We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, inexpensive and yet luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Spring Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Spring Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, inexpensive and yet luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Loved this charming hotel. I had one of the rooms which did not have a private bathroom, so had to use shared bathroom facilities, but the shared facilities were lovely and it was not a problem. My room was small but very efficient and had everything I could want, including a sink/mirror, hair dryer, great lighting, TV, comfy bed...all very recently updated, so everything is modern, attractive and impeccably clean. Management and staff were friendly, gracious and efficient. Restaurant has wonderful food including gluten-free options. Nice deck off the restaurant with beautiful view of harbour across the street. I sat on the deck in a comfy chair with a book and a glass of wine, until 10 pm - bliss! Great location surrounded by unique shops. My only concerns: with the window open traffic noise was quite loud, but it didn't stop me from getting a great night's sleep. The weather during my stay was moderate so I was very comfortable during the night, but it was quite warm in the late afternoon and I got the impression that in the summer it could be hot, and there is no air conditioning in the room (apparently that's standard for most hotels in this area). There was a small fan, though, and that may be sufficient because the window is large and cool air comes from the harbour. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you Nancy, we really appreciate your taking time to write such an extensive review.
We certainly like to be appreciated and hope to see you on your next visit to our great island.
Kind regards, Jeremy Rita says "hi", too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    28
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
57
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I spent four very enjoyable days at the Salt Spring Inn This charming little hotel has a lot going for it.....comfy beds, fluffy towels (major hotel chains take note!), an atmospheric restaurant with well-cooked food and friendly staff, a fab. location by the harbour and seaplane dock, a congenial host, Jeremy, and last but not least...there's Rita, the hotel cat! As a cat lover. I really enjoyed her company. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello, and thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. Rita gets another "Temptation" for her part, too!
We hope that you will visit us again, especially in Summer, you'll love it even more!
Jeremy and Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quite a cozy room. Really nice and helpful staff. The restaurant and bar had excellent food and service. Great vibe!

We took one of the deluxe rooms. That fireplace heated up the room almost instantly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M580RGJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
A big "Thank You", for your taking time to pass on your ever so positive thoughts. I will ensure that our staff knows the value of their dedication.
We hope to see you on our beautiful island again, please do visit us at Salt Spring Inn.
Kind regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I recently stayed at the Salt Spring Inn in Ganges. It was a fabulous and comfortable get-away! We were welcomed by our friendly host (Jeremy) who directed us to our well appointed rooms on the second floor. Our rooms were recently renovated, very well-kept, had very comfortable beds and bedding, a cozy gas fireplace and very up-to-date clean bathrooms.
We enjoyed the meal conveniently within the inn. The hospitality was genuine and welcoming. We have decided this is the first of our annual visits to Ganges and the well-located Salt Spring Inn!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello and Thank you! It is always great to hear back from a happy guest and even more when you want to visit again. I will pass on your words to staff as they appreciate being appreciated!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to salt Spring Island. Regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I sailed a small boat to Salt Spring Island from Vancouver and ended up coming in very late and exhausted. Jeremy was very accommodating and we got a great sleep. We were impressed with the place. Very clean, brand new bathroom and showers. Cute old building. And a perfect location right by the water. Will definitely stay here again next time we sail to Ganges.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NolandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you, Noland. We are all pleased that we were able to make your stay so comfortable after that many cold hours on the water.
Your feedback is very comforting, hope that you sail in again, hopefully in warmer times.
Regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights on a whim well heading to Victoria and was delighted with the level of hospitality. I received a warm welcome with a pin of beer as a walked in from a a late stormy fairy ride and was promptly set up in a nicely renovated room right in the heart of Ganges. In addition, I received a ride to the Victoria Budget Car as the owner was on route to Seattle. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay well exploring Salt Spring Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello John,
Thank you. It was great to be in the right place for you on that stormy night and were able to provide a dry and comfortable place for you. We hope that you have continued "happy adventures" and that you will visit us again.
Thank you, again for providing your comments, most appreciated. Cheers, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights. It was such a wonderful experience. Nice appointed room, had their amazing ribs for dinner with wonderful and accommodating staff. My mini vacation is so unforgettable. Will surely be back.

Room Tip: The room with its own bathroom is really nice. If you are on a budget their room with shared bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rikkeygarcia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello, and thank you for your taking the time to provide your feedback. I remember you saying that you work in the same industry so your comments are very reassuring. I hope that you will visit Salt Spring Island again and have a chance to drop by or stay with us again. Regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Spring Inn

Property: Salt Spring Inn
Address: 132 Lower Ganges Road, British Columbia V8K 2S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Spring Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Salt Spring’s finest restaurants & inns. The restaurant serves globally inspired cuisine made with locally harvested foods (Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch & dinner). The Inn's seven cozy rooms situates guests in the heart of Salt Spring Island, BC - walking distance to galleries, shops, marinas, the seaside boardwalk and the famous Saturday Outdoor Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Salt Spring Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Spring Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing