We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro or is it vintage?”
Review of Totem Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Totem Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Retro or is it vintage?”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arrived off the BC Ferry from Port Hardy around 11pm and what a lovely feel. A large bed, a large room and the best turquoise-themed kitchenette I have come across. The worktop, fridge and stove were all the same turquoise which somehow beat any ultra-modern design hands-down. Didn't have time to use the kitchen but it still made my day.
We had a corner room with two windows overlooking the large parking area - the black out curtains worked well to cut out the bright lights.
The furnishings were ready for updating but I would still come back here to stay - especially if I was here for a few days.

We left 06:30 the following morning but the breakfast was simple, fresh and there!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MQandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
28
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Looking for a quiet, safe, clean, and the most friendly enviorment in the country come stay at the Todem Lodge. When was the last time you stayed at a motel/hotel, and went to sleep feeling comfortable safe and content with your sourroundings? This was my experience right from the moment entering the building, greetings from the family pets that live there, the wonderful muffins and coffee for breakfast and the generous amount of pillows on the bed were great, our stay was wonderful thanks James and Jill for welcoming us to the "comfort Zone"

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

I stay here regularly on work travel. While an older motel, it is always clean and well maintained. The rooms are huge. This is a real bonus when staying often or for a few days in a row. They are not kitchenettes, they are kitchens. Full size stoves and fridges, big tables and chairs,tv lazy boy chair.
It is quite simply, a place to go "home" to after work. The managers and staff are a delight!! I am always welcomed warmly, any request I have ever made has been accommodated with a smile. The lobby is a welcoming space to chat with the travellers who seem to come from all over. I love sitting and having a cuppa and talking with people who have Stayed here for years or who have made their first stop here.
Big opening windows, decent beds, quiet, and a welcoming smile! What more could a business traveller want? Oh yes, did I mention the very reasonable rates?

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank terracebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is a little old, they are remodeling as they go....but you don’t notice it.
Owners more than make up for what little it lacks, just traveled 4000 miles driving and they were the ones that bent over backwards to make sure I was comfortable.
internet had to be the easiest I have ever hooked up to.
Will definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The staff were very accomodating and friendly but we had to cancel a reservation because of the number of pets at this establishment. They weren't able to supply a room that hadn't had a pet in it which won't work for someone with allergies.

However it's centrally located, easy to access, and the folks were nice. The decor is dated and the rooms a flash back to the 80's but it's priced accordingly. If a pet friendly place is for you...this may be it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked based on location, and outside pictures... and the fact this is an AAA rated hotel.. but... it was VERY rundown.. and worn, and OLD. That being said, the room itself was clean, and we stayed, and some places in Prince Rupert looked worse! But it was not what we expected.. or paid for...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trigger019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

As the others, stayed here because it is very close to the ferry (where you may come in late and have to leave quite early). Room was clean, had a nice kitchenette and the counter people were very friendly. They aren't open all night but they do stay open until reservations show up when the ferry is coming in late.

For the disabled, there are about 10 steps to get up to get to the lobby, and then a few more steps from the lobby to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Lodge Motel

Property: Totem Lodge Motel
Address: 1335 Park Ave, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totem Lodge offers comfort, quality and value. We are located only minutes from downtown Prince Rupert and from the BC and Alaska Ferry terminals. Totem Lodge features kitchenettes in most of its 31 rooms and a completely smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Totem Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing