We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight up excellent food and service”

Thanh Vu Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 233 Restaurants in Prince George
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kitimat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Straight up excellent food and service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

4 of us went here for dinner and it was a great meal. Our food and the service were both really good. I suggest you give Thanh Vu a try. You won't be disappointed. Good beer selection also. Not a lot of beer selections but good ones

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shockingly BAD”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On our last trip to Prince George we chose to go to Than Vu. Disappointing barely covers our food experience. I have had beef with lemongrass at other restaurants and have made the dish myself and what they served me was not beef with lemongrass. I was served a dish of green beef, green, that is just scarey. There was absolutely no flavour to the dish, none. It was as though the beef had been sliced and then boiled in water first then thrown into a dish swimming with some indiscernible watery substance and that is certainly what it tasted like. Disgusting. The 'coconut rice' had not a hint of coconut too it and was the wrong kind of rice, the restaurant substituting a cheaper long grain rice. This is neither an authentic representation of Vietnamese cuisine nor an acceptable westernized version. We also had the mixed appetizer platter, a deep fried tasteless mess except for the spring rolls which are supposed to have either fresh basil or mint (or both) in them but had neither. The service was excellent but when we returned the dish we could hear the response from either the manager/owner or cook and it was not polite. Yes, we heard you. So if you want a flavourless mess definitely go there but if you are looking for a decent, flavourful meal that is representative of beautiful Vietnamese Cuisine this is not the place to go. You have been warned.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Really44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great find in PG”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The service was efficient and friendly and the food was outstanding. We shared the appetizer sampler plate for 2 and each appetizer was fresh and tasty. The main courses were even more delicious than the appetizers. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

On my most recent visit to Prince George, I stopped here for a ginger beef and spring roll, followed by a deep fried banana.

All offerings were large and very tasty. The spring rolls stood out as exceptional. There was a good proportion of meat and veggies in the main dish, and everything tasted fresh.

The servers were all very friendly, knowledgeable of their food offerings, and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This was the last time”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The service has always been great here but the last three time I have come to eat at the Thanh Vu there has been something inconsistent about our meals. Although the hot and sour soup was perfect my beef in the stir fry I had seemed very old and distasteful. My brothers noodle soup had both sausage and beef in it as well and he only ate a bit of it as it did not taste good. While some of the ingredients seems very fresh others seem to be old almost to the point of tasting rancid. The last three times we came here for supper it was never horrible, just not what you expect as far as quality

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiteWolfPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thanh Vu Restaurant also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Thanh Vu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing