We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, but hotel needs serious maintenance!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value, but hotel needs serious maintenance!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I'll list the good things,

Right on the waterfront the hotel is ideally located for most of pr rupert. Close to shops, restaurants and parks for the kids.

On road parking outside is plentiful and we had no problems there finding a space, day or night.

Wifi was excellent, this may sound trivial but I have two teens and with four of us using Internet at some times it coped well- trust me this is rare!

Bathrooms were clean and spacious, lights bright and towels clean and fluffy.

Now the bad stuff!
In 30 degree weather the broken thermostat in our room and our room adjoining did not help (fix it guy very quick and happy to help out fixing it!)

Radiator is older style pipe and metal fin, the cover fell off regularly and this posed a serious hazard for our toddler. Should have covers repaired.

The curtains didn't close, they had clearly broken off the tabs at that end of the track and the sun streamed in every morning, not ideal! Easy fix, not sure why not done!

Beds were standard hotel issue, but every one of the four bed spreads had either a substantial rip or burn in it, if they are old and tatty, get new or get rid!

Overall, the place may well have been a "plaza" in it's day but now it's not really that grand. It was good value for money and I would stay there with my family again, BUT don't go expecting state of the art.

Oh and finally my personal hate of all hates, the stupid barely-there trash bags in the bins, either use a bag, or don't! But if you must, then put it IN the bin, not draped across the top so that putting anything near the bin will cause it to tear! Thankyouverymuch!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    23
    21
    16
    17
See reviews for
15
16
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is old and has not been updated in any way, that we could see. Our first room was on the sixth floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. There is no air-conditioning nor fans and the door to deck would not lock and the room was extremely hot when we arrived. There were no towels in the room, only one facecloth and there was no toilet paper, not even on the roll. The lights were on in the bathroom and It made me wonder if someone had been using the room after housekeeping had been through. We asked for towels to be delivered on our way to dinner. Two hours later we returned from dinner and still no towels. The front desk clerk was the only staff on and he did not know where the key to the towel room was. He asked if we could use hand towels for showering, seriously!! It was easier for him to have us move rooms than get towels. Moving was a good thing as even though the sixth floor was non-smoking other guest were smoking and they had their doors open. We moved to a room on the 10th floor, which was larger and had towels. Due to the heat, lack of fan and A/C, we attempted to sleep with the balcony door wide open but the overly loud drunks and traffic forced us to shut the door at some point early in the evening. There is no fan in the bathroom. It's recommended that you park on the street as the on-site parking does not have lighting. The Greyhound terminal is also in the same building. We felt uncomfortable walking in the evening where this hotel is located.

The only good things about this hotel is that it's concrete and has the view is amazing.

On another note, Prince Rupert has some amazing scenery and it's well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

Juneau, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The overall reviews of this hotel are fairly accurate. Although the room was large, there was no air conditioning or even a fan in the bathroom. We slept with the sliding door open all night and it still didn't cool down. The building is aged, but the room wasn't too bad. However, the housekeeping was poor. About half way through the night, my husband found he'd been sleeping on a beer bottle cap. Yes, it was in the sheets, not underneath. Yuck! I would not recommend this hotel. However, be aware that there is not much to choose from in Prince Rupert so you may need to "settle" with what you can get.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I just spent some time in Prince Rupert and stayed at Highliner Hotel. The hotel had an amazing view and staff was terrific. The front desk was well organized and answered all questions we had. Big thank you to Dayna and the other front desk staff. Would definitely stay again when in town :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The lobby gives you a false impression. The room quality is terrible for the money they charge. Furniture is old. The side chair stained. Some of the electrical outlets don't work. The drapes are old. The heat thermostat was turned off but heat was still coming out of the register. The desk lamp shade sat tilted because it's broken. Housekeeping couldn't even straighten the pictures on the wall. They still allow smoking and that is the floor where the ice machine is. I left after 3 nights with bites all over my body. They have a bed bug problem.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carstairs AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked on line but the room ended up with maintenance issues before we got there. So they gave us another room at the same price as it would have been had we booked on line. The young fellow who helped us was extremely helpful and courteous. The substitute room was great and very spacious. We still had a view of the harbour. Great location. On street parking but there was never an issue or concern for us. We parked our car in vision of our room. We were in this hotel for 3 days and really appreciated the staff and the location.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have air conditioning but does have balconies which are private and allow the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCarstairsAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I hesitated giving this a 1 star but after switching rooms twice, they moved me to a suite facing away from the storm, wind, rain that all pushed the sliding door open letting the rain in. I can't really describe how poor the rooms facing E are. The 2 bedroom suite however is a 3 star.
The heaters barely work, the Hotel is virtually a concrete bunker.
Stay somewhere else unless they either give you a fantastic rate, or a decent room.
The staff however are fantastic and were very accomodating and understanding.
I would stay again, but only in the appropriate room as mentioned above.

Room Tip: If the winds blowing pick a room facing NE. Be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanTanAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 815 1st Avenue West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing