We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, location, and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property, location, and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed three nights at Hastings House recently and enjoyed it very much as a quiet escape from our daily tumult. We bought a Luxury Link package so my valuation of the stay is based on the price of the Luxury Link package and the fact that the hotel was nearly empty because of the dates of our stay. We actually felt like we mostly had the entire property to ourselves which was both wonderful and at times, slightly odd. The property itself is gorgeous, set right on a quiet cove a short walk from "downtown" where there are several shops, galleries, and restaurants. The property is an old farm and many of the buildings have a warm rustic British feel that's not easily found in the Pac NW. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed during our stay (we'd read many good things about it) but there are plenty of decent eateries in town. The service was fantastic and the GM, Kelly, went out of his way numerous times to make sure we enjoyed our stay, doing little things like making dining suggestions and then making reservations for us (fairly standard) to doing large things like providing a wake-up call and keeping the kitchen open for us for breakfast when we accidentally overslept. We also did a couple of spa treatments which were very nice but I would recommend being very prescriptive about how you like your massages as I had hoped for more of a deep tissue massage and less of a Swedish massage. Our hillside cottage was also nice with heated floors, a large bathroom, and a fireplace. We're considering returning during the summer but the only issue is that it's over 5 hours (2+ hrs driving and a 3 hr ferry that only runs 2x per day) away from Seattle and we can likely find similar properties closer. Normal summer rates might also sway our decision.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. Opportunities to do the little extra things for guests to make their stay special is what makes leading the team at Hastings House so enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.
Thanks again
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
131
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We took a side trip to Salt Spring and stayed at Hastings House for a night on New Year's Day. A brief stay, yes, but this lovely inn and our extremely welcoming host Kelly made our time there very memorable. The room (Laurel Hillside Suite) was toasty and welcoming on a damp, rainy afternoon with under floor heating and a gas fireplace.
Our view overlooked the tiny harbour through massive and fragrant cedar trees. Afternoon tea in the main hall around the cozy fireplace was a nice touch, as was a delicious breakfast featuring local preserves. I would like to thank Kelly for his fabulous hospitality. I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The Laurel Hillside Suite has a lovely view of the Harbour and a small little balcony. The king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. My staff and I enjoy so much giving each guest the individual attention that our small property allows us to. I like to think of it as not just serving clients but make new friends as we are lucky to have so many of our guests return again and again. 2013 was an excellent year for us and thanks to your kind words 2014 is starting out the same way. Thank you ever so much again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring.

Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We planned for a four day quiet get a way, instead they moved us to a noisy room just up the hill from a bar. All for their convenience! The room needed the floors and windows cleaned, the maid would only leave toiletries when asked, then only one bar of soap and one shampoo, no lotion or conditioner. The $25 daily resort fee is a joke, you get nothing for it, thus the rate of $420 per night is outlandish! Relais Chauteau should be embarrassed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We are very sad to hear your comments however we have reviewed our reservation system and we are unable to find a corresponding reservation using the details you have described and we have discussed the matter with our staff and they can't recall any such incidents. As General Manager, I have the pleasure of talking to each and every guest each morning of their stay at breakfast and each afternoon at tea and was not made aware of any such issues when talking to any of our guests. As any hospitality professional is interested in providing the best possible experience for each and every guest I would advise you to discuss any concerns with your hosts while you are staying as we all would like to rectify any deficiencies immediately.
It is because our inability to verify any of the information in your review that we have asked Tripadvisor to remove your comments as we strive to have nothing but absolutely legitimate reviews through Tripadvisor in order for our guests to have a clear understanding of the experience they should expect.

Regards
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I came for one night in December. We stayed in the Farmhouse, which had excellent views and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. The service was excellent. Afternoon tea was delicious and had a great cozy, Christmassy ambience. We treated ourselves to massages at the spa, which was a the perfect way to relax. Waking up to hot muffins delivered to your door is definitely a nice little treat.

The grounds have a nice walking trail through 22 acres of english style countryside. It is also a short 10 minute walk into Ganges, which was convenient for exploring the area and grabbing snacks/food.

We would highly recommend visiting in the winter as their winter package makes it a much more affordable splurge compared to the summer rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmbrietzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay recently. We stayed in a the Greenhouse suite and it was quite nice. If you are looking for modern perfection in a resort stay, you should look else where. However if you enjoy the century old construction, fantastic service, quaint garden and grounds, and the short 10 min stroll to historic village of Ganges, then this is the place for you.

The summer pricing is expensive and the hotel was sold out, so we came during the off season and had the place to ourselves. We found out later that they only started taking guests a few years ago in the winter. So I guess it hasn't quite caught on yet. The hotel restaurant wasn't open for dinner which was disappointing but breakfast and afternoon tea was included with our stay.

We will definitely try to make our way back here eventually. Highly recommend for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsh Lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Charming personal Service, sound sleep, delightful breakfasts, warm and comforting ambiance, authentic English architecture, fireplaces to warm the hearts of the coldest souls. A top 3 destination for us.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor suite within the Inn overlooking Oceanfront and Ganges Harbour. Lovely down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shad0w750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We love Salt Spring Island and it has always been a dream to stay at Hastings House. Now we have and it was fabulous. So much money- but for a splurge it is totally worth it. Hot baked muffins in the morning and an excellent breakfast in the dinning room each day. Non intrusive service when ever needed. AMAZING grounds (meadows, beach, wood trails, sitting areas with spectacular views) to enjoy with our dog. Very comfy accommodations (farmhouse east). Only thing was the wifi is hit and miss. Hope to stay there some day in the future, who knows- I'll check my lottery ticket again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Property: Hastings House Country House Hotel
Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing