We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant venue, good food”

Bogners of Penticton
Ranked #80 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
british columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very pleasant venue, good food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently had dinner at this restaurant, after passing by for a number of years and just never getting around to visiting.

The restaurant is located in what seems to be a heritage house, and has been very well converted - lots of light, interesting ambience and character. Our server for the evening was Carly, who was excellent. Even though she was relatively new to the establishment, she was very engaging and professional.

Food was very good, we had the dining for two special, we were very pleased to be offered a choice for each course of what should have been a set menu. Main course Lamb Shank and Chateubriand were very good indeed. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and for the off season were glad to see the place quite busy. I was also pleased to see a couple of interesting wine choices being offered by the glass (something sorely lacking these days given the stringent drinking limits in our province). We both tried the Gretsky Red (well it's really Peller Estates) and enjoyed it.

Given that we were fortunate to have a Groupon, I"m not totally convinced I would consider paying the full price for the experience. I would also appreciate a better quality website that draws customers in - it has a sense of being very basic.

Well worth a try for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    17
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing food and venue”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Outstandingly delicious menu and a uniquely charming Victorian style atmosphere with glowing fireplaces and a cozy, romantic room in the back. Used a Groupon that I received at Christmas time for Valentine's excursion. The Chateaubriand in burnaise sauce was out of this world as well as the sides of squash, mushroom and potatoe cakes. Although the desert wasn't the greatest (it was like leftover Christmas cake and not that great of chocolate) the overall experience was excellent. The meal itself was terrific and I would definitely go again to taste their made from scratch items many of which are grown in the gardens outside the restaurant during the summer. This place is expensive but great to treat yourself once in awhile.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imunno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expected more!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The bad: Beet salad= one very small raw beet, quartered, 4 apple slices and a few salad greens. Tasty because I don't mind raw beets, but very small, and in spite of the pear dressing, rather plain.
Gnocci bland as cardboard, and the schnitzel tasted and looked more like the pre-frozen deep fried variety than pan-fried. the coffee cake was also rather dry and bland. The neck of lamb ragu had an overpowering taste of spices.
The good: nice presentation, good atmosphere and great service.

We simply expected more flavorful dishes, from their local and organic, but will maybe give them another try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lakerwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whole package”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I really enjoyed my recent night at Bogner's in Penticton. We really enjoyed the atmosphere, foo and service. It's everything I wanted that night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmylegs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tastefully Delicious :) 3 Thumbs up!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Was impressed this time! Phenomenal service, taste, and presentation, definitely would go back!
Thanks for coming out Chef, made the meal even more amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 999dano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bogners of Penticton also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Bogners of Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing