We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most restful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cusheon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the resort in early September just after labour day. We had been to Salt Spring Island many times before but this was our first time at the Cusheon Lake Resort. When we arrived we met with Tom one of the owners who was friendly and helpful. To our surprise we were upgraded to a lakeside cabin (#3) from our original cabin (#10) which was located more inland.
To say we were happy with the cabin, location, grounds and amenities would be an understatement! This place is just great for a quiet, serene getaway from the trials of life!
We were impressed that Tom would come by each evening and replenish our wood box on the cabin porch. The fireplace was a crowning touch on our evenings.
Cabin #3 was right beside a small beach access where you could swim out to a float (the water was still quite warm - once you get in!). There were multiple canoes for our use as well. The hot tub was greatly appreciated after our swim.
I did read that there were a couple (2) complaints in the Trip Advisor reviews for this resort. I was wondering if these people were staying at the same place! I could fault nothing about how we were greeted, treated or the condition and cleanliness of our cabin!
Tom & Judy - Thank you for a wonderful time at your wonderful resort!

Tom & Trish - Cabin #3 Sept 3rd to 10th, 2013.

Room Tip: Were the whole resort was peaceful and picturesque, I would suggest that cabins 1 to 4 have the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukeoukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

How delightful to read your review of Cusheon Lake Resort. We are so pleased that you found everything clean and in good condition as that is very important to us, our housekeeping and maintenance staff and, of course, all of our guests. We love to greet guests as they arrive and to visit with them throughout their stay. Though most of all we are happy to know that the time you spent here was just the away you were ready for from day to day life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Summer wouldn't be complete without making it to Cusheon Lake Resort for at least a long weekend...

The accommodations are sweet and simple log cabins. They are clean, well equipped, comfortable, private and quiet & they now have wi-fi :) Cusheon Lake Resort seems to appeal to the nicest people...crossing paths in common areas (docks, BBQs, hot tub, grassy areas) is always pleasant. Now, the lake...it is the BEST! Warm, small, protected, surrounded by trees and grasses. The whole experience of being at this resort on this precious lake slows one down and refreshes ones soul.

I started going to Cusheon Lake Resort for a couple of days a year to join friends who were there for 2 weeks every summer, and now that I have my own family we make sure we at least squeeze in a long weekend each summer, but ideally longer :)

I whole heartedly recommend Cusheon Lake Resort for your next stay on Salt Spring Island!

Room Tip: Let Judy and Tom know if you have any preferences....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheVanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for pointing out the qualities that you appreciate at Cusheon Lake Resort. Cleanliness and up to date maintenance are very important to us.

And, Cusheon Lake is absolutely the BEST - clean, clear water still warm enough in September for a silky and comfortable swim to refresh body and soul! The trees and lush vegetation around the lake contribute to every person's outdoor experience as well as to the quality of the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ok I admit we are addicted. We are on our 4th stay this coming long weekend since the Spring.
Our kids love the freedom to just run free and we feel it us a great place to let them loose.
They always seem to find other kids to connect with and we enjoy meeting new friends too.
Judy and Tom are amazing hosts and have been very helpful.
The cabins are spotless.
This is not a fancy resort with lots of expensive bells and whistles, but for our money it is far superior to such places. We like how natural and quiet it is on the lake and being able to take out a canoe and watch the beavers swim by.
Our kids rate it 10 out of 10! So do we.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred7777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

It is easy to be great hosts when we are surrounded by such wonderful guests. It is true that Cusheon Lake Resort provides a safe and secure outdoor environment for children just to be outside playing, especially as it occupies the tip of a peninsula. There are quite a few children staying at the resort this weekend and we have seen lots of gathering out on the raft, warming up in the hot tub and games of hide 'n' seek. We look forward to welcoming you many more times as the years go by. And thanks for the BIG 10 out of 10, kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed five nights at Cusheon Lake Resort. Our cabin was right at the little beach on the lake. We both really liked that there were no motors allowed on the lake, just canoes, kayaks and paddle boards. The cabin itself was fine. The only criticism we have is that, if you were grilling anything in the oven, the smoke detector would go off almost whenever the oven door was opened. This happened once and we told the manager, who suggested we turn the fan over the stove on. We did this, but it didn't solve the problem, nor did leaving the doors open; so for a couple of dinners we had to resort to covering the detector with a plastic bag so we could get some peace. Propane bar-b-ques on the decks would be a good idea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

The peace and tranquility of a lake free from motor boats is something we all cherish about Cusheon Lake Resort. We apologize for the smoke detectors. We did put in range-hoods with fans to alleviate that problem. Obviously, we need to go back to the drawing board. We will replace the smoke detectors with new more modern ones that have the hush button feature, so hopefully, you will be able to both cook and canoe peacefully during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage overlooking the lake - very pretty! The cabin is very well kept and perfectly clean. Decor is not new, but all well cared for. Our daughters enjoyed the host's dogs and we had a very happy time paddling in the lake on their canoes. There is a swing set for younger children and lots of space forand playing. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace in the cabin too. It would be a great destination for two or more families to meet for a weekend of fun. We ate a couple of times at Rock Salt Restaurant on Fulford harbour, but you would also have everything that you need for cooking meals. Great get-away spot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Great to read your review for Cusheon Lake Resort. The canoes are usually in use all year round, as the lake rarely freezes. Five of the cabins received new kitchen and bathroom cabinets, counter-tops and sinks and two were completely re-floored this past year. Each year, we continue to update the fixtures and furniture in some of the cabins, so next time you stay you may be pleased to find pleasant upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at one of the one bedroom cabins and was very impressed - it was much nicer than I was expecting. This resort, for me, was the perfect weekend getaway, with a great location, very quiet and relaxing for me to unwind, and the managers were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and I hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satisfiedcustomer112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

As managers, we love the quiet too! Please let us know, by completing the 'resort review' on the Cusheon Lake Resort web site, if there is anything that can be done to make your next stay even better. Thank you for submitting a review and for recommending Cusheon Lake Resort to other folks who are looking for a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. Very clean and has all your basic necessities provided. Great place to re-boot! Friendly people to welcome you. Nice and close to down town. Beautiful view of lake and trees.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for reviewing Cusheon Lake Resort. So many potential guests we talk to now are taken by the reviews our guests have submitted. It is great that guests are able to let other people know what a wonderful place this really is...And the swimming in the lake is absolutely fabulous!!! This coming weekend is completely booked, but there is still availability during the week June 23 to 27 to book a cabin with the SPECIAL - 3 nights for the price of 2!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#8 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
24 reviews
6.8 mi away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Springs Resort
#21 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusheon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusheon Lake Resort

Address: 171 Natalie Lane, British Columbia V8K 2C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusheon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lakeside getaway, situated on a peninsula on the second largest lake on Salt Spring Island, Cusheon Lake Resort offers rustic, lake-view log cabins with modern amenities. The resort is just a short distance from the Island's main village of Ganges. There are 16 one and two bedroom cabins - all carefully maintained for your comfort and enjoyment. Each cabin is a private retreat with a lake view, large deck, wood-burning fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, digital cable television and dedicated WiFi. This four acre vacation getaway is surrounded by the lake on three sides, and maintains two docks, a swimming beach with a raft and a boat launch for lake access. Guests enjoy year-round fishing, the use of canoes, stand-up paddleboards, kayaks and the outdoor hot tub. Cusheon Lake Resort is a destination - for couples and families, or for group retreats, large family gatherings and weddings. Cusheon Lake Resort is pet friendly except for the busy summer months (Canada Day through Labour Day). Give Resident Managers, Glen & Andie, a call to book your Salt Spring getaway at Cusheon Lake Resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cusheon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing