We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Vu Restaurant

Thanh Vu Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 229 Restaurants in Prince George
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have only been to this restaurant a few times, but have always been impressed with the flavours of the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Nice atmosphere, tasty peanut chicken dish and good value for the money! My three dining companions all ordered different dishes and everything was delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bellis_coldwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Beef Noodle Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This is the place for a beef noodle soup in Prince Geroge. Their other dishes are good too. Their dishes are usually big.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank syphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Let me tell you a story of a cursed restaurant. Set the “Way-Back” machine for nearly a quarter century ago when a restaurant called Binos opened a mere deer-spit away from the crossing of two highways. Sound perfect? It wasn’t, and Binos failed, leaving the immense location vacant for years. Several restaurants would follow, each believing the location golden, only to fall to the same curse. One attempt, called Moose McGillicuddy’s, was staffed by a friend who revealed that the curse laid within the location’s energy requirements. Isolated on the highway, with two floors of open restaurant and wall to wall glass, resulted in considerable heating demands so unreasonable that there was no way for any business to cover the expense. Access from the highway was a problem as well. Despite the location, it was still blocks away from any population. Other restaurants built nearby suffered the same problem (ah Bonanza). Thanh Vu, the latest occupant, is blessed with new neighbors, a recent major hotel and apartment complex built within eyesight. It also helps that their food is good.
Vu is a Vietnamese restaurant not unlike U&Me, already reviewed. The Vu predates the U by several years and offers a more generic selection of cuisine over the specialized U&Me, focused mostly on Pho. Vu only offers three different soups compared to the U’s eight. Vu matches that with dozens of traditional entrees, literally dozens; the waitress couldn’t recommend one single dish.

The location does look great, though unmodified. It still has the same general build of the old Binos. It’s humorous that after all these years, many people, including myself, still refer to it as the “old Binos”. Vu updates it by adding their logo on etched glass and painting various junks across a mural above the bar. I wasn’t being critical of the painting; it really is of junks…the boats I mean…It’s not like the painting was displaying a landfill or a line of male lower torsos.

One staple of any Asian cuisine is their roll. U&Me had a shrimp salad roll, which I see offered here as well. I select the pork spring roll, a popular and recommended choice. This quantum-packed singularity of pork is not light, coming down with thud on the table. There is not a single air pocket anywhere in this roll. It’s hot and crispy and offered with an orange sauce which cools each bite. These are must buy each time you come here.

I order the cashew beef as the main, delivered hot enough to melt uranium, separated into two dishes, beef and rice. At least here rice is included (looking at you Karahi King). What initially appears a small portion is actually enormous. I eventually pour the entire beef dish over the rice. This makes any decent portion with the chopsticks difficult. I have pride myself on my chopstick skills, but eating sauce saturated rice is frustrating. I see the fork. I know success of the fork, but like all Asian cultures, I’m sticking with the sticks. That’s perseverance. After this, I’m going to plow a farm with pool cues.
With only rice left, I’m forced to pick up the clean fork. It should be noted that when a Vietnamese menu warns something is spicy, take that warning, as every dish has some measure of heat. They warn you when atom-splitting is involved.

Thanh Vu’s survival is a real triumph in this city, having lasted longer than any of the restaurants before it at this location. It can be mostly credited to the quality and value of its food as much as the increased access of potential patrons. At $17 dollars with the roll appetizer, Thanh Vu offers one of the best values to date. It’s difficult to find flaw here. The presentation is borderline Denny’s with just enough culture in its glass and paint to pull itself from such an offense. The food exceeds any preconceptions you might have walking through the door. I hope 20 years from now; we don’t look at this location as the old Thanh Vu, as Vu is far too good to be delegated as another Bino’s footnote.

Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Presentation: 3/5
Value: 5/5
Recommendation: 4/5

Thanh Vu
1778 Highway 97
Prince George, BC

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy in tummy and wallet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Food was great. They really like to close on time...they started to vaccuum 1 minute after closing :-( Go early!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SabineK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thanh Vu Restaurant also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Thanh Vu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing