We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Beautiful, Refreshing... great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, Beautiful, Refreshing... great place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We spent our anniversary week on Salt Spring Island, and found the Boat House cottage very pleasing and relaxing. The bed was sooooo comfortable, we slept better than in years! About the only thing lacking was a dresser and closet for our clothes. (Altho there were pegs to hang things on, and we were able to made do!) We loved the privacy and the closeness to the water for our kayaking as well as the quiet country road for bicycling and picking up fresh produce at the farm stands. All this and still only a 15 minute drive to town for anything else you might want! Liz made everything so nice upon our arrival including plenty of wonderful tasty food treats that lasted for days! We aren't the "join the crowd" type as some B*B's offer, so this could not have been better for us. She was there if we needed anything, but not at all intrusive. Especially appreciated was a little special "something" left on our kitchen table upon our return from a hike on the day of our anniversary. Looking forward to our next trip to this wonderful spot, and Island. Thank you Liz, you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonVacationer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, BC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Elizabeth was kind enough to accommodate our young daughter (who is an experienced traveller). The Blue Heron proved to be a great home base for my husband and daughter to explore the island while I attended a weekend workshop.

It was wonderful to start the day enjoying my tea with an ocean view. The garden surrounding the entire B&B and our suite was just lovely - I wished I'd noticed the fresh herbs before we had cooked our eggs! The food was very good and we ended up eating the homemade granola when we returned home, as there was just too much food! The baked goods were amazing, especially the cookies.

I wish there would have been time to paint the lovely garden and the views from the beach access. Hope to come back for a relaxing leisurely weekend next time, and take my tea right to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natvPortMoody_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We highly recommend this clean and romantic B & B. The owner respected our privacy by greeting us at arrival and checkout. The cottage was stocked with milk, eggs, juice and a variety of breads and jam in the refrigerator. A barbeque in the private garden is handy if you want to cook fresh fish from the market in Ganges.

We couldn't have asked for a more quiet setting. We picked this out of the other locations on Salt Spring Island because of the pictures on the web site showing views of the water, and it did not disappoint. From the living room you could see down the driveway to the channel and watch the boats and blue herons go by. Although the location is across the street from the beach, it might have been 30 minutes between cars, so the only sounds were the wind in the trees, the birds singing, and perhaps the rabbit munching in the garden in the evening if you listened hard.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandol-Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron B&B in June of 2008 to do some kayaking. It was wonderful we had the Galiano suite and it was everything we expected and more. You couldn't find a nicer hostess than Elizabeth, very friendly and most helpful. We looked forward to her baked goodies in the morning, a perfect start to the day.
How anyone could have anything negative to say about the Blue Heron and Elizabeth is beyond belief, keep up the good work Elizabeth and don't change a thing.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri-and-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I've been a visitor to the Blue Heron several times and have become a friend of the owner. The rooms are beautifully decorated, bright and very clean. The cottage is private, quiet and the decor is lovely. Guests get a generous breakfast basket. The owner is very good at managing making guests feel welcome and giving them their privacy at the same time. The website is very clear about what is provided at what cost. I am confused about the negative review of "not worth the money". Much of it seems to be based on falsehoods, which the owner has corrected in her rebuttal. It deeply concerns me that someone can just spread such negativity publicly for everyone to read. The review speaks more to the critics emotional state than to the state of this lovely oceanfront retreat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna, bc
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My husband & I stayed in the newly refurbished boathouse which we found to be completely private with it's own little courtyard. The delightful freshly baked breakfasts delivered to your door each morning were greatly anticipated and absolutely delicious! The fridge also came equipped with eggs, juice, coffee cream etc. Right across the street from the ocean and a short walk to a cute little restaurant. We would return!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This was our third trip to Salt Spring Island in the past six years, and our third stay at The Blue Heron. We found The Blue Heron through an on-line search our first year. The web-site was easy to navigate, had great pictures, and was most easy to book on-line.

Liz Turner is an amazing Bed and Breakfast host. What we love the most about Liz is her knowing that people come to the Island to rest. She graciously invites you into one of her three beautifully decorated suites and leaves you to enjoy the view of the ocean, the tranquility of her garden, and the sights and sounds of Salt Spring Island.

What can you expect with service? The refrigerator is stocked with the essentials for your stay: milk, eggs, smoked salmon, home-made jam, home-made bread, organic Salt Spring Island coffee, yogurt, home-made still-warm granola, cereals, hot chocolate; and much more. Our understanding of a Bed and Breakfast experience, from our travels around the world, is that it is not designed for full service cooking as one would expect when one rents a time-share. It is meant to have the minimum, but allow the maximum. That is, a hot plate is available for cooking some eggs in the morning and a toaster oven to warm up some restaurant left overs if need be. We preferred to support the locals by eating at great establishments like: "The Tree House," "Barb's Buns," and so many other great food places in Ganges and Fulford Harbour (Rock Salt Cafe). For only $25/day/person you can eat on the island no problem! The Organic Salt Spring Coffee company is a must for coffee lovers!

At the B&B, full internet is available, full cable service, and you can even borrow the phone for emergency calls. We never needed a phone because we have two cells phones on at all times! The king size bed is so comfortable and the suites are so tastefully decorated in a French Country theme of blues and yellows; lovely. Liz also has many books available about the island on hand in your room and provides a detailed map of the island upon your arrival. We visited so many sites recommended by her: Ruckle Provincial Park, Fulford Harbour, Ganges, Vesuvius, St. Mary's Lake, and the over 30 plus artist locations open to the public (Salt Island Cheese Company, woodworkers, textile makers, soap makers, etc., -- an amazing island!). Do not forget to visit the local Art Gallery! We even had the chance to see the a local high school improvisation night at the local theatre attached to the art gallery. Awesome!

The bathroom was fully stocked with fresh fluffy towels! No problems with plugging in all the needs of home, outlets are everywhere! Several times in meeting Liz in the morning or evening, while she was working in her garden or off to do an errand, she asked if we were missing anything from our suite. She always was looking out for our best interest!

We would highly recommend that you stay at The Blue Heron. It is located in such a quiet part of the island that it was hard to get up in the morning. With the sun rising over the ocean, the cool smell of cedar in the air, we slept like babies...oh how we miss the island already! We will be returning! Liz, thanks for your hospitality!

Michael and Cynthia, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertab0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
4.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
423 reviews
5.5 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#8 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
20 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
108 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1160 North Beach Rd, British Columbia V8K 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing