We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Don't miss it...”
Review of Gulf Island Safari - CLOSED

Gulf Island Safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: located two minutes,1 kilometer from Ganges We do kayaking, whale watching & sightseeing tours, paddle boarding & bike rentals
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome! Don't miss it...”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had an incredible day out on the water with Ian! He made sure to call us as soon as he knew there would be whales, and off we went. What a great approach to a tour instead of just going at a set time, this way we got to see exactly what we were hoping for, Orcas! We watched the whales for almost 2 hours as over a dozen made their way up the coast, stopping for some impressive displays a couple times. Ian was also very informative about the whales and also about all the other wildlife we came across. I would recommend the tour to anyone in the area, even the curious local and especially any visitors! Don't miss it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michaeldP7618KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
“We will never forget this excursion.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

From Switzerland and Quebec City, our party of four waited 3 days before we could make this excursion. Ian was calling us everyday to let us know if whales had been seen around. No whales, no excursion. On the third day, as the weather was absolutly perfect for this time of year (first week of October), we decided to go even if there were no reports of Orcas being seen, as humpback whales had been spotted. We were soooooo lucky that we ended up watching orcas for a long while then cross near the next island to watch the humpback whales (it is apparently pretty rare to see both on the same trip). We were out for four hours, seeing seals and sea lions on the way back. Thank you Ian for a great great day, one we will never forget. I absolutly recommend this excursion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Afternoon on the Water!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am a local Salt Springer and it was my first time Whale watching with Ian. It will definitely not be my last! Ian called us to confirm that the orcas were around, which means guaranteed sighting. We saw 2 different pods on a beautiful sunny and calm day. After verifying with everyone, Ian suggested to stay out longer because the show of whales was so amazing. We stayed out on the water for close to 4 hours! Ian is very knowledgeable about the animals and their behaviour. He can predict their path and places his boat accordingly always keeping a respectful distance. It's so easy for me just to drive out to Ganges and up on board that I will make this a yearly event if not more. I highly recommend this experience whether you are a visitor or a resident on Salt Spring!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow......just Wow....”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 headed out a few days ago on Ian's zodiac (along with 8 other lucky people). We'd been in touch with Ian for a couple of days prior, and as others have noted he won't head out unless whales have been spotted.

Shortly after 5pm we headed south towards San Juan island (in American waters). It took about 75 mins to get there, but when we did....wow...just wow. There were 20 or so killer whales feeding and playing. Ian said there were 3 pods represented. It was amazing to see these majestic animals so close. We even got to see some mating rituals. Even Ian was impressed as he said he doesn't get to see that very often.

All in all, it was an incredible experience. Will likely be the highlight of our trip to the west coast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visiting the Gulf Islands? You must get out onto the water.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a great company. They made an eco adventure so interesting, explaining so much about the islands and the sea life here. It made it very interesting for the whole family. Very ethical and helpful guide, Ian, that we had through Outdoor Visions, was the best! While no one, including Ian can guarantee whale sightings, he does his best, and lets you know if it's "likely" or not. He made it special all day regardless and we did see whales! He was respectful of the guidelines too: great trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GulfIslandsExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Island Safari also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing