We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barb's is a warm, welcoming, fragrant, delicious bake shop and eatery”

Barb's Bakery & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Barb's is a warm, welcoming, fragrant, delicious bake shop and eatery”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This place is all terra cotta and yummy goodness. Great coffee also and you must try the smoked salmon chowder with some fresh corn bread! Everyone around these parts love's Barb's. Only reason i don't give it 5 stars is that it's so busy sometimes that i've had some iffy service in there on occasion but i still love it anyway :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaltspringDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    61
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltspring Is.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Barb's is always filled with locals, a good sign that the food is great. Lots to choose from and always great. Servers very accommodating and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Really enjoyed our lunch of soup, salad, sandwiches and take-home baked goods. We found the service to be friendly, even though we arrived somewhat close to closing time. Only thing we were disappointed with was we were unable to have breakfast there on the Sunday of our stay since they were closed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goofers_Bubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“homemade type meal”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

we were there on a weekend and the breakfast was very tasty, but pricey. The staff were friendly, good service. Very casual atmosphere, the chairs were hard. The motel owner where we stayed had recommended the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port townsend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The" place for breakfast”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Wow! What a meal and the coffee and bakery items are to die for. Wait staff is enthusiastic. Many locals occupy the place and there is a general atmosphere of community and camaraderie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barb's Bakery & Bistro also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Barb's Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing