We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic adventure aboard the Inside Passage”

Prince Rupert Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prince Rupert Adventure Tours can show you the most stunning and magnificent displays of wildlife in and around BC’s Beautiful North Coast! Grizzly Bear Tour Our Grizzly Bear Tours in the Khutzeymateen Valley will give you a chance to see these legendary giants in their natural environment! Our goal is to provide you with a safe, pleasurable, unique wilderness experience. We conscientiously avoid altering the natural behavior of these creatures. Whale Watching Tour Come and experience the greatest show on Earth! We can show you the most stunning and magnificent displays of wildlife in and around the North Coast’s sheltered Inside Passage. You may encounter Grey whales feeding around enormous kelp beds, Humpback whales flashing their unique tails as they dive to feed, Orca whales following the migrating salmon, or porpoises playfully gliding alongside the boat. As well, you may see Stellar sea lions, Harbour seals, eagles, Blue herons, and more! North Coast whale watching is acknowledged as one of the most accessible and predictable locations to see whales. It is truly an unforgettable adventure experience of a lifetime
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Today was my fourth trip with Prince Rupert Adventure Tours and definitely won't be my last! Captain Doug and his entire crew are very friendly and knowledgeable! Every trip amazes me with the beauty of the Khutzeymateen Inlet.

2  Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are amazed with the beauty of the Khutzeymateen Valley as well! It's always a pleasure to have passengers come back again and again, as each and every trip is a unique experience. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had flown from Calgary on a day trip with Canadian Classic tours and were met at Prince Rupert tiny airport by staff from Prince Rupert Adventure tours for a 7hr boat trip to view grizzlies.A 5 minute school bus trip took us down to the jetty and on to a big yellow twin hull boat. It takes 100 passengers but with 3decks it felt very spacious. We all had an inside comfortable seat initially but once we got out into the Sound we could move about outside. It took 2 hrs to reach our destination of Khyzmateen prov park, a safe sanctuary for the grizzlies. As well as the naturalists from CCTours there were 3 other very Knowledgeable staff on board. Ada,Barb and Elaine. The captain and owner Doug has been running the tour for many years and was amazing with his specialized knowledge of the grizzlies.
It was such a privilege to see pods of orcas and grizzlies in their natural environment. We saw mother and young bears as well as a big adult male. The boat was able to get near the grassy shore, quietly without disturbing the bears. No talking on deck while we viewed without disturbing the bears.
Nobody can land in the sanctuary and boats are restricted and must have a permit. Our boat was very comfortable, quite and smooth.

Thank you to all the staff. A fantastic day out. Very highly recommended!!!

2  Thank ottoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Superb Response! Thank you for joining us! We call it a Grizzly Bear Tour however it is much, much more. We are very happy to share the raw beauty and the Grizzly Bears of the Khutzeymateen Valley however the chance to see porpoises, seals, sea lions, whales and sea birds on the journey through Chatham Sound is just as remarkable. We thank you for the recommendation. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Alaska, and had yet to see bears in the wild. This tour was offered at the last minute from our ship, and we jumped on it. So glad we did! The boat was state of the art, with comfortable indoor and outdoor seating, viewing areas, clean restrooms, and snacks available. The crew was all friendly, and engaged their customers. Books on wildlife were available to peruse, and they provided some binoculars for use as well. It's a 7-hour tour, but the scenery is beautiful. We were lucky enough to view bears on 2 different beaches, one from a longer distance (too bad for my point and shoot camera!), and a mom and two older cubs from about 25 feet -- and they hung around for about 20-30 minutes with lots of activity. On the way back, we stopped to look for whales since one had been spotted, and we did see it briefly. Near the end, the crew pulled out food to draw in bald eagles -- and oh, what a sight! There must have been 10-15 swooping and flying in all different directions at very close range, and then sea gulls joined in. That was an unexpected highlight.
This tour is great for people of all ages, but younger ones might have difficulty being quiet when the boat approaches the bears; even adults have some difficulty! :)
Highly recommend this tour; well worth the price!

Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for recommending us! We are happy that you enjoyed the Grizzly Bear Tour with us to the Khutzeymateen Inlet. You never know what you may see traveling through Chatham Sound along the rugged coast line of British Columbia, Canada. It's people like you that make it worth while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'v done the whale watching last year and the grizzly bear tour this year and nobody walked away disappointed. The crew are very knowledgable and sensitive to the animals they encounter, I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We appreciate hearing from you and we agree this tour is amazing rain or shine! We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The most amazing afternoon I have ever spent!

Me and 11 up daughter went out on this big yellow boat to see some whales and they did not disappoint!
Captain doug knowledgable and staff friendly and helpful. Onboard snacks not extortionate! (Which they easily could have been)
We forgot our sun cream so a bottle of that might be helpful (20c- a squirt?) but otherwise, the best day out EVER!

Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your day with us! We LOVE Whale Watching! They are such graceful magnificent giants. Hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince Rupert Adventure Tours also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 

Been to Prince Rupert Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing