We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal”

Shogun Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 231 Restaurants in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Was another great meal as usual at the Shogun, haven't had a bad meal or time since started going here when I was a young kid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK, but not great!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

I went there with my colleagues for dinner @ 7 pm.
We ordered Famous Shogun Combo. It probably took more than 40 minutes until a shogun chef came to our table.
The restaurant wasn't busy.
I liked shrimp and scallops. Beef and chicken were just average for that price.
I expected a great Teppanyaki show, but it was disappointing, to be honest.


Helpful?
Thank syphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LOVE the Shogun”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I see all these negative reviews and wonder if they are talking about a different place!!! Ive been to the shogun several times, and planning to go tomorrow night... love the place, love the food, the people. Good times!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaraBrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Bart H.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your dining experience at Shogun. Shogun has been operating since the early 80's so yes a lot of us grew up enjoying the excitement of Shogun.

I very much look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Love the meals here! Especially the ginger and mustard sauce! One of the best Japanese restaurant's we've eaten at!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AinsleyFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is not Japanese”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This restaurant is one of those "juggle the peppermill" places. Lots of noise and juggling knives. The food is close to terrible and very overpriced. I had tenderloin and scallops. While the beef was fine, the scallops were terrible. I think that they were bought off the back of a truck on a highway -100 for a dollar..... gritty and terrible tasting. The service was Ok and it is way overpriced . Maybe in the 70's it worked .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shogun Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Shogun Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing