We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of Italy in the Okanagan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rosa Restaurant

Villa Rosa Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Rosa Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 190 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Power St.
Description: Villa Rosa Ristorante opened its doors in the Spring of 1996 in our same original location, right here at 795 Westminster Avenue West. In Beautiful Penticton, British Columbia, Canada. Over the years we have built our reputation by offering consistently great food with an extensive local BC and Italian wine list. Together they truly compliment our atmosphere and make for a unforgettable experience.The Okanagan has been very good to us over the years in both providing world-class quality wine and the most amazing fresh produce possible, as well as a tremendous amount of guests over the years, many who have also become great friends!!
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A piece of Italy in the Okanagan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent several weeks in Italy last year and loving the food so much we have been searching for great Italian restaurants and have now found one In Penticton at Villa Rosa. The dinning room is warm and inviting and the patio is spacious and comfortable. The menu has all your typical Italian favourites along with a number of "speciality dishes" created by the restaurant and the wine list has many good Okanagan wines as well as some nice Italian wine. The staff we friendly, professional and very attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed the food! The brushetta was lovely, our salads were good and then came the main course. My wife had one of the specialty dishes which was excellent with great flavour from their special sauce. My Tortellini was flavourful and plentiful. A most enjoyable meal and evening. We are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GKNKamloopsBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    109
    45
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had wanted to visit this restaurant for awhile and weren't disappointed when we finally did. The owner and staff were very friendly and the service was very good. We had the escargot and enjoyed it. The sauce was thick and tasty. We wiped the plate clean with the bread. We both had different veal plates and enjoyed them. We were both satisfied with the meal and our experience. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit this restaurant due to the many excellent reviews and we were very disappointed. We shared a brushetta which was very nice. We then had 2 appetisers. Escargot and prawns. Both dishes were covered in a very thick glutinous sauce which lacked flavour and finesse. We had a very good local white wine with appetisers served in unpolished glasses. We then decided to splash out on a bottle of red which was $100. It was a delicious wine. My husband asked at the bar if they had a decanter and the staff looked confused. Maybe some training is in order so that the staff can better serve the very good wine selection?
Our main courses arrived. We both had veal. It was very average. It said on the menu that it was served with roasted vegetables. We got beets which is quite a strange accompaniment to veal in a lemon and white wine sauce.
For dessert we had tiramisu which was ok. We ordered a couple of espressos which had poor flavour and no crema. These were removed from our bill. Throughout the meal the service was poor. The waitress showed up at the table like she was doing us a favour and made little conversation. The host was delightful and the bus girl was also very nice. I wish she had been serving us. We will mot be returning to this restsurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank nalin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our expectations were improperly set by other Trip Advisor reviews for what we got. Yes, the staff were friendly and responsive. Unfortunately my wife's pasta order was entered incorrectly as confirmed by our server who was sincere in her apologies. My osso bucco was ordinary and the penne pasta which accompanied it was dry. As an unrequested compensation for the pasta mixup and resultant delay a complimentary glass of wine was brought to my wife. Although my Open Table reservation specifically stated we were celebrating our wedding anniversary it was not mentioned by anyone. Our server thanked us profusely for coming, another server just ignored us as she stood aside to let us pass on our way out and the chap who brought us the comped wine called out from the bar to invite us to have a good night but did not thank us for our visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Monday evening at the Villa Rosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere and décor. It looks one hundred percent better on the inside than the outside. Really surprised. They need to do an upgrade outside.
We were given excellent service and felt the quality of the meal was outstanding.
I would defiantly recommend it to anyone and also will return with friends and family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Rosa Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Villa Rosa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing