We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value ... But Are They Offering You The Most Affordable Rooms?”
Review of Moby Dick Inn

Moby Dick Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moby Dick Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent Value ... But Are They Offering You The Most Affordable Rooms?”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Moby Dick Inn one night, Was disappointed because I feel I may have been booked into a bigger room when they knew I was only one person. I feel smaller, less expensive rooms were available, but were not disclosed.

Positives:
comfortable bed in a bigger room on upper floor
relatively close to anything in Prince Rupert (15 minute walk to Cow Bay)
free and fast wi-fi and many stations on TV
decent restaurant at least for breakfast
Negatives
Will be booked in a bigger room unless you ask for a,less expensive room
A little bit towards the edge of downtown
No a/c?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripLover333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
18
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The furniture in the room looked old, but the rooms were clean enough. The restaurant was really good and lots of locals seems to eat here, so that's always a good sign. Food was reasonably priced and the servers were pleasant and service was super fast. Internet was fast too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfish85U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at Moby Dick Inn for two nights, and it was quite nice. The inn is conveniently located to the BC ferry terminal, Overwaitea Foods, restaurants, Tim Hortons and etc. Their front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was quite spacious which I liked a lot. The room was a bit warm for me, but they supplied two fans. Rooms were clean and well-maintained, and beds were comfortable. WiFi worked well. Overall, I would definitely stay there again. Loved their Mural!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You get what you pay for. Reasonably clean. Some of the lights did not work. Could not adjust the heat and the room was very hot. Extra large flat screen T V. Payed extra for an upgraded room but did not anything special. Has an restaurant which had an excellent at a value price. Would bypass this inn next tie in Rupert.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an upgrade. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

Prince George, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Although the restaurant was closed during this years' stay, I have eaten breakfast there before and the food was quite reasonable; the motel staff were everywhere you needed to find them and very freindly and helpful. Very well placed for ferry traffic and I have checked in the motel at midnight coming off the ferry and checked out for the 5:30 AM ferry (different years), and both times the staff were professional and freindly. I expect to always stay at the Moby Dick when travelling to and through Prince Rupert.

Room Tip: Love the fourth floor harbour side for the view and wonderful showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Modest hotel but very cozy,(we were on honeymoon ) perfectly styled with the city.
When the front desk staff is so welcoming, many little things become secondary.
We spent only one night and half, but would stay again.
The best for those who love to fish

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giors51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I'm currently riding a bicycle around North America and spent a great night at the Moby Dick Inn. The staff were absolutely great and made me feel at home, the shower was incredibly powerful and the beds were as comfy as they come. All this and it was a really well kept room, with super fast broadband and a large TV, in a nice part of town. I can't recommend it enough, it's certainly been a standout night for me on this trip. Check it out if you're in Prince Rupert.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.2 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Inn

Property: Moby Dick Inn
Address: 935 2nd Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moby Dick Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moby Dick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing