We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Peaceful Haven by the Sea”
other traveller has booked this property
Daffodil Cove Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Daffodil Cove Cottage
On the trail to the oceanfront Loft in Daffodil Cove Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Daffodil Cove Cottage
On the trail to the oceanfront
Loft in Daffodil Cove Cottage
Dining area, Daffodil Cove Cottage
Living Room, Daffodil Cove Cottage
Marine traffic
Ocean deck
Daffodils at shore
Deer on trail to shore
Forest setting
Sunset at the cottage
Guests arriving by kayak at low tide
Deer don't eat foxgloves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joan B
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Haven by the Sea”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Daffodil Cove Cottage

> You do not need a camera
> To keep it in your mind
> To walk among the daffodils
> And see the place behind.
> Standing tall upon the hill,
> Watching ore the cove
> And out to sea
> Listening to the evening bird choir and
> Soft rain falling on the trees
> Peace and quiet awaits
> At Daffodil Cove Cottage by the sea.
>
> The damper does not do much
> In saving of the wood
> The stairs and doors, squeak a bit
> But, perhaps that's as they should.
> The windows, oh, the windows
> Looking out over vistas far & wide
> Are definitely the crown
> Of this cottage, by the seaside.
>
> Our days have been idyllic
> Without a doubt we will return
> Thank you, for the sojourn here,
> The sunny days, tasty food, the pleasant BC wines
> Oh, and also for the loft upstairs
> A lovely place to lay our heads
>
> Written by Joan Barron March 19-25,2013
>

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the peacefulness, the green
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Delta BC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2012
Thank you for your nice comments, Samantha. What a treat to have a review from a 10-year old!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zboubi
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little cottage away from it all”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

It was our third time in this secluded little cottage.
We love the location, the surroundings a mix of rocks and arbutus with some exceptional vistas, the wildlife always present with hummingbirds, eagles, deers, lizards, butterflies etc, all of them can be observed from the large balcony or while having breakfast by the kitchen area windows.
The cottage itself is small but well laid and can accommodate very comfortably a couple and 2 kids, with one bedroom and 2 smaller beds on the mezzanine. There is a pull out coach as well in the living area. We love the laid back furnishing and the books that are everywhere. The front windows are floor to ceiling to do justice to a fabulous view and the silence is only broken by the birds (and your kids if you have some). The owners are very friendly and discreet, we usually see them once during the stay and they always have good suggestions about what to do and will gladly help you get the most out of your stay.
We only regretted the absence of barbeque, that the bay windows were dirty in some places (kitchen area particularly) and the window above the bathtub lost its sealant witch made us nervous to get it wet while taking our shower.
Nonetheless this is our favorite cottage on our favorite island and we will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the vue
Liked least: no barbeque
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2012
Thank you for your nice review! Thank you also for your constructive comments, the items mentioned will be attended to.
We provide a barbecue on request, so sorry that you missed it. Do ask at your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We wanted a quiet spot to enjoy the beauty of Salt Spring and found it at Daffodil Cottage. The setting was beautiful -high on a hill overlooking the ocean with wonderful hikes nearby. It was very peaceful and the only signs of other life were the deer , bald eagles, and other birdlife which you could view from the cottage. However, Sabina and Harold (the owners) were a short walk away should you need anything, and were very helpful with suggestions for activities on the island. The cottage was very clean with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing