We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends what you are looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wisteria Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Depends what you are looking for”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a very quaint B&B that reflects the feeling of the island. Yes, it is shabby, but the entire island is shabby (although anywhere else you would get the room itself for about $90 a night). While I liked the Wisteria quite a bit, it kind of sucks to pay a lot for a room that is pretty worn out and filled with thrift store finds (although cute). The breakfasts are gourmet and are pretty much 5 star - two courses! Although the food is delicious, the owner seemed very sensitive about whether you appeared at breakfast and whether you applied salt and pepper. I personally cannot eat a gourmet two course breakfast so I doubt I would stay here again. A general recommendation for tourists from a local - stay in Tofino - it's a world-class destination and you actually get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a shared bathroom - much better value. The breakfasts are incredible and are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thisisdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    27
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

As we slowly coasted up the driveway to Wisteria, we knew instantly we had chosen the right place for a two-day getaway. And boy were we right! Beverly came to greeted us at our car, and in no time at all, we were shown to our cottage (soft light on, fan whirring - very welcoming!), given a tour of the place and asked about food sensitivities/dislikes.

A short 10 minute walk from Ganges, our home-away-from-home for two nights was perfect - spacious, quiet and comfortable.

And the breakfasts.....oh lordy! Fresh juice and coffee laid waiting on a table that was exquisitely set. Chatting with new-found friends, soft music in the background, we were served a scrumptious 5-star, 2 course breakfast each morning.

If our travels find us back on Salt Spring Island, we hope to be able to stay at Wisteria again!

Room Tip: If the cottage or studio are available, reserve one! The rooms inside the main dwelling looked perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 87MargaretB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hospitality was the best, the food amazing, the cottage was romantic and our hosts Len and Beverly went above and beyond the call of duty. Looking forward to staying there again. Our dogs really enjoyed their salmon jerky treats!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Our stay at Wisteria Guest House was one of the highlights of our visit to Salt Spring Island. We had reserved Room 5, which was comfortable, with a delightful view of the garden. It was a little late in the year for sitting outside, and we were relieved to find the room had its own heating controls, very important for comfort in the chilly October nights. It was a real pleasure to meet Len and Beverly, interesting and well-travelled people whom we enjoyed chatting to. And as for the breakfasts, words can hardly do them justice! Each morning brought a new gourmet treat, not just with delicious combinations of flavours but a feast for the eyes. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda022_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Two long time couples enjoyed a wonderful two night stay. The B &B was clean and very nice . I have stayed in fancier places but none were more comfortable. Lovely gardens, superior service, truly exceptional breakfasts. We were there in prime Summer season and the place was full but you wouldn't know it. the hosts were smooth and obviously very invested in their guests experience. when it was time for bed the place was stone quiet.
this is one place you can book and not worry about it. Full value received.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ajoining if you are booking a small group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HACKVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was our second stay within a few months of each other, for a milestone birthday and anniversary. We initially chose Wisteria with several important factors in mind: pet friendly, location, price and having a king bed option. The added features became evident through our experiences. Breakfasts are divine and lovingly prepared with the freshest, in-season ingredients. The hosts, Len and Beverly, are not only personable but very helpful with recommendations. Through them, we discovered our favourite island dinner spot! You are in good hands when you stay at the Wisteria Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaplus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have returned to stay at Wisteria Guest House many times. The location is excellent as it is just a short walk to Ganges, the hub of the island with the Saturday market and beautiful waterfront. The rooms are nicely decorated, very clean with comfortable beds. The common area is a great place to meet other guests or just sit with a cup of tea. Bring a large appetite to breakfast as Beverly's gourmet breakfasts are always delicous. The grounds are large so one can sit outside under a tree or on the deck with a book and relax. We are looking forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#28 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#13 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#9 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria Guest House

Property: Wisteria Guest House
Address: 268 Park Drive, British Columbia V8K 2S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 B&B rooms, 2 studios & a cottage to choose from, the Wisteria Guest House offers a variety of accommodation to suit your needs. Each morning, join everyone in the lounge for a gourmet 2-course breakfast prepared by co-owner, Beverly Brown, former pastry chef of the Westin Hotel in Manhattan. Relax amidst an acre of country gardens just a short walk from Ganges Village, marinas & seaplane harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wisteria Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisteria Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing