We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing breakfasts, for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wisteria Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing breakfasts, for sure”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent two nice nights at Wisteria this July. The owners are very helpful, and recommended that we eat at a great local farm to table restaurant. The highlight, however, was Bev's incredible breakfasts. Not just large, but they were at the height of gourmet world. One talented lady!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    27
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Wisteria is a warm unpretentious home. Our family that is now living apart met for a wonderful weekend of sailing with my brother (Lorenda Sailing). The rooms are comfortable and affordable; we were 5 in our group. Everyone completely satisfied and happy!

The breakfast is memorable…..unexpected artful combinations made from only the freshest ingredients. Visually beautiful and delicious!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great; we shared a bathroom as we were a big group and this was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friend and I stayed a long weekend at Wisteria B&B last July. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and fairly fancy. They were served at 9am and were a great opportunity to chat with other guests. The owners were also very nice and helpful. The location is walking distance to the Visitors Center in Ganges. However, I would recommend bringing a car to Salt Spring. The bus system is not well developed enough to rely on for tourism and the roads are very hilly, making cycling very challenging (but rewarding!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey_A_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My first stay at a B & B and I would definitely go back.

The highlight for sure is the breakfast and hospitality of our hosts.

The rooms were quite comfortable and although a shares bathroom, each one is shared between only 2 rooms so it's not that big of a deal.


The gardens are pretty and the location is a short drive or a medium-ish walk from the town of Ganges.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent the weekend at Wisteria, celebrating my husband 's 50th birthday. The breakfasts were outstanding and the high tea we had was a really special treat. Every mouthful was a little taste of heaven. How often to you get the opportunity to eat food prepared by a world class chef at incredibly reasonable prices. The hosts were so generous and welcoming. Highly recommended for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schupini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My partner and I had a delightful one night stay at the Wisteria as part of a wine tour of Salt Springs and Vancouver Islands. Very tranquil setting, a few mins walk from Ganges with an awesome star filled sky to look up at on the walk back after dinner. Our room was charming and comfy, we slept like logs. In the morning, a stunning breakfast served by Bev and Len was followed by a guided tour of the garden; plucking fresh ripe juicy plums straight from the tree can't be beaten! Too short a stay but we'd have no hesitation in recommending the Wisteria to anyone wanting even just a few short hours of relaxation time. And thank you Bev for the recommendation of Tofino in winter, it's high on our list for our next trip to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert-and-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As many have said, the breakfast is excellent and the property is lovely. However,for the price, I found the accommodation quite rustic. The room felt damp and the furniture was very plain. Len was helpful and friendly, while Beverly was curt at times and not very friendly. Too busy making croissants, I guess.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lenbrown, Owner at Wisteria Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I am only responding to this review in order to show how people see things differently. The previous reviewer stayed in the exact same room just a week before and found the room to be "delightful, with comfortable beds, lovely linens, and absolutely fabulous colors". At the same time, Beverly went from being "welcoming" to "not very friendly". Fortunately, most people see it the first way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#28 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#13 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#9 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria Guest House

Property: Wisteria Guest House
Address: 268 Park Drive, British Columbia V8K 2S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 B&B rooms, 2 studios & a cottage to choose from, the Wisteria Guest House offers a variety of accommodation to suit your needs. Each morning, join everyone in the lounge for a gourmet 2-course breakfast prepared by co-owner, Beverly Brown, former pastry chef of the Westin Hotel in Manhattan. Relax amidst an acre of country gardens just a short walk from Ganges Village, marinas & seaplane harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wisteria Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisteria Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing