We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We're a film production company and spent a week at the Norton Ranch whilst making a documentary film in Prince George. We couldn't have been happier there. The cottage was immaculate and well equipped. The owner of the ranch Dagmar couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. All in all it was an excellent place to stay. A beautiful setting (an easy 25 minute drive from Prince George), great facilities and set-up. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the 'Logbarn' cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
52
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thanks to Dagmar for an very hospitable and comfortable stay. Me and my partner enjoyed the 3 days very much and appreciated all the comforts provided and little touches that make Norton Ranch what it is. We found the Cowboy Cabin to be just right for us and especially enjoyed the home made cinnamon rolls and feeding the horses. The bed was comfortable and we made use of the extra adjoining bedroom to put our things in. The complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and treats were well received as was the assortment of toiletries in the bathroom. I must also mention that we were unaware of the breakfast situation (due to my poor planning!) and didnt bring much food with us. We had driven over 6 hours from Grande Prairie and though we were happy to head out for food in the morning, Dagmar came back to the cabin shortly after with a wonderful hamper basket of bread, eggs, jam, cheese etc. It was a very kind gesture.
It is true that the internet was unreachable from the cabin for unknown reasons but im sure Dagmar will have this rendered as soon as she can, plus it didnt really inconvenience us as we were there to relax and surrounded by a beautiful landscape.
A 5 star stay and we will surely be back in the summer to appreciate it in a different light.

Room Tip: If you want the horse experience choose the cowboy cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritCanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstclasscottages, Owner at Norton North Ranch Cottages, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
oh oh, if I only would have known, WiFi works at the desk. Thanks for the write up, see you again, poolside ;-) Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of December. We arrived in the evening, and must admit that we drove right by the entrance to the ranch. It was dark out and we were expecting a lit sign, but the address and the ranch name were impossible to see in the dark... just a tip if you arriving at night - pay close attention to the addresses or you'll get to enjoy a tour of the neighbourhood! Also, depending on the weather, a 2WD car may have a challenging time getting in/out in the winter - let's just say we were glad that we drove our truck when it snowed 8 inches the night before we left!

Once we found our way onto the ranch, Dagmar was there to guide us to our cabin. She was extremely friendly and gave us a tour of our cabin (Cowboy cabin). And, yes, like others mentioned, we were spoiled with her baking and all of the homey touches throughout the cabin. Every day we received a plate with a different, equally delicious (sinful), home-baked treat. There were also some cookies, fruits, and chocolates (including mints on our pillows)...and let's not forget the doggie treats for our dog!

There are not many options in Prince George for those travelling with pets, so it was extra special to us that our dog was more than welcome at Norton North. We truly appreciated the special touches in the cabin for our dog... the dog bowls (including a can of soft dog food), the dog treats, and the blanket on the bed (yay! she's actually allowed on the bed!!). We could tell that our dog felt right at home in the cabin... and so did we!

We were there for the peace and quiet after a busy holiday visit and Cowboy cabin was just right for us. There is Satellite TV, DVDs, and tons of books in the office/tack room - perfect for staying in. We weren't able to pick up an internet signal in the cabin, but it wasn't a big deal since we were there to "unplug" anyways! I was a bit worried that the cabin may be cold in the winter - but to my surprise each room had its own thermostat for the electric baseboard heaters. I was nice and toasty warm the whole time!! Cowboy cabin backs onto the horses enclosure, so the horses came right up to the back door. I think that was my favourite memory - feeding the horses carrots (provided by Dagmar of course - the woman thinks of everything!) right out the back door!

We didn't fully utilize the kitchen area, but it did have everything a couple of people would need for a short stay: coffee pot, microwave, fridge, single burner cooktop, full-size BBQ, and all dishes/utensils etc. The shower had nice hot water, but like others have mentioned, the water does smell like sulphur. It didn't really bother us because we were expecting it... it is a ranch after all! There were tons of towels and extra blankets/pillows provided. The bedrooms were divided by vertical blinds - so privacy may be an issue for some. The bed mattresses had the dreaded "dip" and we wound up sleeping in separate beds so we could each have our own "dip". Neither of us slept all that well unfortunately... and thus my 4/5 overall rating. But the hospitality, amenities, homey touches, pet friendliness, and the overall price value will bring us back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've been all over the world and stayed in some awesome places, but Norton Ranch is probably one of the most incredible places I've stayed. I had no doubt when I booked my cottage that it'd be a unique experience, but my stay exceeded all expectations. The owners have fine tuned absolutely every small and tiny detail down to the mint chocolates on the pillow :) ! The peace and quiet out there is amazing! The owners of the cottage are beyond kind, attending to your every need and checking in to make sure your stay is going smoothly. Besides the incredible location, the bliss, peace and comfortable cottage, you cannot leave without experiencing Dogmar's famous cinnamon rolls! They are the icing on a very delicious cake, no pun intended :) !!!!!

Room Tip: Any cabin is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a very unique place that offers plenty of peace and quiet away from the busy Prince George. Fascinating art pieces are displayed around the property. Dagmar greeted us upon our arrival and left a very nice refreshment and treat in the refrigerator for us to enjoy. Later on, she delivered her famous cinnamon rolls and they certainly lived up to their reputation, - outstanding! We had a pleasant stay. Perhaps it was an “off” time for some reason, but we felt that the cabin we stayed in could use a deep cleaning and some bathroom grout/tile maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2RoadTrippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstclasscottages, Owner at Norton North Ranch Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Our cottages are always immaculate clean and receive a deep clean after any guest as the overall rating from other customers confirm. After years of 100% positive ratings as well for being super clean it seems unavoidable that you get an unhappy guest one day, no matter how hard you work. I am still looking for the grout issue ?? This really hurt my feelings, Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Norton Ranch is by far the best lodging near Prince George. Period.
The cabins are beyond clean and amazing. All the reviews are true. The owners are wonderful people. The grounds are spectacular!! It's a ranch!
Quiet and luxurious ... You want for nothing ...Dog friendly? Awesome
Rusty had the time of his life ... Will stay EVERY time if they have avail.
Don't nickel and dime in PG... Go for it! Those who know about this place ... Well ...it's a no brainier... Heck, locals from PG come out here!
We could gush all day... Just stay here ...!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alcandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A one of kind experience just outside of Prince George. The peace and quiet and feeling of having the whole place to yourself is so lovely and refreshing. Attention to detail, esthetics, personal touches and the hosts make this a place worth returning to!

Room Tip: Each of the cottages have their own unique charm. You'd do well to stay in any of them....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123456Paulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#2 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.8 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#4 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Property: Norton North Ranch Cottages
Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing