We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Inn of the North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Inn of the North
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our overnight stay whilst on the train trip from Jasper to Port Rupert. We arrived late in the evening, had a couple of drinks in the bar then retired to bed. The reception and bar staff were friendly and the room was typical of chain hotels, clean, well equipped and characterless. Unfortunately, when we were trying to get to sleep, there was a constant droning coming through the wall from a non working a/c. We were tired and couldn't face the hassle of getting dressed, packing and moving rooms so moved the bed away from the wall into the middle of the room. Next morning at check out we said about the problem but the lady on the desk showed no interest and never even apologised just took our money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beasles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky L, People and Culture Advisor at Coast Inn of the North, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear beasles;

Thank you for your review of our property, and for choosing Coast Inn of the North for your stay.

I am sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced, with the air conditioner in the guest room. It is our practice to make it right with our Guests, whatever the issue may be. However, in your experience, that was missed.

We'd like an opportunity to make it right for you. If you would like to discuss further, please contact me at the hotel directly.

Regards,
Becky L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    242
    74
    27
    11
See reviews for
138
134
53
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for several nights, while attending a convention held there onsite. The rooms were lovely, clean and nicely appointed. I can't say enough about the quality of service provided by everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, who all gave personal and friendly service. I would definitely stay there again if I was overnighting in Prince George. The hotel is centrally located in the downtown area, close to restaurants, if you choose not to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky L, People and Culture Advisor at Coast Inn of the North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Judy W,

Thank you for your review of the Coast Inn of the North!
We are pleased to know that during your stay you experienced the quality service that is the standard that sets Coast Hotels ahead!

We look forward to hosting you when you are next in our beautiful city! Please book your next stay with us by calling our central reservations line, and our friendly Reservations Agents will be happy to assist! 1.800.716.6199

Regards,
Becky L
People and Culture Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A nicely appointed Hotel in the heart of downtown with all amenities and very convenient to get around in Prince George. Staff all very accommodating and making sure everything is done right. Newly renovated room , lacked towel racks and shower door not completely enclosed. Internet was hard to get onto, but staff at front desk helped eliminate this problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for a week for a business trip. The staff was pleasant upon arrival and throughout my stay. It is centrally located which means you can walk just about anywhere in the downtown area within 15min. And on the chance that there is somewhere not within walking range (or the weather is not cooperating), there is always a cab or two in front of the hotel.

The only cons I noted were:
1. The shower-- aesthetically, it was pleasing. But it was not practical. There is only a half glass panel, which means you're wetting the floor (even with the bath towel beside the shower) and you're feeling the draft come into your hot shower.
2. Temperature control-- I believe the thermostat is in the room for decorations only. No matter which way I moved the dial, the room temperature stayed the same. I thought it was just my room but two colleagues complained of the same thing. *The weather took a turn one day so it was pretty breezy outside and we all wanted a warmer room.*

If I had to return to Prince George again, I'd likely give this hotel another chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoClayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in for two nights and was given a lovely room.

Weather took a turn for the beautiful and I asked to change rooms to something with a balcony on the sunny side of the building.

Well!

Not only did I get the sunny side...I got a beautiful suite with mountain views and a huge balcony in the sun. Furnished modern and very cool! The super conscientious front desk dude, Landon, gave it to me at NO EXTRA CHARGE!!!

Made my day! Thank you Landon and Coast hotel! Great sushi place on site and a nice little wine store!!

Who knew Prince George was so cool!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B, People and Culture Advisor at Coast Inn of the North, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Donna B

Thank you for your review of our property - we are thrilled that you have such a great stay, and were able to enjoy the beauty of our city from your room.

We've always known that Prince George is cool - and that we have some of the best hospitality people in the area - we love when others see our city the way we do! We will be sure to pass on your accolades to Landon!

We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Prince George!

Regards,
Becky L
People and Culture Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

You'll have a fabulous time if you go in with no expectations. This may be the premier hotel for business travellers to Prince George, but you'll likely get no work done while staying here.

The wifi was painfully slow, with the signal disappearing on a consistent basis. If trying to answer emails, don't bother downloading files. I've experience dial-up faster than this wifi.

As for the room... Yes, it is remodelled and appears clean. However, the walls are fairly thin; I can hear when my neighbours are entering or exiting their rooms, and can also tell you when they were in the bathroom. The fan in the room was supposed to provide heating if you set it to 25 degrees. Problem is, it isn't heating the room as cold air was streaming out directly onto the bed all night. The shower had half a pane of glass separating it from the rest of the bathroom; unfortunately, this just doesn't work unless you like flooding the bathroom floor with water.

After one night, I couldn't wait to leave, but check-out took at least 14 minutes (from when I started timing it). The front desk clerk took his time talking to the customer - which is great, when there is no line up - while another guest and I waited. Instead of processing the line, he was chatting about pets, the weather... I suppose to his credit, he did pick up several phone calls while the rest of us continued to wait.

When it was finally my turn to check-out, and I asked if he could call a cab, the response was for me to go outside around the corner and see if there was one already lined up. If not, I could come back in and he'll call me a cab. I wasn't expecting Four Seasons' level of service, but the level of service and attention is depressing.

If I ever return to Prince George, and once the new Delta is built, I will happily take my company's business there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDatYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B, People and Culture Advisor at Coast Inn of the North, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DDatYVR

Thank you for your review of our property. We always appreciate feedback - there is value in all comments, as they allow for us to address our service gaps. We have already taken action on some of the training points that were indicated in your review as the experience you detail is not up to the standard that we hold at Coast Hotels.

I was concerned to read your review, and we'd like to discuss your stay further, to see how we can Make it Right for you - please contact our General Manager, Richard Boustead, 250.563.0121 to discuss your stay.

Regards,
Becky B
People and Culture Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Coast Inn is conveniently located in downtown Prince George. The room was average, with a small bathroom. Noise could be heard from the rooms upstairs and next door, especially plumbing noise and TV. Doors are the standard variety that slam when left to close on their own, disrupting sleep when someone leaves their room early in the morning. I did not have a fridge in my room and my heating and ventilation system did not work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B, People and Culture Advisor at Coast Inn of the North, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear RamblinTam

Thank you for the review of our property - we value guest feedback as it allows us to continually improve our services, to ensure that our valued Guests have a pleasant stay while away from home. I have forwarded your concerns, and our team will action accordingly.


We look forward to hosting you at our property again, when you next visit the city.

Regards,
Becky B
People and Culture Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#3 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#2 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#4 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Inn of the North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Inn of the North

Property: Coast Inn of the North
Address: 770 Brunswick Street, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 2C2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Prince George
#2 Business Hotel in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Inn of the North 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 9-story Hotel situated within the downtown business area. With newly renovated rooms (2014) we are delighted to host you as our Guest. When you stay with us, our friendly ambassadors will treat you as family - and provide service that you will want to tell others about. If there is anything you require during your stay, to make your stay with us more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact our front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Coast Inn of the North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Inn Of The North Hotel Prince George
Coast Hotel Prince George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing