We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view at a competitive price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Room was comfortable, quiet, well appointed and clean. Staff went out of their way to help when asked. Compared to other hotels in Prince Rupert, the Highliner is less expensive, but still has fantastic views of the mountains and ocean from your room. The restaurant, on the other hand, is cavelike with no view of the ocean. Skip it.

Instead, walk a block to the Prince Rupert Hotel for a quiet all-you-can-eat continental breakfast for about $11. It's atmosphere is really welcoming after a recent renovation. Tim Horton's is also across the street. For lunch or dinner, you can walk 15 minutes (or take a taxi for $5) to The Crest for an upscale meal at their restaurant or a more lively time at the pub.

The only thing I would change... add a spiral binder of hotel amenities and local information. This is not included in any of the rooms or even at the front desk. I asked. You have to ask the person at the desk and hope they are not new to the job or the town. Even at cheap hotels this type of information is usually in every room. But not offering it at the front desk?! This seems like they just didn't care.

Room Tip: Hotel has apartments from floors 11 to 17. Choose a higher floor (9 or 10) on the north or west side...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stuck in Rupert for work, room was very spacious and needed some upgraded but staff was incredible. Breakfast was awesome, staff in restaurant was great, food was fresh and hot. The front desk boy, Jordan was very helpful. :-). Hotel is close to everything and view from balcony was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The staff at the hotel are exceptional. Kind, courtious, prompt on service and very accomodating to your needs. The room was very spacious, beds are super comfy, but the pillows aren't very good. The room was in need of updating, minor repairs....but all in all great stay, good sleep, and very very quite. Would be nice if the restaurant was open longer than 630-2..dinner would be nice, but found 2 excellent restaurants just up the street. Highly recommend Zorba's Greek open til midnight, the lamb chops were surpurb and the Hallibut and Chips at the Oceanview have to be the BEST in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsQueen768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I chose the Highliner because it was the least expensive of the hotels & it overlooked the harbour. The first night I was in a mountain view room from which the view of the mountains was gorgeous. The next day I asked to be moved to a harbour view room & was cheerfully accomodated. Watching the sunset over the ocean & mountains was mesmerizing. The room was clean, with a soft bed, warm blankets & fluffy pillows. Scads of hot water & soft towels, toiletries, and a small coffee maker with complimentary coffee were in the bathroom. Cable tv was decent, & free wifi. I stood on the balcony in the morning watching the sun light up the harbour while drinking my coffee. 2 blocks to the Tim Horton's, and 4 to the Starbucks in the Safeway. Liquor store 2 blocks away & open until 11 pm (woohoo!). The restaurant in the hotel is only open for breakfast & lunch, and there's no room service, but plenty of delivery options. Staff are very helpful & cheerful. There's a guest laundry in the basement, ask at the front desk for the key, $1.25 per wash or dry.There are quite a few locals going in & out of the hotel & in speaking to a local lady in the elevator, she told me her mom lives there as the top 6 floors are residential suites for dsiabled seniors (fantastic idea - help is there if they need it). Short walk to Cow Bay & the Museum of Northern BC. Overall a great place to stay & great value for the money. Locals are very friendly & I ended up chatting with people as I walked along the street if we were going the same direction.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have the best view of ocean & mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Tallest building in town, beautiful views. Staff very friendly, housekeeping great, restaurant good and reasonable priced. Access to Greyhound, Hawkair and National car rental on main floor. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Withstood the 7.7 earthquake Oct. 2012.

Room Tip: SW facing had great view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLXTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The location is great - car rental and airport shuttle all use this as the drop-off and pick-up venue. Fairly professional operation - wireless internet was bad in my room but they put in a router to accommodate so, I have to give them a great service rating. Decent restaurant attached which does breakfasts and lunches.

Room Tip: If you like a view, ask for a room facing the water rather than the town - and if you need wireless...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Good clean and quiet hotel. Basic but relative very good value, especially if flying in to the Prince Rupert Airport on Digby Island. The bus transport stops and leaves (the only one) at this hotel so it is very convenient for flyers. Had a king bed and good housekeeping. Decent breakfast in the little breakfast cafe. Within walking distance of Cow Bay and the Crest Hotel where the good food is. Have booked again because of the convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 815 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing