We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of Heaven on Salt Spring Island”
Review of Salt Spring Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salt Spring Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven on Salt Spring Island”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I regularly stay and eat here as I own and operate a business on the Island with an office also in Victoria. The rooms while small are perfectly designed and finished with small flat screen TVs, beautifully finished and functional bathrooms and the most comfortable beds on planet earth. There are also natural gas fireplaces in the rooms along with some nice local art/prints on the wall. Nice wainscoting on the walls with views of Ganges and the harbor from the front rooms. The location is perfectly situated in the heart of Ganges and right beside my office. The service is always most professional, friendly and attentive. Owners Jeremy and Barry are always on site showing pride of ownership and passion for the operation. The man behind the bar, Tom is also excellent and personable. The restaurant and bar are situated in a beautifully renovated room with a wonderful patio area out front for seating in the summer. Food is fantastic here and in my opinion, the best on the Island. The menu is excellent and varied. I've had close to everything on the lunch and dinner menu and have not had a bad meal here. Some of the bests include the calamari, stuffed mushrooms, prime rib, fried chicken, death by chocolate and lasagna. The jambalaya is beyond compare and easily the best I've ever had. Ditto for the calamari. Prices are generally pretty reasonable and portions are big. The room prices also provide excellent value. Rita the cat adds a nice touch as well -- very friendly and welcoming! All in all, this place is a whole lotta awesome! Easily one of my favorite places anywhere to eat and stay.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front rooms with its own bathroom and shower, #3 is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    28
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
59
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was a great choice of a place to stay for my son and myself. We got two rooms for a very reasonable rate, and although they were small, they were well designed... everything was attractive and in just the right place. The Inn was a friendly place; clean, well-located in central Ganges, and to top it off, offered a very decent breakfast, lunch and dinner. I'd highly recommend it for a pleasant, affordable stay. I should add that we left something behind and after a quick phone call, the Innkeeper sent it immediately via courier. Excellent service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here because the price was amazing. Coincidentally, it was less than a block and just around the corner from where I had business to do. Furthermore, immediately upon checking in, I met the house cat calmly lounging on top of the check-in desk. What a way to set a tone! The co-owner of the property checked me in and I went up to my SPOTLESS and comfortable room. Though I had a room with a shared bathroom that was down the hall, even that was SPOTLESS. I wandered about town a little bit (which was JUST across the street) but a couple of people told me the food at the hotel restaurant was great. Sure enough, it was. I ended my night early because I was tired. The co-owner told me it was "the most comfortable" bed - that had me a bit skeptical but sure enough, it was. He was not exagerating! I fell asleep early, something I NEVER can do in a hotel, even when I'm exhausted! I had to check out super early to catch the ferry and was disappointed I needed to leave my extremely comfortable stay. When I return, if the same owners are in business, I plan to stay at this property again.

Room Tip: I was not able to select my room and come to think of it, I had the last room. There are rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you can't judge the character of this establishment by Rita, the adopted Inn Cat sleeping curled up in her little cat bed on the check in counter, I suggest you might want to look elsewhere because if that doesn't warm your heart, nothing will.

I have stayed here twice now while on the road with a ballet company and have nothing but good things to say. The rooms are small, to be sure, and while at first, the idea of having to share a bathroom and shower may sound off putting, keep in mind that only four of the seven rooms are like this, so the chances of actually having to wait your turn are minimal. I was a bit confused, however, as to why there were separate men's and women's showers and bathrooms, could not each be "unisex"?

Regardless, the place is impeccably clean, I can't remember ever staying in a cleaner hotel. The staff are friendly and Jeremy is the ultimate host happy to suggest meal ideas and looking every bit the proud Innkeeper. It's a level of service that sadly one rarely sees anymore.

I can see how parking might be a bit of an issue in the height of the summer tourist season, but I can't see how you'd ever have problems parking more than a few minutes away.

Overall, highly recommended and I am really looking forward to our next visit.

J\

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazarus2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great stay! Attended a textile course on Salt Spring and the SS Inn was one of the accommodation choices. Jeremy and staff made our stay fabulous. Great room with private bath, newly renovated and well appointed. Loved "Ruth", the dining room (including great Saturday evening tunes courtesy of the Barley Brothers). Jeremy's attention to detail including treating us to wonderful appetizers + whatever we needed in our rooms to make our 'retreat' really special (wine glasses, etc.!!).
Located in the heart of Ganges with loads of shopping & stores, coffee shops, theatre, banks and services outside the doors.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenofMyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Salt Spring Inn for a couple of nights; it was a great little hotel in the heart of town. The rooms are small but remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. It was nice to be able to walk to the shops, the market and the pier. We also enjoyed driving around the island. We found the staff to be very friendly and also enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant (not included with the room charge).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mec456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limbo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The room was clean and well kept. The location was great. The staff were always friendly and pleasant. Nice view of the hills. Showers kept clean but not en-suite and no wardrobe or hangers. A good nights sleep and little noise from the Inn downstaires or other guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardo_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Spring Inn

Property: Salt Spring Inn
Address: 132 Lower Ganges Road, British Columbia V8K 2S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Spring Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Salt Spring’s finest restaurants & inns. The restaurant serves globally inspired cuisine made with locally harvested foods (Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch & dinner). The Inn's seven cozy rooms situates guests in the heart of Salt Spring Island, BC - walking distance to galleries, shops, marinas, the seaside boardwalk and the famous Saturday Outdoor Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Salt Spring Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Spring Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing