We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free laundry soap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Downey, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Free laundry soap!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great, clean, spacious budget accommodation. Fully equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer (free laundry soap), helpful staff. Stayed here twice - five nights total. Staff recommendations for restaurants were perfect. Walk to town is very doable. Great computer and wifi access in shared space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    33
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
20
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Quebec.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

we,ve been for a night and it was a perfect one. first of all, the place is very very clean. we had a 2 rooms appartement which was brand new renovated with all new furnitures. We,ve been welcome very well with a nice smile. Acces to town is very easy by walking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dan_gau0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyder, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I will definitely stay here again. The staff is super helpful and everyone I encountered from the reception to the girl painting the hallway was polite and kind. I came with my large truck and a trailer to park, and two men came out immediately to assist me in putting the trailer in a good spot in their parking lot. The decor inside is modern and comfortable. Thick towels, nice comforters and blankets, and a cute balcony from a queen room with ensuite washroom. Excellent value. Don't let the low rate mislead you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RilkesNotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Very accomidating. Appreciated the great service, will definately stay again. friendly staff, i reccomend the blackrooster for anyone travelling to prince rupert. The private queen was very confortable and spatious.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in a queen room, private bath. Awesome facilities, picked us up at the train. Had full use of the kitchen,felt safe, apparent the owners/caretakers genuinely care about the location. Myself and two daughters, leisure trip, will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were very pleased with the Black Rooster: the room was clean, our beds were comfortable, the staff responsive to need, and the kitchen facilities (and rules for using the fridge) made it convenient and saved us restaurant costs. The lounge has very comfortable leather sofas and contemporary decor and the kitchen has a table and chairs at either end, so that more than one guest group can eat at the same time. There is ample parking and the wi-fi internet is good.

The location is perfect - on a hill overlooking downtown with a nice short walk to park area and an easy drive to the ferry. My only wish is that the door knobs on our room and the upstairs bathrooms be replaced soon.

Room Tip: Depending on the day, you might want an upper-level floor, as guests taking the Inside Passage ferry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Brushy_Ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very clean apartmant, comfortable, walking distance to downtown and shops. Quite area. We had to shorten our stay here due to ferry timetable and availability( catching BC ferry to port hardy) after we checked in and paid, and owners were aggreable to give us a refund which was a pleasant suprise. I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
#1 of 9 in Prince Rupert
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rooster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rooster Guesthouse

Property: Black Rooster Guesthouse
Address: 501 6th Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1Z7, Canada (Formerly Black Rooster RoadHouse)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Rooster Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rooster Roadhouse is a traveler's paradise: comfortable lodging at an affordable price. We are minutes walk from downtown, college, hospital, golf and swimming. Our high standard accommodation and uniquely designed building is sure to please. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Rooster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing