We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Prince George”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Prince George”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Dagmar is a lovely host. Cabins are beautiful. Nice touches like baked goods and fruit make it extra special. I had a quick overnight stay, and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thirstytravelerinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
56
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a remarkably well-designed place to stay, to unwind, and to relax. The cabins are marvels of efficient use of space and very well-equipped. They are perfectly private without feeling isolated, wonderfully comfortable. Like Tolkien's Rivendell, a perfect place, whether you like reading or walking or thinking or talking--or all of the above.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metanoiesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

What a lovely discovery of this little ranch just outside of PG. The owners are lovely. The cabin was perfectly suited to us with lots of character and thoughtful additions. The cinnamon buns are very tasty. I love that its pet and horse friendly! I wish I had more time to stay here but alas we are only passing through for one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoebe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Norton North ranch was, by far, the most pleasant stay on our road trip along the Alaska Highway. It's a destination in itself, with acres of ranch land to explore and accommodations that are thoughtfully done and aesthetically pleasing. Norton North consists of three cabins -- Corral Cottage, Cowboy Cabin, and The Old Logbarn -- situated around the Norton's house on their working ranch a short distance from downtown Prince George. We lucked into Corral Cottage as we were headed north, and liked it so well, we booked three days on our way back south, in Cowboy Cabin. Lots of thought had gone into each cabin, and each is different, with different amenities. The owners, German-born Dagmar, and her husband, William Norton, are ideal hosts. Bowls of fresh tangerines and cherries were waiting for us each visit, and Dagmar soon brought fresh-from-the-oven cinnamon buns. Fridges contained a variety of sodas. For each visit, there was a complimentary bottle of wine, and a bottle of sparkling water. One proviso: The ranch water has some sulfur content, so bring bottled water to drink. A highlight was being joined by Dagmar, and sometimes by William, and dogs Diego and Junior, on afternoon walks around the property. The properties are spotlessly clean. Dogs are welcomed with their own treat bowl, toys and mat. The ranch horse, Ginger, was getting on in years, but enjoyed carrots that Dagmar provided for us to feed him. If you stay in Cowboy Cabin, the back room with wireless access, an antique desk, and an array of saddles and tack, has a windowed door that Ginger peeps in from her connected shed shelter. That cabin also has a bath and a half. It's not far back into town for meals, but the kitchens are equipped sufficiently for basic meal preparations, and outdoor gas grills are provided. For what you get, the rates, ranging from $129 to $225 CAD, are good. It appears that there is a lot of repeat business and some people use cabins as their pied a terre while in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Each cabin is different, so specify what you need, or check out the descriptions on the website. www...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TennesseeRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstclasscottages, Owner at Norton North Ranch Cottages, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
TennesseeRoadtripper, thank you sooooo much for taking the time to write this. Guests like you and Primadonis, Chester and Tasha are a sheer delight to have. Thank you for staying with us. Diego and Junior say "hi". We all wish you a wonderful, happy and sunny autumn, Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The plan for our trip called for us to pass through Prince George on our way home and we wanted to stay somewhere out of the ordinary so we booked a night in the Old Logbarn at Norton Ranch. If we had known how fantastic a place it would be, we would have changed our plans and stayed much longer. The Old Longbarn is a spacious, stylish, well-equipped accomodation with all mod cons. Very, very comfortable. As innkeepers go, they don't get any better than Dagmar Norton, who is absolutely charming, gracious and welcoming. Just one example of this was the note adressed to our son and left on the pillow of his bed with chocolate chip cookies. A very nice touch. We live a long way from Prince George but we are going to find a way to get back there so we can stay again for a longer time at Norton Ranch. It really is that special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsFamilyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I loved this gem of a place, Dagmar and William the hosts were gracious and helpful and fun. There was everything we needed in the cottage, full kitchen, utensils, pots, tea, coffee, nothing was left out, even umbrella and irons were thought of. An idyllic spot, it will be hard going back to a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshwabbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The two of us and our little dog booked in for 2 weeks in the Cowboy Cabin "The Livery" from July 1st. Unfortunately we had to leave 2 days early due to weather nearer home. We all absolutely loved our stay, especially Wookie who got to go off-leash for the first time and made new friends of Diego and Junior, the resident dogs. Dagmar is a superb hostess and she and William made us feel very welcome. The place was very clean and well-equipped with a lot of little extras that made the visit special. We especially enjoyed the home-made cinnamon buns and wonderful "Sunday treats". The kitchenette in the Livery was fine for the two of us but might be a problem for a larger group or a family who like to prepare substantial meals. For them, the "Little Muddy" would likely be more appropriate. If you really want to spoil yourself, check out the "Old Logbarn" which has everything you could want (including a washer & dryer, full stove, and full-size fridge!). The cabins are set well apart and all give lots of privacy. The walking trails are great, whether just for peace & quiet or for exercise. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Cooking facilities will probably be the deciding factor. Read the descriptions of the cabins careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeshasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
807 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#4 of 23 in Prince George
551 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
9.8 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#2 of 23 in Prince George
284 reviews
10.7 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Property: Norton North Ranch Cottages
Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing