We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hike!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruckle Provincial Park
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A lovely park with good parking, nice picnic areas and easy hiking trails along the ocean.

From the parking lot, take the wide paved path, go up the slate stairs to a viewpoint on a rocky outcrop of meadow and wildflowers. This is the perfect place for a picnic. The view is of Satellite Channel and the Saanich peninsula. Breathtaking! You will see the ferries coming and going from Sydney, BC as well as many yachts and sail boats.

For a different hike, head back towards the parking lot and go through the picnic area to start a longer trail that meanders along the water’s edge. You can turn around whenever you want. There are lots of good view spots of Pender Island and the local boat traffic. The path is well defined from heavy use. An added bonus: The locals say there are no bears on the island so roaming here is worry-free!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Via_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Ruckles Park is a provinicial gem. A large portion of the farm was donated to the province for all to enjoy whilst the farm is still in operation. Great to see food and animals being raised. Turkeys everywhere!

Third visit to the walk in camping spots. Each time is awesome and memorable. This time we didn't get site 78 (best there is!) but 71. Fantastic location on the ocean's edge. Saw a pod of killer whales, sea lion, seals, Bald Eagles, loads of deer and countless ferries cruising by. Wandered around the perimeter trail to Yeo Point. Gorgeous. Active Farm Trail is also fantastic.

This is a park that gives in so many ways. From day tripping, picnicking, camping, wildlife viewing, hiking and observing a working farm. You can't beat this spot!

There are 8 rv spots in case you want to stay in your rv. Not oceanside, nor have power but a short walk to the water.

Room Tip: Wheelbarrows available at trailhead to help you get your gear down. Some sites have raised wood plat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We didn't camp in Ruckle Provincial Park opting instead to stay at a nearby rental property but once discovered, we made numerous visits back during our two week stay on Salt Spring Island. This gem of a park has picnic benches with lovely serene views and is dog friendly albeit on a leash. There were some interesting hikes along trails that hug the coastline and a place to stop at the entrance and visit some free range heritage turkeys (dogs not included!). There was a well stocked "honour system" vegetable stand on the drive into the park. We spent a few lazy afternoons up on the rocky viewpoints searching the horizon for marine life and enjoying the gentle breezes and warm sunshine. Definitely worth a visit on your next trip to Salt Spring Island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
2  Thank Ssimerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

They had to talk me into walking in to camp, but it was better and more fun than some lodging! Also loved the group campfires and comraderie!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0 mi away
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Fulford Harbour
30 reviews
0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
119 reviews
0 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
0 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#2 of 5 in Ganges
143 reviews
0 mi away
Beachfront at Vesuvius
Beachfront at Vesuvius
#1 of 1 in Vesuvius
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruckle Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruckle Provincial Park

Address: Southern Gulf Islands- South End, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing