We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of Mr Jake's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Mr Jake's Steakhouse
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Prince George's #1 Steakhouse Since 1966.
Prince George BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent food with great service. Owners are serving you, really care about the customer. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pgcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Many readers will disregard the remainder of this review based on reading the title. Jake’s couldn’t be more rebellious if the patrons all wore Guy Fawkes masks. Like A&A Burger Bar, Jake’s defies definition, flying in the face of expectations. One part industrial zone cafe, one part hospital cafeteria, and one part family restaurant, I’m surprised the chefs aren’t screaming orders to each other in clear view of the public.

Jake’s tables resemble that of a truck stop diner, perhaps with a scant more polish. Burned bronze chandeliers and lamp posts offer some measure of prestige against the wooden railings and period murky posters hanging off of slate blue walls. The dominant feature is the order counter where customers flank the chefs opposite searing oven tops and broilers. They take the orders and cook the food. Above them a classic order board lists options in wavy retro font. No menus. Jake’s bleeds local history, like it hasn’t changed its decor in 50 years. Photos under the counter harken to a time when this town was dominated by a single street, surrounded by an invasion of old-growth pine. The illusion is that Jake’s steakhouse survived all those decades, with the town growing around them. Regardless of the truth, it’s a believable claim given the decor.

Being lunch, it would have been inappropriate to open with a steak, so I opted for a slightly more reasonable bacon and mushroom cheeseburger. The prices were exactly where you’d expect them to be, with nearly every selection under 10 dollars. The exceptions to these were the steaks with the king a 15 oz mini-cow at 22$. There was nothing terrible fancy with the burger, and it wasn’t required with a quality of beef. This was not some frozen patty from an unlabeled wholesale box but a molded piece of art sculpted by hopefully sanitized hands. Even the unsung fries were among the best I’ve had, that perfect balance between soft and crispy. This is the kind of place that serves coleslaw in a styrofoam cup but also offers Caesar salad as a complimentary starter. You would expect the service to be lackluster but the single waitress that snaked around the tables was attentive and perky.

So, a waste of a review I would think. I mean anyone looking for a pretentious restaurant to conform to their ostentatious demands would be best to avoid Jake’s. People who know Jake’s love Jake’s, and people who don’t know or don’t care might be turned off by its borderline schizophrenic nature. Doing so would be denying some of the best fried and broiled meat in town. I can imagine the entire restaurant falling into an ominous hush like that moment in Vanilla Sky when Tom Cruise bolts from the coffee shop at the mere mention of vegetarian dishes.

This was a perfect burger with a proper level char, filling up every square inch of the bun, even to the final bite. It may not be appropriate to wear a tie here or talk about something other than hockey, but Jake’s is a location those customers enjoying quality beef should take in. It’s one of those restaurants Gordon Ramsay would take another restaurant’s owners to in Kitchen Nightmares to show them what a good burger looks like. Unlike the Burger Bar, I can see returning to Jake’s for dinner, granted I don’t bring my fedora and wear those jeans I’m never seen in outside of my house.

Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Presentation: 3.5/5
Value: 4/5
Recommendation: 4/5

And for those still on the firing line of deciding, or need some additional justification for coming here, Mr Jake’s offers free wireless internet. In defense of my previous statement, I stated that the customers probably didn’t know what a netbook was.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food for a good prince”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Don't expect some fine dining or extreme class but expect fast quality food at a reasonable price with a quirky style of service. Prob start going here more often now that I discovered it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
299 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We found this place from an ad in the Mile Post magazine. Parking was right out front. The setup was a little different then what I am use to. You place your order and they prepare and cook it right there in front of you. You can go have a seat and the waitress will get your drinks but you can see them cooking your food. The service was good. The waitress had a smile on her face each time she looked your way. The food was good. I had chicken planks, fries and a side salad while my husband had Fish and Chips. I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Popular doesn't necessarily mean "great"”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Got the "#3" which is their most popular steak dish (9 oz. steak w/potato, garlic bread, and salad.) Cost was $15.99. When I rec'd the steak, there was fat on three sides and once I trimmed that off, I was left w/about 6 or 7 oz of steak. It was tough and not seasoned (much? at all?) which was disappointing because so many other reviewers seem to really enjoy the steaks they got. Maybe I just got a 'bad' steak or it was an off night.

The server was great. She was personable and hard-working. The prices were moderate (not "cheap" as some indicate). The decor was plain and that was fine with me. I came for the food. Would I recommend this place to a friend? Not based on my experience but maybe I'd advise someone considering eating here to order ANYTHING but the #3 meal. It may be popular, but the 'no-name' steak you get will not be worth the money you pay for it. Just cough up $4 more and get the New York steak. You'll probably be happier.

Oh yeah, if you like beer, the cost for a basic bottle of beer (Bud, Coors Light, Kokanee, etc.) is $4.50. A more premium brew will run you $5.50 a bottle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Jake's Steakhouse also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing