We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's stay”
Review of Carmel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Peace Country
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good night's stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Decent price, clean and comfortable. Particularly have to comment on the friendly front desk girl who immediately gave me the extra pillow I always ask for. Can park right in front of room.
As the highway is 'divided' it is not accessible via left turn for outgoing traffic....so as soon as you see it, you need take the "off" ramp in the right and then do a U turn using the overpass and it works; you'll be right there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    66
    30
    2
    6
See reviews for
43
56
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and quiet, and cost was very affordable. I was caught unable to find a room at my usual hotels and gave this place a try, and I was very satisfied with it! Lots of parking, clean and comfortable, has all the amenities, nice friendly staff, and a very decent place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the motel are very quiet and have lots of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stop, easily accessable from Hwy97 with a big moving truck. Has plenty of lower lot parking for big tucks and moving trucks. Clean rooms, pet friendly. I wod encourage people to stop here, I will be staying here again when Intravel through B.C.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikepaddlewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place is newly renovated and very clean. They have laundry facilities, snacks and a restaurant. The rooms are great - I've had a single with a kitchenette - it was convenient, modern and CLEAN! I've stayed in a double room as well and they are great too. The walls are thick so you can't really hear your neighbours which is awesome! The beds are comfortable. The air conditioner is not noisy at all! My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennipoo7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The overall experience at Carmel was great, room was immaculately clean, service from the staff was exceptional. The $300 deposit was not worthy of the room however, the actual price of the room itself wasnt too bad. I would not stay here again only for the fact that the bed was so hard I may as well have slept outside on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed at Carmel on Dec 19th 2012. The room, although small with 1 Queen bed, was very very clean, had a little stove, fridge and microwave and was very comfortable. My neighbours unfortunately liked to party and the front desk responded to my 2:00 am call quickly and tried several times to reduce the noise. I didn't mention anything to the front desk upon departure, but upon reviewing my visa, the motel had credited back the room cost - full amount. When I called the motel to find out why there was a credit, they knew exactly what had occured and apologized several times for the noise.

I will definately go back. Good value, nice rooms and great people operating this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Carmel this past week and was very happy! This was my first visit to Prince George and on the drive to the hotel I was getting a little concerned. Luckily all my concerns vanished when I checked in. The front desk staff was consistently helpful, even providing plastic cutlery so I could have breakfast in my room. My room was very clean, the queen sized bed was comfy and I loved having the little kitchenette.

Although a travelling companion in a neighbouring room found the hotel had thin walls and it was noisy, I personally thought it was rather quiet for being right off the highway. Check in and out was quick and easy as well.

The nearby Carmel restaurant was a bust though, overpriced and the food was pretty bad. Best off to walk a bit further down the road to Than Vu and get some tasty Vietnamese food. Also it was a $8 cab ride to get to a complex with Superstore/Tim Hortons/Liquor Store/Steakhouse so that didn't break the bank.

Should I ever have reason to return to Prince George, I think the Carmel will be top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellis_coldwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
1.3 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
804 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#4 of 23 in Prince George
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
1.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn

Property: Carmel Inn
Address: 1502 Highway 97 S, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 5L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing