We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to par for a Prestige Resort Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rossland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not up to par for a Prestige Resort Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is overpriced for what you get. We stayed only one night of four that we booked. Our room was dark and dreary, and the kitchenette was not clean. The bathroom was clean unless you looked up at the ceiling. The check in process was not as simple as it should have been; my husband went inside to check us in and wasn't "allowed" to because I made the reservation. He found front desk staff to be abrupt and unwelcoming. When my concerns were voiced upon our early check out they were met with disbelief and excuses. Having lived in Rossland previously we were incredibly disappointed and won't return to this Prestige Resort. We spent the remainder of our trip at the Bet Western in Trail.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
I apologize that your stay was below our normally high standards. It is unfortunate that your check-in was not as smooth as we like to ensure but we take our guests’ credit card security very seriously. Our whole team appreciates your feedback and we are addressing your concerns with housekeeping and guest service with due diligence. I will be sending you a private message to further address your concerns. We are always striving to exceed our guests’ expectations and we take it very seriously when we have not done our job to our usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    65
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
31
53
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We are a couple who stayed here for a skiing trip for few days from New Year's Eve.

The rooms are compact but very well appointed and clean. They are well proportioned and do not suffer from the boxy generic feel of a lot of big brand hotels. Nice big TV with fridge and all of the other modern comforts. Large comfortable bed. The common parts of the hotel are modern, clean, spacious and nicely decorated. There is a nice looking restaurant with views of the valley and a comfortable pub/bar with plenty of beer choices available and TVs to keep you distracted. There is also a nice coffee shop which is affiliated with another popular local coffee shop.

My only minor criticism is that the lift is antiquated and not in keeping with the rest of the hotels facilities.

The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful, sorting out a few administrative booking issues without bothering us about unnecessary detail.

This hotel offers big city service and quality with a elegant hint of mountain personality in the small and beautiful town of Rossland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_randomno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for the compliments and sharing your recent experience with us in Rossland. We are pleased you enjoyed your accomodation and the amenities offered at the Resort. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team of hospitality professionals. They are always striving to make every guests' experience exceed their expectations. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Prestige Mountain Resort is one of the few hotels you'll find in sleepy Rossland, BC. It is well located in the midst of the downtown area and just a few minutes away from Red Mountain ski resort. However, location is one of its few redeeming qualities.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by a socially awkward, unhelpful, and unprepared front desk manager. He directed us to the parking garage, which is around the block from the hotel and not easy to find at night. Although our trip was during the Christmas holiday season, we were surprised that all of the hotel's restaurants and cafes were completely closed. When we showed up for a continental breakfast that the night manager mentioned would be available the morning after our arrival, the day manager thought we were insane (and did not keep those thoughts to herself).

The room was small and it was clear that the architect was attempting to get as many rooms into the building as possible, but this hardly seems an important effort since there were very few people in the place throughout our entire stay. (It actually seemed a lot like the hotel in The Shining). Food-wise, the coffee shop finally opened on the 27th an hour and a half late; the worker had not prepared the cinnamon buns yet and justified her inability to remember our orders for more than 30 seconds because she was "still waking up". We honestly thought she was going to yawn and pick an eye booger out of her lid. This was just one example of the poor service that we experienced during the entire trip.

It was warm and relatively quiet in the room, but I can't say that it was clean. Housekeeping had taken out the trash but had not made the bed, had not replaced the dirty glasses left in the room, and had not cleaned the bathroom. When we reported the problem, the front desk clerk didn't apologize or display any enthusiasm to remedy the issue.

In fact, when we reported any issue, the hotel staff not only failed to address the issues promptly and courteously, but offered excuses for the poor service. E.g: we were told we did not receive housekeeping service because we left a few items of clothing on the bed. Huh?!?

In the end, this hotel gets one star for location. I would advise future visitors to simply spend less to book the random motel beside the gas station, as they would likely get the same service for a steep discount.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunintheSun_7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us last year. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to report that many of the issues you experienced have already been resolved. It is unfortunate that you were uncomfortable accessing our covered parking that is located on our property beneath our hotel, but you can be assured that we have security measures in place and we have never had any security issues. Our staff of hospitality professionals are continually upgrading their knowledge and skills to ensure all our guests have a superior experience. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return and see all our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

After spending 4 months at the Prestige Mountain Resort I certainly had a lot of time to enjoy
the wonderful staff and enjoy the most authentic Italian dinners.
Major construction of the complete upgrade of the main street in Rossland, didn't lessen the enjoyment of all the wonderful trails and hiking and just meeting the wonderfully friendly people of Rossland.
I can't thank the staff especially Lori and Mike for the friendly professional service that went way beyond most hotels I've stayed at. I felt pampered everyday.
Our suite was tastefully and comfortable appointed and the housekeeping staff kept them spotless.
Needless to say when I HAD to finally return to the real world and leave my little paradise it was with tears, but the memories are there for a lifetime.
Thank you ALL at the Prestige Mountain Resort, Rossland BC

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Lori and her team thank you for all your kind comments. it was truly their pleasure to have you as a guest. They take pride in the ammenities of the hotel and the activities available in Rossland that are offered all types of travelers. I hope that you will have the opportunity to return and let them pamper you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Prestige hotel in Rossland. My corner room was cozy, clean and welcoming. Enjoyed dinner on the back patio with the mountains behind us. There is major street construction out front, but this temporary (ending this Fall?) and will undoubtedly look great when complete. During construction it might be nice to be on the back-side of the hotel as I was.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
I am happy to report that the City of Rossland is doing the finishing touches of landscaping on the street improvement project and its looking great. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of the magnificent view offered from the Gold Town Dining patio. It will be wonderful to have you back to see the Rossland all shined up following the project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed one night in August on a business trip. Room was great, I had a King suite so probably not the cheapest but very comfortable and reasonable value for that. Service was friendly and helpful at check-in and checkout. We had dinner on the restaurant deck, which was a good location and not too crowded. Food was good quality and reasonably priced. My colleagues enjoyed their lamb and ribs and my steak was adequate. Apparently the Exec Chef was on vacation which might have been part of it. Wine list was short but they had some good quality wines there. The bar inside was comfortable as well.
Good location for driving through, but it is a $100 cab ride from Castlegar so don't be thinking of staying there if you are flying out of Castlegar and you don't have your own transport.
At the time of our visit the main street was ripped up. It will be great when it is finished, but it is a little awkward right now. No breakfast at the hotel in the morning, although I suspect the cafe was turned off because of the road works (not sure - ask if it is a concern). Nice enough breakfast at a little coffee bar down the street. I would have remembered the name if the service had been a little quicker!
Yes, I'd stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience in Rossland. I am pleased you enjoyed your King Suite and the great view from the Gold Town Dining patio. We are looking forward to the completion of all the improvements that are happening in Rossland and in September our cappuccino bistro will re-open. We look forward to having you back to enjoy it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and have always been happy with the service and accomodations. Rossland is a small ski resort community and although it is only 10 minutes out of Trail you would think you had travelled much longer to enjoy the lovely small town atmosphere, the mountains and location. This time I booked rooms for 6 individuals from various parts of Canada in for a meeting with one of our larger clients in the area. We decided to hold our meetings at this the Prestige as well as our lunch and dinner. Lori who is the AGM and her staff went out of her way on several occasions to make sure we were happy with the arrangements, and that we had all the material needed for our meetings. The food was excellent, both the catered lunch as well as the dinner in the restaurant. The rooms are nicely laid out and very clean, nice flat screen TV's and windows that open! We came just after ski season so the town was very quiet which was just fine for our purpose. This hotel also has a lovely deck out back and the weather was nice enough that we could enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery. I commend the staff for an excellent attention to detail and overall service.

Room Tip: Views are good from both sides of the hotel. Take a stroll down the main street in Rossland some ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinR2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
It will be my pleasure to share your comments with Lori and her staff. Thank you for posting your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossland
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
2.2 mi away
Red Mountain Village
Red Mountain Village
#2 of 4 in Rossland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Rossland Motel
Rossland Motel
#3 of 4 in Rossland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ram's Head Inn
Ram's Head Inn
#3 of 6 in Rossland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland

Property: Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
Address: 1919 Columbia Avenue | Box 1958, Rossland, British Columbia V0G 1Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Rossland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rossland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in beautiful Rossland BC and only minutes from some of BC's best golf terrain, our full service resort features exquisite deluxe rooms and designer suites. Onsite features include restaurant, lounge, cappuccino bistro, fitness centre, indoor hot tub, and sauna. Lifestyle and getaway packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Mountain Hotel Rossland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing