We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Salt Spring Island Cheese Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Spring Island Cheese Company makes both sheep and goat milk cheeses. Come visit us on the farm where we are located, and sample all of our cheeses. There are windows into every room of our facility, so you can also see the entire cheesemaking process from start to finish.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Magnificent cheeses in a beautiful setting. Lovely tasting room with lots of choices. Remember to take your cooler because you will want to take some home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    89
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Lots of samples, lots of goats! Bought some cheese and crackers and had a picnic outside. Next time goat's milk gelato for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Kirs1O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of beautiful cheeses!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

For our wedding last June, we picked up a large selection of the beautifully flavoured and decorated soft goat cheeses. Our guests raved about how delicious the cheese was, and how beautiful. We were so pleased.

Last weekend, we returned to purchase some cheese to have a little anniversary celebration with our friends. It was fun to see the whole cheese making process through the self guided tour looking through the windows into their production facility. As well, we tried the local products that they carry from around the island and some cheeses that we had not had at our wedding. What a fun trip!

Keep up the good work.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the setting, the cheese tastings ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit. Free range chickens, goats, cheese making viewing and cheese tasting. Boutique offers free coffee and sells other local products.

You can also buy yummy goats milk ice cream. Loved going there.

Helpful?
Thank shreddasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chevre to die for”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is heavenly cheese! My favorites were the fresh goat cheese and the goat cheese feta with Kalmata olives and olive oil. Do tour the farm, but don't expect to see and smell thousands of goats. The milk comes from a farm on the mainland now. But do taste the cheeses, both the fresh and aged--really delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Spring Island Cheese Company also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Salt Spring Island Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing