract our servers attention and waited patiently for a small dish of salt to be finally served to us. Nobody came near us to enquire of our Entrees, we found this very strange after all the advice about my wife's Artic Char. My 'medium' Filet Mignon was overcooked, but still a delicious cut of steak. Our local bottle of white wine and glass of Merlot were delicious. We both shared a dessert. Nobody, but nobody asked us how we enjoyed our meal. The bill including a very generous tip was 199$ which we both considered expensive. On reflection, nice restaurant, nice surroundings and they could do a lot lot better, and we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Linman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could have been better...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The visit before was much more on par. We booked for the patio for ten people but due to wind they closed it down and told us we didn't have the option any longer, first slight disappointment. First half our waitress was attentive, after 30 minutes in, other waitresses were tending to us instead of our first one. We noticed no servers for quite awhile tending our table towards three quarters through and when we asked they told us unfortunately our original waitress had spilled hot coffee on her arm. Understandable, though no reason for the lack of communication/service for a table of ten. Dessert was half an hour late and no communication from the servers as to what was going on. Some had already left our table by this time as they were finished. This is not ideal as there were ten of us and logically means attention is needed every few minutes at the least.
Dessert finally arrived it had raw chunks of rhubarb instead of cooked and was not enjoyable. Dinner was ok but several mentioned their chicken was dry and pasta not flavorful. Flatbread and wine selections were very enjoyable however.
As mentioned at the outset, the previous visit was better with great tasting dinners and wine. Unfortunately something was off this night. We won't be visiting anytime soon again sadly at this time. Hope the waitress recovered from her coffee burn.
Side point- it was noted that the restaurant had added in 3 more people to our reservation without our consent. A person simply called in for their own reservation but because the place was full the only way told to them by reception, was to be added to our table. However the restaurant never called us to ok this change. For this reason I am adding this thumbs-down mishap to the review as a awareness.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lromanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great gastronomic expierience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Came here on Saturday July the 27th to celebrate my birthday. We are visitors from Vancouver and have driven past this place during our previous visits. We had no idea it was a restaurant, until we googled fine dining establishments in Penticton. When we arrived, we were surprised and amazed with the amount of outdoor and indoor seating. The tables aren't too close together so you and your party are able to have some privacy. The service was very good and attentive. The food was excellent. We ordered the cheese and crab dip to share and it well over exceeded our expectations. For our entrees, we had the duck confit salad (the best made duck I've ever had) and the steak. For dessert they provided something special for the occassion. It was a brownie type like dessert with whip cream on top, very decadent. We would definitey suggest this place to others and will return for future visits!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKLC727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks inviting... Is inviting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

From Vernon... Took family to this restaurant, the food was great and the atmosphere is really worth the visit. I found the service above average and the price re portions served was good.
Recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bogners of Penticton also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Bogners of Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing