We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noone Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noone Home”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were reserved to stay here for one night and had notified both by email and by phone that we would be arriving around 8PM. We were scheduled to get on a ferry very early the next morning so were looking forward to getting a good, if short, night's sleep. On arrival the door was locked and noone answered the intercom. A guest let us in when he heard us knocking on the window. We then used the house phone multiple times to call the both the cell and main number listed with no luck. The guest who let us in suggested we look around to 'find an empty room'. We found the room we had reserved and it was NOTHING close to what had been advertised. Instead of a private downstairs, non-smoking apartment, we found a kitchen and common area which led to a bedroom room and a bunk room. The bunk room had someone sleeping in it and was thick with smoke. We were traveling with our 3 year old and did not that it would be safe so left. Someone finally returned our call about 3 hours later saying we could come to check in! By this time we were asleep (so the call woke us up) at another hotel. To their (little) credit, the did agree not to charge me a no-show (to date no charge on my credit card statement from them so I assume this will remain true).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    29
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
17
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with another couple while waiting to catch the ferry to Skidegate. The apartment is newly redone and comes with a full kitchen and two bathrooms. The staff were friendly and accommodating of pur very late arrhival time. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Prince Rupert

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viwordlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The wife half of the couple who runs this place is one nasty piece of work who wouldn't put my prize fish catch in their large , empty deep freezer as she claimed it "is only for commercial catch:" , while her husband had no problem putting it there. When I asked her why, she threatened to throw me out. Not to mention, they allow guests in at 5am with hyper kids running around and screaming with no respect for other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in one of the new two bedroom apartments. Everything is new and comfortable, clean and spacious. Other than street noise the place was excellent, would definately recommend it. We fished when we were there and attained access to the on site freezer to help with the fish every night.

Room Tip: For larger groups the 2 bedroom apartments are excellent. Choose the lower level as the stairs and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at. Very nice facilities, including wonderful showers and a pleasant deck full of flowers in front. It appears they are expanding and will have more private rooms in the future. Less than a 5 minute walk to a grocery store, restaurants and coffee shops. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyJohn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port vila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our BC tour and it was a gem find! We had a cosy basement room with a super comfortable bed and plush furnishings. All amenities were available including a great coin operated laundry and a huge downstairs kitchen fully equipped for cheap and easy home dining. The location was quiet and safe and within walking distance of the town and harbour. All in all this was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebellePortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a wonderful and very well priced private room with an ensuite too! It was furnished like a hotel, not a hostel, with a fridge, TV, desk, but at hostel prices. The place was very quiet. The only drawback was the messy (but clean) and under supplied kitchen - there were very few bowls and no oven trays.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Prince Rupert
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rooster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rooster Guesthouse

Property: Black Rooster Guesthouse
Address: 501 6th Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1Z7, Canada (Formerly Black Rooster RoadHouse)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Rooster Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rooster Roadhouse is a traveler's paradise: comfortable lodging at an affordable price. We are minutes walk from downtown, college, hospital, golf and swimming. Our high standard accommodation and uniquely designed building is sure to please. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Black Rooster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing