We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here while going out on a charter fishing trip. The rooms are old, but clean and quiet. Friendly staff at the front desk. Great view of the harbour! The location to downtown is excellent. The price for the room was very reasonable compared to the other Hotel in Prince Rupert.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Miworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My second stay at this hotel and I will be back. Excellent value and very nice staff. We had to leave on business and they helped us by storing our luggage.
The rooms are a reasonable price and all have a beautiful view of the sea.Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Excellent breakfast downstairs- also at a reasonable price. Good coffee in the room!
Prince Rupert is famous for their Bald eagles and these hang around the hotel so many photographers are pretty happy. Thank you to the staff for your energy and friendliness.

Room Tip: All have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anafricanincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Recently I had a short stay at Highliner. Room was renovated.

Room is big with standard hotel look. The cleaning lady probably missed some corners. Overall is fine.

I felt great to look out the window. Because it is high, I believe you can always see the ocean no matter which room you stay in.

The not so impressed part is that they only provided one shampoo tube and two soap bars, no shower get or lotion! This might not bother other people, but these tiny things can change someone's view. I usually like to take the lotion from hotels because it is a great small package to carry around and smooth your hands every once a while. Now I remember that the Sunshine Inn in Smithers gave Vaseline lotion and Pantene shampoo and conditioner in its rooms last winter when I stayed there.. which made me like to stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcbc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Not much to look at from the outside, frankly, my first impression was of a concrete monolith tower of some Intourist hotels in former communist countries. The inside is quite nice , howeve, and the staff very friendly and accommodating . This is the place where the shuttle bus to the airport ( which requires a ferry ride to Rigby Island ) picks up. It is located right on the bay and the balcony overlooking the harbor was super. Bald Eagles covorting so close I could have thrown them a fish ! It is not as close to the train station as it looks, quite a hike uphill into town and required a taxi ( no hotels are any closer to the train station.) Very comfortable room , bed etc. and exceptionally kind staff. All Canadian hotels found to be overpriced. Should have included breakfast at the price.

Room Tip: face the bay, nice harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and was totally impressed with the professional service and quality of every aspect of the hotel from housekeeping to restaurant.
Steve, the hotel manager, went out of his way to please our group at every turn. He was amazing..as was all the staff!
We will definitely return to the Highliner on our next trip to Prince Rupert. Don't change a thing....everything is perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel is little bit older and needs some updating for the price of the rooms but the staff more than makes up for it. Stephanie, who was on front desk, had the onerous task of informing all of us waiting for the airport shuttle that our flight was cancelled. She then very professionally and courteously went about booking us rooms all the while dealing with a difficult customer , a malfunctioning debit machine, and a keycard machine that was coding the cards improperly. She deserves an award from mgmt. for her above and beyond service and composure. The rest of the staff are excellent, the food in the restaurant is good and reasonable, and the rooms are clean and spacious. Definitely try and get a waterside room for the view and they are quieter than the other three sides. I would be happy to stay here again on my next trip up. They will also let you leave your luggage inside if you are waiting for the airport shuttle.

Room Tip: stay on the downwind side if it is blowing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquamishFooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the outside the Highliner plaza is easily the most recognizable building in all of Prince Rupert. It's the tallest building in the area which contributes to a pretty decent view all the way around. We got in late but the lady at the front desk was still entirely pleasant and helped us get set up for the weekend. She helped make some good recommendations on places to eat and things to do for our 2 days in PR.

Our rooms were tired-looking but the bathrooms had been beautifully redone. We took two rooms side by side spent some time just chilling on our balconies looking over the water and the rest of the town.

Overall it was affordable, close to most everything (it's a small town), and had an excellent view of the festivities "downtown" on a friday night. Remember to go to the thumping place :D

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up! Great view of the water and generally all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Traveller_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 815 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing