We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the suite side of life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Choose the suite side of life”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have stayed at the hotel on several occasions, but most of the time we were like the last people in the hotel to arrive and usually end up on the inn side, but this trip we ended up in one of the suites which to our surprise was quite nice and not bad at all. The room was spacious and clean and the bedding was comfortable. A very enjoyable experience for the hours we spent there before moving onto our next destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssute350Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    36
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
31
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here with my parents in-law while visiting Prince George from June 5-7, 2013. Through central reservations for Sandman Hotels, we reserved a suite for the 4 of us. When we got to the hotel, we discovered that the pull-out bed in the living room was for only 1 person. To their credit, the front desk staff made it right and gave me and Kathy another room at a fair price. My in-laws took the suite and it was very nice, with a full kitchen including a dishwasher and it was in a quiet corner of the hotel and looked across a side street to a residential neighbourhood. However, the patio of the suite was dirty with beer empties lying around and it should have been hosed down. They should have put some chairs out on the patio so people could enjoy it. The room Kathy and I got was twin double beds. It was a disabled access room, so it was very spacious with a large bathroom, large doorways, etc. It was a little close to the elevator (as a disabled access room should be) so I could sometimes hear the ding of the elevator.

I went to the pool and steam room - once. I felt that the pool and steam room were not clean and in a quite cramped setting. It seemed like an excuse for a pool so the hotel could say they had one. Disappointing, particularly because it wasn't clean.

The location, just off the bypass (aka the Hart Highway) was O.K. since we had a vehicle, but when all is said and done I prefer to stay at the Coast downtown, which is walking distance to a lot of good restaurants so everybody can have a few in the evening.

Room Tip: Suites are in a quiet corner and face out the back to a quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

It is a decent hotel and good value for money. My big issue is parking as spaces are too few. Noticed people parking out and then checking in. Frequently cars are parked on entry route blocking others. On positove, room was spacious with good a/c and shower was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raza1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Easy to get to, great location. Room was way more than needed or expected. Clean and comfortable. All staff encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. GM is amazing. Only improvement i could see is some sort of ventilation in the gym. It was so stuffy i had to stop early. Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After a rough day on VIA rail we were driven what seemed to be a long way in this sprawling town to this hotel. The exterior is not inspiring, but not much in this frontier like town is. However, the reception and interior exceeded expectations. The Canadian wry sense of humour was intact and the staff were full of useful information on where to eat and details of morning taxis. WIFI was free but the internet speed was slow. The hallways and room were updated and fresh. Coffee maker and fridge in room. Small pool, but may be useful for tiring out small children. Well equipped fitness room.
Disappointingly lumpy mattresses- the springs seemed to be right under the mattress cover. Denny's is incorporated within the hotel and I had to pass on breakfast- there was nothing on the menu I could risk- must be getting fussy. However, we had an amazing meal at Moxy's Grill 2 doors down the previous night. A wonderful spicy chicken soup, great steak and ribs and a mini dessert.
Overall- not a bad stay for one night - more than that and the mattresses would put me off.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKHEDGEHOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. In a kitchen suite which is nice, but no strainer and dirty dishes not a good way to start out a stay. The tv upgrade was nice, as a lot of Sandmans don't have flat screens. Lack of outlets is a challenge, especially when most people travel with many electronics nowadays; perhaps multi plug adaptors in outlets would help. The internet speed is better than in the past, however, when you know everyone in the hotel will be using it from 7-10 pm nightly, perhaps more routers would help ? I know some hotels have them in every hallway. Now to the beds: Brutal. Backache every night. Perhaps instead of upgrading the bedspreads, money would have been better spent on a slab of memory foam. I could feel the springs. I think most travellers would feel bed and ample hot water are very important in a hotel stay. One last note: Check in experience not great. A friend was at the desk awaiting service ( dressed in extreme casual ) and was ignored; we weren't served until my friend in business attire showed up a few minutes later; not cool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakeh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was pretty cramped but were happy with the weekend special we got. The decor was nice but a bit cold feeling, not very 'homey'. Wish there was a continental breakfast, instead you have the option to eat at the attached Denny's which is mediocre at best not to mention very greasy. Overall our experience was 'okay'. Probably would not stay again if not for the weekend special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karalligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
1.2 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#4 of 23 in Prince George
540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#2 of 23 in Prince George
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
1.2 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George
Address: 1650 Central St E, Prince George, British Columbia V2M 3C2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince George - the gateway to Alaska, and Northern BC's largest city. With easy access to Highway 97, business and shopping districts, this hotel is conveniently located and features modern amenities to make your stay an easy one. Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George is the perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing