We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the World!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Point

Anchor Point
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Point
Mukilteo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2005

Anchor Point is by far the best B&B I've found anywhere in the world: east coast, west coast, US, Canada, Europe, you name it.
The setting is quiet, lovely, relaxing, and near town. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed.
The common areas are relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable from the soft background music, to the Video/DVD room, to the hot tub, breakfast porch, and deck.
But what makes Anchor Point stand out is quite simply the proprietors: Lynn and Ralph Bischoff. Yes, the are gracious, completely knowledgeable about the events, locales, and personalities of the island. Yes, they welcome you warmly and are discrete and available. Yes, they can speak in a variety of language, about a huge range of topics, and with serious tones or jolly good humor.
Yet it is the caring, gentle nature of these folk that makes this truly a place I hate to leave.
And to top that: Lynn is the Julia Child of Breakfast.
If you want more than that, give it up. It doesn't exist.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDPautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2005

Anchor Point B&B is a fabulous place to stay. The house is lovely - both inside and out. The owners have taken great care in making sure your stay is both memorable and special: daily newspapers, a fantastic array of books and movies, sherry and appetizers at 5pm, slippers and terry cloth robes, three course breakfasts - yum! I could go on and on.

We loved our room. It was a lovely, well furnished and comfortable space (especially the four poster bed!) It was a lot of fun to snuggle up and watching movies with popcorn and cookies – provided by our hosts.

But what I liked especially is that you are not limited to your room. Guests can freely access the entire upstairs portion of the house. There is a really cozy sitting room, tv room, kitchen and outside porch. The owners live downstairs in a separate private suite, so it is like having the house all to yourself! The view from the house is spectacular. And it is especially enjoyable when viewing from the hot tub!

The owners are very knowledgeable about the island and they are happy to give you advice on the best places to eat and visit. I also loved the proximity of the house to Ganges (essentially the centre of Salt Spring activity).

We are definitely going to go back. It was a very romantic and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Anchor Pt. B&B for 4 nights in late June.
It is one of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed in. The innkeepers were
very friendly and unbelievably knowledgeable about everything and everyone
on Salt Spring Island. The accommodations were wonderful and the food was
the best I have ever had at a B&B - and I have traveled extensively for over
40 years. They serve a gourmet three course breakfast and then provide you
with a bag to take all the leftover baked goods to munch on the rest of the day.
There are only two rooms so there is lots of privacy. They also provide the
entire living room and the TV room for guests only - and the TV room has over
800 videos and DVDs. They provide microwave popcorn and a cookie jar full
of the best cookies you have ever eaten for movie watching. The B&B is
walking distance from Ganges (although the walk home is uphill) which is a
charming village with wonderful shops and restaurants. And don't miss the
Saturday Market. We loved Salt Spring Island and this B&B and will defintely
return to both.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2004

Anchor Point Bed and Breakfast on Saltspring Island is clearly a labour of love for the proprietors Ralph and Lynn Bischoff. The hospitality they offer is only outdone by the beautiful and peaceful surroundings they have created for their guests. Much care and planning have gone in to providing guests with privacy, amenities and comfort. Anchor Point hosts only two suites of guests at a time, making it feel like an elegant and restful home away from home! The multi-course, silver service breakfasts are works of art. Lynn and Ralph are clearly an excellent working team. Lynn's culinary talents are obvious and Ralph's knowledge and interest in the area made our time at Anchor Point a most enriching experience. I would be happy to return to Anchor Point at any time and would heartily recommend it to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2004

My wife and I spent 5 nights recently at the Anchor Point B & B. We felt entirely welcome, and we were hosted by a very interesting and gracious couple. The food was beyond excellent, the bedroom was spacious and comfortable with lovely ocean inlet views, and we were given attentive but unintrusive service. The nightly rate includes use of a living room (seating and reading area), a small but comfortable video viewing room (with an enormous selection of VHS tapes and dvds) and access to a kitchen area for refreshments at any time.
Excellent value for very fine accomodation, and so highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank pmserp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2004

We have stayed in a lot of bed and breakfasts over the last few years and Anchor Point is absolutely the best. There are only two rooms, which makes it very warm and intimate. The owners make two floors of their lovely home available, so we feel very comfortable there. From Lynn's gourmet three-course breakfasts and Ralph's morning briefings on what there is to do in Salt Spring, to evening appetizers and sherry, everything is perfect. Every possible need has been anticipated. We have visited them a number of times, and with every visit we truly feel as if we are coming home.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#7 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#30 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
#4 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Point

Property: Anchor Point
Address: 150 Beddis Road, British Columbia V8K 2J2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be pampered in our traditional cape-style residence! Harbour sunrises and island breakfasts. Designer appointed. Open living/dining space with fireplace, library, Cable and Wi-Fi. Cozy robes & slippers, hot-tub. A true escape from the everyday. All "Yours to Enjoy"! Frommer's recommended, BC Tourism Approved, Member WCBBIA Canada Select 4 Star Rating. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing