We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am sure this place was nice when it was built...a long time ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Prince George
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was looking for a place to stay in Prince George and did not have a reservation. When I walked in the lobby looked out of the 60s and since I had seen some not great reviews on trip advisor I went to check out the lay of the pool etc before I made any judgements. The rooms are set up motel style with a jungle pool atmosphere(small pool, plastic plants, hot and steamy and permeating smell of chlorine everywhere. I could not imagine staying in a room where the pool smell seeps in and it would be noisy constantly. I did not see the waterslides so asked at the desk... you have to go into the bowels of the hotel and it appears to have been set up as an afterthought in this murky basement type area. Based on how old this place was I did not feel the waterslides would be a safe choice.. The shocker was what they were asking pricewise...it was as much as much nicer places in town.. take my advice- stay at Treasure Cove- they have a waterslide and the rooms and pool are much nicer

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Esther's Inn. We are currently in the process of renovating the rooms and adding amenities to the hotel.

We are very proud of the tropical atmosphere we have to offer as all of our plants are live and real; perhaps you would enjoy walking around the garden in the future and admiring them up close. We have a wide variety of plants and they are labeled by species for your admiration.

There are specific opening hours for the pools and hot tubs in the courtyards to control the noise level. I am sorry to hear that you did not find it quiet enough. We will work to contain the noise level better in the future.

The water-slides are located on the far side of the hotel so as to contain the noise as people do get extremely excited when going down the tallest water-slide in northern BC. The slides are well-maintained through routine inspections all year round; we assure you that we have not had a safety issue with the slides since we have introduced them to the public.

We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations this time. We do offer a much larger variety of rooms compared to the Treasure Cove; including single rooms, joining rooms, family suites, kitchen suites, wheelchair-accessible rooms, and much more. We do try to keep our prices competitive while constantly applying promotions through the loyalty card or scratch & win programs.

We will continue to work very hard to raise our quality of service while we go through our renovations and we hope you will come back to truly experience the tropical atmosphere in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This place is affordable, comfortable, and not far from the road. Kids love the tropical vibe. The pool was great. Only major downside is that the place hasn't changed a bit in the last 20 years. Seriously guys, maybe consider some renovations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Esther's Inn David. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pools and the tropical atmosphere. We are currently in the process of renovating the rooms and adding amenities to the hotel. We thank you for your continued support and we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The rate was fantastic at $93/night for two queen beds! Our kids LOVED the decor and the pools, which were heated to bathtub temperature! The restaurant had great food and service and our kids loved the great choices on the kids menu. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tspencer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pools and hot tubs. We will continue strive towards even better service and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had our ceremony and dinner here and the staff worked theirs tails off to make it a special day the rooms are good for this type of hotel I agree the only bad thing no elevator but thanks to Esther, s staff for doing such a great job ;-) :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggi880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Esther's Inn for such a special event. We are trilled to hear that we had a wonderful experience with us. We will continue to work hard to make your future stays with us even more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is an older property a little off the "beaten track" so to speak but it has been well maintained and there has obviously been work done to the property particularly in the rooms as the one that I occupied was very nicely appointed. In the morning at breakfast there had apparently been some staff not show up but the young lady that was on duty by herself did a very admirable job of handling a very busy room on her own. She showed herself to be a very valuable employee for this hotel. A welcome addition to this hotel would be an elevator so if you have a lot of luggage request a ground floor room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Esther's Inn 1Bubba. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the helpful staff. We are quite proud of our staffs' ability to provide excellent customer service and we look to continue doing so in the future. We are also in the process of continuingly adding amenities to our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again on your future travels to Prince George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Warning... There are NO elevators in this hotel. The hotel is in need of a good Reno too. The price was alright. The water slide was fun, but we changed our second night stay to the newly renovated Ramada for $6 per night more. Much better!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our water-slides and sorry to hear that our current interior decorations are not up to your standards. We are currently in the process of renovating the rooms as well as adding additional amenities to our hotel. For future stays I would recommend requesting a room on the ground floor which have undergone recent renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my first time writing a review...I have given this hotel chance after chance. I have visited this hotel several times over the last 4 years because my daughter loves the tropical feel and the pools. The first time there was a mix up with the rooms as I had booked a suite (and even called to confirm it a month before) and when we arrived only had a single room booked! This last time we travelled specifically to meet family so the kids could go on the waterslides on a Monday. When I saw on facebook that the summer hours were Tues through Sun I was going to change my reservation to another hotel, but thought I would call first to double check hours. The staff assured me that the waterslides would be open on the Monday because of summer hours. When we went to go on the waterslides we were informed that they were indeed closed on Mondays. How can that level of miscommunication happen??? my daughter was so disappointed. My patience is over and I will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 87Angela800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esthers M, Manager at Super 8 Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. As discussed over the phone, we are sorry to hear that you were misinformed by our staff regarding the water-slide operation hours. The staff in question has been talked to and further training has been implemented to avoid such miscommunications.
I hope you will reconsider your decision in the future about staying with us again. We would welcome the opportunity to show you proper hospitality and the level of service we are really capable of providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince George hotels
1.3 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#2 of 23 in Prince George
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#3 of 23 in Prince George
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#5 of 23 in Prince George
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
1.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Prince George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Prince George

Address: 1151 Commercial Crescent, Prince George, British Columbia V2M 6W6, Canada (Formerly Esther's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Prince George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Super 8 Prince George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esther`s Hotel Prince George
Esthers Hotel Prince George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing