We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This place is a gem! If u want a 5 star experience for a great price stay here! This place met and exceeded my expectations! Very clean, beautiful, and cozy. Dagman was awesome. We arrived at midnight and she was there to great us with her smile and her delicous cinammon rolls! The following morning she brought us our breakfast which was delicious! Without a doubt I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
54
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We recently stayed in the cowboy cabin and we're pleasantly surprised to see horses outside the back door. The cabin was so much better than a hotel to stay in, it was very family friendly. Dagmar and William are wonderful hosts, they brought us cinnamon buns the evening we arrived, and they were excellent with my kids! If you have the opportunity to stay here make sure you do! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I moved up to Prince George in September 2012 for a temporary business stay of nine months. I found Norton Ranch on trip advisor and contacted Dagmar. I have been staying on the ranch since then and all I can stay is Excellent, Wonderful, Perfect. Dagmar and William are excellent hosts and go above and beyond. The cabins are all tastefully decorated and very modern but still have that quaint country charm about them. All the extras provided and there are many have made me feel like one of the family. I could go on and on because my stay has been incredible. Whether you are travelling for business or need a quiet weekend getaway don't miss this once in a lifetime oppurtunity. I assure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ony5819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valemount, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Norton North Ranch as it was advertised as "sincerely pet friendly". That phrase does not begin to describe our experience. When we arrived, we were greeted with "let her out of the car"! This was followed by a huge bowl of water waiting for her in the cabin, a similarly huge bowl of dog treats, a can of dog food and a doggy bed for her use. We have stayed in many other "pets allowed" accommodations and they have charged a $10-$25 pet fee for NOTHING extra. Dagmar certainly gives you value for your pet fee! Humans are pampered too at the ranch - upon arrival, we were presented with a very large plate of HUGE, delicious cinnamon buns. Dagmar really has a knack for paying attention to detail, providing everything you could possibly need or want for your stay.
Sincerely pet friendly and then some!

Room Tip: You can feed two horses carrots right out of the back door in Cowboy Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayridgetw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstclasscottages, Owner at Norton North Ranch Cottages, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Akili is adorable, well trained, friendly to little dogs and horses and as returning four-legged guest will stay complimentary in Norton North Ranch Cottages in future. Thanks for having chosen the Ranch for your stay, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Overall, out on the North Ranch you will find a truly relaxing, unique, and quality experience.
Staying with my family, we were in the the Old Log Barn which was a very cool mixture of old and new. The back deck had a BBQ and outdoor dining table which we were happy to use in the warm sun. Bill and Dagmar are very nice and respectful people who, as others have said, give you your privacy without having you feel neglected. My favourite part of the stay was walking the trails and also taking a dip in their miniature lake.
A great place to have in PG. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: The Old Log Barn,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days at the Norton Ranch in The Old Log Barn. Don't let the cabin name fool you, the décor was lovely- a bright, open, and modern environment. The cabins are some distance from each other so it was very private and quiet. The rear deck looks over fields and includes a large propane BBQ, umbrella, table and chairs. There was still deep snow over the fields but several kilometers of trails were cleared for walking and there were 2 pairs of snowshoes on the deck for our use.
The cabin has a pellet stove and electric baseboard heating for those cool evenings, a king-sized bed with lovely linens in the loft, as well as a futon, a second single bedroom, and a great walk-in shower in the bathroom.
Dagmar had thought of everything, including chocolates on our pillows, a variety of teas and coffees in the kitchen, a fruit bowl on the dining table, a selection of paperback books and DVDs, plus a hairdryer, a basket of 'extras' and 2 robes for our use in the bathroom.
We were able to easily cook full meals but Dagmar's treats made each day special-Chocolate gateau (almost too beautiful to eat), giant cinnamon buns, and a tureen of marvelous Barley soup. When we went out on our last morning to pack the car Dagmar had left a basket of freshly dyed hardboiled and chocolate eggs for our journey home on Good Friday.
We chose the Norton Ranch for a de-stressing getaway and it was absolutely perfect! Dagmar and Bill were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. While we knew that they were available if we needed anything they were very discreet and respectful of our privacy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stay at the Norton Ranch very regularly as my business takes me to Prince George at least twice a month. The accomodation and fantastic services I have experienced in ALL of my many visits to the Norton Ranch are simply second to none. I have stayed at many upscale hotels across the country,
including Prince George, and not a single one even comes close for quality and personal attention.
All the "little things" that Dagmar provides make each visit extremely enjoyable as well as a truly memorable experience.
This is absolutely FIRST CLASS accomodation at a very reasonable price. If you have had the privilege of enjoying any one of the cottages or cabins here, you will be certain to return time and time again, your only regret ,perhaps wanting to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#2 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
9.8 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#3 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#4 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Property: Norton North Ranch Cottages
Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing