We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs cleaning and updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera City Centre Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
south carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“needs cleaning and updating”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The hotel is old inside and out! Needs updating! Could be cleaner, too. The air conditioner in our room was not working. When we told the desk, they said that they could not repair it til tomorrow. We were given a dirty fan! We asked for another room, but were told they were booked! (Maybe they should take the extra cash they made that night and hire an on-call repairman so the customers can get what they paid for...an airconditioned room!!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    112
    60
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
72
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

If you are planning to drive between Jasper and Prince Rupert, and overnight in Prince George, the Best Western City Centre is an OK place to stay.

The advantages of the hotel:
1. The hotel is right on the Yellowhead Highway. You are probably three - five minutes from the eastern edge of town - going southwest, it's a bit more as you pass through the congestion at the intersection of 16 and 97 and the College Heights commercial area.
2. The rooms are clean.
3. There is an in room refrigerator and microwave.
4. The front desk is courteous - they actually called us to see if our room was OK.
5. The hotel pillows are the best hotel pillows I've ever had - honestly. If I had not had a 650 kilometre drive ahead of me, I would have slept in a lot longer to enjoy them.
6. There appears to be free high speed internet. At least, I found a wireless network to access at no cost.

Disadvantages:
1. The physical appearance of the hotel is offputting. It appears to be stuck in the 1960's.
2. Many of the parking spots are out of eyesight of the hotel office or rooms.
3. There is no restaurant or continental breakfast. There is a Tim Horton's and a White Spot across the way, and a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, but on Sunday mornings, at least, that restaurant does not open until 8:00 am. However, as I noted there is a refrigerator in the room. So, we went to the Save On Foods supermarket two blocks away and got food for an in room breakfast.
4. The bathroom and room itself are small.
5. The room is air conditioned. The wall fan is effective but a bit noisy. I dubbed the two fan speeds as hurricane force and tropical storm force. With the fan on, outside noise will not be a problem.
6. If you have a room on the second floor, the steps are an adventure. At the east end, there is a half step at the bottom that can really mess you up if you are not careful, and the north steps on the west end have one loose step. I'd recommend you ask for a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at this allocated motel for one night (mid June 08) as part of Jonview's fly drive package tour of Canada.

The rooms are the basic motel style, nothing to write home about. It looks to have been refurbished recently. It’s not the best, Best Western that we have stayed in, but it’s certainly not the worst. About average. The pool looked clean, although we didn’t use it. We did suffer from noisy neighbours until the early hours, as the walls are not that sound proof.

There is no on site restaurant and we ate dinner in the White Spot nearby, which was good. There is a De Dutch Pancake House on the site, where we had breakfast, which again was good but we couldn’t understand why there had to be a full salad on the plate, with eggs and bacon and toast !! They serve lunches but then close at 3pm.

We were a bit disappointed in Prince George as a whole, but this was just a stopover for one night, before moving on.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

old, in need of major renovations, dark rooms. no breakfast available on holidays until after 8:30 am

positive: air conditioner worked, receptionist smiled.

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — dingy and out dated.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Agforguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2005

Great for Buisness travelers. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The new managers were very friendly and helpful, they offered free faxing and copying and their wireless internet services were also free (you can't beat that). The pool area was very clean as well was the fitness room. The hotel is about 40 years old but well worth the stay. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and convention centre is only half a block from the facility.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank hoosty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We stayed one night in August as part a two day train trip on Via Rail's Skeena from Jasper to Prince Rupert. The rooms were small and the air conditioner (which you need in Prince George in the summer) was old and rattled loudly all night. The rooms were in desperate need of renovation. It was not an expensive room, but I would have expected a brighter and more modern hotel from Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#2 of 23 in Prince George
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#3 of 23 in Prince George
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera City Centre Inn

Property: Riviera City Centre Inn
Address: 910 Victoria St, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 2K8, Canada (Formerly City Centre Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera City Centre Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prince George
Prince George Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing