We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for a good prince”
Review of Mr Jake's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Mr Jake's Steakhouse
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Description: Prince George's #1 Steakhouse Since 1966.
Restaurant details
Description: Prince George's #1 Steakhouse Since 1966.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food for a good prince”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Don't expect some fine dining or extreme class but expect fast quality food at a reasonable price with a quirky style of service. Prob start going here more often now that I discovered it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
303 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We found this place from an ad in the Mile Post magazine. Parking was right out front. The setup was a little different then what I am use to. You place your order and they prepare and cook it right there in front of you. You can go have a seat and the waitress will get your drinks but you can see them cooking your food. The service was good. The waitress had a smile on her face each time she looked your way. The food was good. I had chicken planks, fries and a side salad while my husband had Fish and Chips. I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Popular doesn't necessarily mean "great"”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Got the "#3" which is their most popular steak dish (9 oz. steak w/potato, garlic bread, and salad.) Cost was $15.99. When I rec'd the steak, there was fat on three sides and once I trimmed that off, I was left w/about 6 or 7 oz of steak. It was tough and not seasoned (much? at all?) which was disappointing because so many other reviewers seem to really enjoy the steaks they got. Maybe I just got a 'bad' steak or it was an off night.

The server was great. She was personable and hard-working. The prices were moderate (not "cheap" as some indicate). The decor was plain and that was fine with me. I came for the food. Would I recommend this place to a friend? Not based on my experience but maybe I'd advise someone considering eating here to order ANYTHING but the #3 meal. It may be popular, but the 'no-name' steak you get will not be worth the money you pay for it. Just cough up $4 more and get the New York steak. You'll probably be happier.

Oh yeah, if you like beer, the cost for a basic bottle of beer (Bud, Coors Light, Kokanee, etc.) is $4.50. A more premium brew will run you $5.50 a bottle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“In business too long to be anything but good”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good reliable food. This has been around for years, and the set menu is always worth it for a dependable, filling dinner. Close to lots of offices

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the potato salad!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great food. Excellent potato salad - we often order it to go to serve at our own bbq's and it's always a hit!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Jake's Steakhouse also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing