We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Invigorating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Peaceful and Invigorating”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a wonderful and very relaxing stay at the "Amelia" cottage. The cottage was extremely clean, well stocked and has a beautiful ocean view deck. The staff is really friendly and helpful. This is a very large oceanfront property with private beaches and only a ten-minute drive to town where you can find grocery stores, restaurants, shops and kayak rentals. It was a very peaceful and invigorating experience! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML-7-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from three amazing nights at this retreat and already want to go back. The cabin " Sylvia" was clean, comfortable, and well stocked. The owner described to us how she had built the log cabin herself from a book in the 1970's which made it all the more special. We launched our kayak from the first beach and paddled to Prevost Island the first day and the chain islands into Ganges the second. The property is so large for the number of guests that you could always find a peaceful place to rest and relax. On the south point there is a double adirondack chair to sit back and take in the amazing Gulf Island view with a glass of wine. Thank you for taking such care to keep this property so unspoiled it is truly a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were looking for a quiet retreat for a weekend away from Vancouver and this trip was perfect. It was a fast and easy commute on the ferry and then we had complete solace in nature on this little peninsula in the bay.
There were deer that ate out of your hand, a private beach and we stayed in a handmade wooden cabin that was beautiful.

They are on the first street after the ferry and close to the center of town, and main docks.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable anniversary weekend spent at this awesome property... It was the perfect choice for a relaxing, peaceful and private getaway for my wife and I. The fact that the property has so few cottages for such a large tract of land, gave us the feeling of having our own private resort. Add an oceanfront deck, two secluded beaches, extensive natural vegetation, plenty of accessible shoreline, and beautiful sunsets... simply stunning! The cottage was super clean and well appointed, with a very comfy bed. Amenities are a short drive away - groceries, restaurants, shops, ferries. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJL-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Judging from the photos on their website, I knew it was going to be a charming place. But being there was so much better - there are small little details that won me over. I stayed at the Constance which is a studio type cottage with its own little kitchen and two decks - one facing the property (look out for deer and rabbits) and the other facing the bay (check out the morning mist when you're up early). It has everything you need - pots and pans, utensils, etc; all you have to do is shop for food. The property has two private beaches and a look out point at the end of the peninsula. The place isn't luxurious, but its coziness makes it charming and inviting and makes it very difficult to leave. If you're into nature and don't mind being away from the town centre, then this place is for you. To top it off, the ladies that run the place are extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at a cottage on this special spit, and really can say that it was a great decision. This little treasure of a plot of land should never be spoiled, as it has all of the charm of bygone days, with the character and yet spotlessness under the care of two very special ladies. We had a wonderful barbeque of Saltspring Island Lamb, combined with some of the special Saltspring Island goat cheeses and special breads and pastries, definitely not camping. Then we curled up by a natural wood burning fireplace with a good book and glass of wine from the island as well. As someone else described it, Paradise on Earth. No bugs, the ocean waves lulling you to sleep, and a cozy cottage all to yourselves, what more could you ask. It is "insanely" beautiful, and worthy of a trip just to experience it. Romantic, quiet, scenic, and warm. It would be a bargain at twice the price, as I don't think it can be replicated. I hope these wonderful ladies live forever to keep this land special for many to enjoy. We only stayed at the Charlotte Suite, but it was wonderful, with its own kitchen, and the barbeque right out the front door.
Dave and Ruth

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturalgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have been coming to Salt Spring every year for the last 5 years. We have stayed at many different cabins and Spindrift is our all-time favorite!

We have now been to Spindrift twice. We have stayed in the Charlotte and the Sylvia log cabin. The Sylvia log cabin has been our favorite so far. The sweet smell of cedar, wood stove and panoramic views of the ocean are simply amazing.

We adore this place because it is private, quiet and majestical. The land is breathtaking. You can take in the sunrises and sunsets out on the point. You can enjoy the white sand beaches. You can take photos of all the wildlife.

Honestly, what more could you ask for?

It is also the closest place to town we have stayed (which is really convenient). If you are looking for a romantic, nature filled, peaceful vacation this is the place for you.

Amy and David

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Duizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#9 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
32 reviews
5.3 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 255 Welbury Dr, British Columbia V8K 2L7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift is located on Welbury Point: a secluded six acre peninsula just four miles from the village of Ganges on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia, Canada. Our six cottages are situated at sea's edge near the entrance to the Point. The remainder of this scenic peninsula is left in its natural state of arbutus and fir groves with paths winding easily to private, white sand beaches. Small cove beaches, lawns and grassy niches along the Point provide quiet seclusion with broad ocean vistas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing