We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Zorbas Taverna

Zorbas Taverna
Cuisines: Pizza, Greek, Mediterranean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was visitting my best friend in Prince Rupert and we decided to order take out from this restaurant. Yes, it took a while to arrive but it was so worth it. I have a seafood allergy and they took extra care to keep me safe. I ordered the chicken souvlaki and greek salad and it was simply outstanding. I love greek food and have it often but I've never had anything as good as this, even in Greece! When it was delivered, he told me he made everything from scratch hence the delay. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not very Greek, perhaps should stick to curries.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The impression that I got was that someone from the Indian subcontinent bought the restaurant and that there was no money to remodel from its Greek style decor. . Not finding any Moussakia ,or anything Greek ( selections limited and more toward curries ) attractive, I opted for a New York steak. I would have liked the roasted Greek style potatoes , but they were out of that, so presented me with a baked potato ( no butter , had to ask ). The steak was terrible, tough and tasteless ." Greek style salad " was tiny. Service was very slow, even though there was only one other table being served. Very expensive for what I got. Don't bother to eat there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not eat here”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a long day of traveling I stopped here for takeout because it was close to my hotel. Huge mistake! The food was way over priced, of poor quality (Caesar salad is revolting) and the staff were careless and rude.
After giving them a $5 tip on a $25 bill (delirious from hunger!) they still couldn't be bothered to up their service standards.
I visit PR often through work and I will never eat here again. I strongly advise you do the same. There are many great food options in PR, I strongly recommend you avoid Zorba's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChadBC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth The Wait”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a Greek restaurant that clearly needs to do take-out orders only! We went here as a family recently and waited over one hour for our food. The poor waitress was awesome while being run off her feet with answering the phone. We were only one of three waiting a very long time. When the food arrived it was clearly tired! Won't be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moussaka needed!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

very good food, however there was no moussaka or baklava!!! very good service... surroundings.. unique!?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zorbas Taverna also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 

Been to Zorbas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing