We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Funky”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Funky”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a few days there in the Fall - quiet & sublime. Loved the old-school feel - two great beaches and lot's of space in an Arbutus & Douglas Fir wonderland. Being very close to the main village, we were able to experience some excellent cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The only negative was the lack of a hot tub, but because they are on a well, that's pretty tricky! Aside from that, this place is a wonderful escape, serine, quite, and one of the best private area peninsulas I have ever experienced.
The caretaker is very nice and there are deer wandering around the property. I never saw one person on the property even. This island and this accommodation is definitely a special place to stay, especially if you want to connect with yourself or nature.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can't say enough about our weekend at Spindrift in Rose Cottage. The cottage was comfortable, relaxed, well appointed, clean - you just felt at home as soon as you came in. The deck was a real treat with the ocean right in front of us, wildlife all around, and the special treat of catching both sunrise and sunset on the water. Loved the walks to the beach through the woods with deer, rabbits and birds all around. Close enough to Ganges to drive in for dinner, but no need to if you wanted to stay cocooned. And I had the best sleep I've had in ages. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After 15 years of Sister Weekend getaways in various locations in BC my sister and I have finally found our special "Sister Home" in Rose Cottage at Spindrift. This was indeed the most special place to recharge and reconnect. Quiet and peaceful - nature at its best - this is a retreat.
The cottage was exactly as advertised - and more. Thoughtful touches - binoculars and a telescope, fresh flowers, comfortable cushions for the deck chairs, yarn and needles for those who enjoy keeping their hands busy. The furnishings a collection of comfortable new chairs and sofas, and lovely vintage wooden accent tables. The fireplace made it perfectly cosy.
The views are spectacular! From every room. The property is so quiet and private you could not be further away from the world.

Our only lament was that the 3 days went too fast. We can not wait to go back again next year! Sharon please safe a place for us.

Room Tip: All cottages have waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port townsend
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We rented a 2 person cottage that overlooked the water. Quiet and private with lots of space between cottages. Deer wander the property and will eat out of your hand. two secluded beaches on the property and a short walk to an outstanding sunrise viewing site on the property at the tip of Welbury point. A treasure on bucolic Salt Spring island.

Room Tip: The website has ample information on each of the cottages and their location along the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages sits on an idylic peninsula on Salt Spring Island near Long Harbour. It is quaint and quiet and the ocean views are breathtaking. However don't stay in the studio duplexes. The decor, floor covering & bathroom are 1970 vintage. The sliding glass door to the deck is one pane in thickness. The bathroom sink is so low a 6 foot man has to sit on the toilet to wash hands. The shower stall is very basic and one can barely turn around in it. It was Thanksgiving weekend and the owner (Sharon) met us at the office with a comment..."do you want to pay cash up front"? What respectable place does that these days?

Her demeanor was curt and she didn't have the courtesy to show us the place. Maybe it was an off day for her or this being late season maybe she was tired of a summer of renters. But we were paying customers worthy of better customer relations.

Room Tip: Select the cabins as the studios are like trailers and haven't been updated since the "70...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trekbiker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were here during the weekend of September 13. We came for the Saltspring Island Fall Fair, which is well worth the visit.

This place occupies a full peninsula only about two minutes from the Long Harbour ferry slip. It is quiet and untouched. The cabins are spotless and face the ocean. You can see all sorts of wildlife.

The proprietress is hospitable, engaging and knowledgable. She was great.

The property is protected by a fence and a gate that closed behind you when you came onto the property; it made us feel very secure.

The walk out to the point is spectacular. One of the beaches has a fascinating history that is attached to the First Nations people of the islands; get the host to tell you about it.

We would absolutely love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#5 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
11 reviews
5.3 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Spindrift Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 255 Welbury Dr, British Columbia V8K 2L7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift is located on Welbury Point: a secluded six acre peninsula just four miles from the village of Ganges on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia, Canada. Our six cottages are situated at sea's edge near the entrance to the Point. The remainder of this scenic peninsula is left in its natural state of arbutus and fir groves with paths winding easily to private, white sand beaches. Small cove beaches, lawns and grassy niches along the Point provide quiet seclusion with broad ocean vistas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing