We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we wished for and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had our wedding elopement at the Ranch November 3 2012 and the experience was unforgettable! We stayed in the Cowboy Cabin and we wed right out front on the deck! We had a photographer come out and take several photos throughout the property. Our wedding night was spent in the Cowboy cabin and it was so peaceful and romantic I can't imagine anything that could have been better! The hosts were so easy going and didn't bother us once. What a fabulous and private get away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights in October as we planned to stay in prince George but when we read Norton North Ranch review, which at that stage had 21 reviews on trip advisor and ALL ofthem gave it a 5 star excellent review we thought why not stay at our first B & B of our Canadian trip and we are so glad we did.
Dagmar is the perfect hostess, we got to catch up with her husband, William who was a hell of a nice bloke too!
What can we say about Dagmar the other reviews didnt?
Not much at all,she greeted us and showed us the Corral rooms where we stayed and my goodness,superb, so so clean and tidy,quality furnishings,spacious and then Dagmar came back with her worls renowned cinnamon buns,well that won my wife , she was eating them for the next 2 days.
In the darkness of a frigid morning Dagmar rode t oour rooms with an amazing breakfast,great food,lots of variety and top shelf ingredients and cooking, she is truly a treasure.
We even said to her we have virtualyy enough for tomorrows breakfast so please only bring bacon and eggs tomorrow,naughty lady she brough masses of excellent bacon and eggs plus some other tempting goodies as well.
The best B & B we have ever stayed at before this was Lupus Den in Eastern Province South Africa(near Addo elephant park and Port Elizabeth) and Dagamr is righ tup there with Lupus Den, 2 totally different, but magnificent experiences.so hats of to Dagmar.
Norton north is another one of those establishments we wil ldefinitely get back to again one day but unlike some of the other places we stayed and will stay at again such as Best Western Jasper where there is a lot to do and see Norton North Ranch is a place we will visit again just for Norton north Ranch and no other reason it is that good.
What more can we say,it was utterly superb and a great place to relax and wind down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very impressed with all of the little extras and the attention given to make our stay very enjoyable! Dagmar was very welcoming. The homemade cinnamon buns were delicious and our dogs had treats and fresh water upon arrival! Just can't say enough about how great our experience was!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

On an extended discovery trip, we found, through Trip Advisor, this treasure! Located a little outside Prince George (thank goodness) in rural north country, the Norton Ranch offers travelers a taste of why this part of Canada is so special. We stayed one night in the Cowboy Cabin and knew immediately that we should have stayed longer. Dagmar is the perfect host and the cabin, though the smallest, was so well thought out. We enjoyed the 2 horses who graced us with their company in the evening at our back door. The night sky was beautiful, the quiet wonderful! We opted for the breakfast in the morning, which was brought to our cabin. Dagmar thoughtfully provided enough for us to have a picnic lunch on our drive to Jasper. We have stayed in so many B&Bs but this one will be forever one of our favorites and we hope to see these wonderful people again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Norton Ranch as part of a 2 week trip aroundBritish Columbia. I admit that our expectations were possibly higher than normal (simply because of the good reports already on TA) but, when we arrived we soon realised that others had only reported on what they had found.... A great location not far from Prince George, with privacy, good clean accommodation and cinnamon rolls to die for! This welcome treat from our host Dagmar was wonderful! We had arranged for breakfast to be supplied in the mornings and, for what was a very reasonable surcharge, had a feast delivered which not only covered us for breakfast, but pretty much looked after lunch as well.

For our stay we had chosen The Old Logbarn, which is the first unit you pass as you arrive on site. It is secluded and totally private with nice views over the surrounding area. To say that it is fully equipped doesn't really cover it. We had everything from washing and drying machines to a fully equipped kitchen, DVD player, TV, CD / iPod docking station and so on... Even a selection of books and DVD's were on hand. For those who just can't disconnect from the outside world there is also free WiFi which works all over the accommodation.

We have all stayed in hotels where you get the complimentary little bar of soap. The Norton Ranch takes travellers comfort to a completely different level. We literally had a basket full of toiletries, both for him and her. So if you have forgotten anything fear not it's probably in the basket!

If you want some real peace and quiet, do yourselves a favour. Book this place, stop off on your way there, buy some steaks and wine and then relax. And if your feeling energetic, take a walk around the fields... If your lucky, a neighbouring Ranches Collie dog (Max) might keep you company!

Highly Commended accommodation, and puts many so called "top class" hotels to shame. They could all learn a lot from this place.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Cowboy cabin and were delighted with the pet-friendly amenities. Our dogs were greeted with a bowl of treats, fresh water and a blanket to sit on, while we were treated to delicious cinnamon buns fresh out of the oven. The horses were waiting for us just outside our back door. The cabin was cosy and inviting.and we felt right at home. The ranch is about 20 mins from Prince George but that shouldn't faze anyone. We did have to call and confirm directions because it was getting dark and it was raining and we thought we had overshot it. It's away from the highway which means it is peaceful and relaxing. There was a hot plate in the kitchen and a small fridge-enough for our short visit. We were able to bbq and enjoy dinner outside, take a walk, admire the sunset and just have a wonderful time. Dagmar makes sure you are well taken care of. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVenutos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed one night in the Cowboy Cabin and it was absolutely beautiful and a great experience. The cabin was well equipped with a hot plate, fridge, microwave and all the necessities. There is a deck out front with a bbq and picnic table facing west to enjoy the sunset. Feeding the horses their carrots at the back door was really neat. But don't worry about the horses bothering you - they are very quiet and respectful. This location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to relax. The cowboy cabin does not have a seating area other than the large kitchen/dining room table. The cowboy on the pillows were a nice touch and help to make you feel at home.

Dagmar is a wonderful host making sure of all the little extra details to make you feel welcome (i.e. your name on front of cabin, welcome sweet treat).

Dagmar also showed us Corral Cottage; we look forward to staying here the next time we visit, which we will. The Norton North Ranch absolutely deserves the high praises from the other reviewers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StandingOnTheBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
877 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#3 of 23 in Prince George
573 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#2 of 23 in Prince George
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
9.7 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#5 of 23 in Prince George
296 reviews
9.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range: £91 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing