We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mowhinna Creek Campground”

Mowhinna Creek Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mowhinna Creek Campground
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mowhinna Creek Campground”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent several days camping at Mowhinna Creek Campground through this past summer. I was particularly impressed with the kind and helpful nature of the campground host, Rod. He was always there to help me with small problems and made my stay smooth and enjoyable. The campground itself is well cared for, clean, and has wonderful bathroom and shower facilities. If you are looking for a great place to stay on Salt Spring Island you should check out Mowhinna Creek Campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. It is campers like yourself that make the effort worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have camped their a few times the summer,and it is very clean and well keep.The host goes out of his way to help you any way he can.I was camping their on the friday night that M.Graeme arrived and it was hard to sleep with their car horn going off countless time,and the doors being slammed over and over.I enjoy it their very much because it is so quiet and peaceful,that is until you get people that show up late and have no respect for the other campers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kokenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your support in your review. We are always troubled when a guest is not happy and to hear from our other guests always helps to make our staff feel they have looked out for the good of the majority without undue reaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

About a km outside of Ganges, nice pitches with plenty of shade and clean toilets/showers.

We arrived late on Friday from Vancouver (ferry was delayed & got in about 11.30pm). Whilst this was later than expected we had given prior notice of our arrival time.
On arrival, the office was closed with no notice of our pitch. The phone went to voicemail. As instructed on the office door we knocked on a motorhome door. When eventually Rod answered he was obnoxious, rude and threatening. It was a very unpleasant introduction to our holiday and spoilt an otherwise lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We reviewed our policies and have taken efforts to ensure late check-ins no longer conflict with the peace and quiet of the campground. Late check-ins after dark are no longer encouraged due to the complaints about noise we have received from other campers already in the campground. We have explored alternate ferry routes that bring campers to the site at a reasonable time and we welcome inquiries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We found the location of this campground from town very convenient with our bikes and camping gear. Had a great private spot to pitch our tent. Showers and wifi were good, and the camp host Rod super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardinbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Bike camping was the first emphasis of our campground development and to hear such words of encouragement is wonderful. Subsequent years of development have allowed expansion to include some of the loveliest RV sites on the island. We welcome all types of campers and there are private spots where everyone can feel at home in a clean and secure environment.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The campground is perfect - electricity, water, showers, flush-toilets and wifi. Not to mention the great service and help provided by the host to unexperienced campers like us. There is a lot of space for each camper or tent so you have real privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp H, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
Thank you for your glowing review. We really are grateful for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Mowhinna Creek a few times in 2012. Of the relatively few campgrounds on Salt Spring Island, it's the all-round best choice. The design is well thought out, and there's a good mix of RV, drive-in tent and walk-in sites. (One evening I checked out every single site.) Like many private campgrounds, some sites are a little close together but most offer pretty good privacy.

The hosts always seem busy doing something, so it's super clean and well-mantained. I appreciate the little details like if you purchase firewood, it comes in a tote with kindling and newspaper.

Although rustic it has the amenities you want like good drinking water, great showers, flush toilets, a little store (in the office) with cold drinks, ice, 'mallows, 'dogs and buns etc. It's minutes from the shops and restaurants in Ganges and close to the Mt. Maxwell viewpoint which is a must-see. Plus their rates are comparable to elsewhere so for what you get, it's well worth it.

Just a tip: If you're planning to camp anywhere in the Gulf Islands get a BC Ferries Experience card (at any terminal). What it saves you in fare basically pays for your campsite.

Helpful?
8 Thank Esor313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp H, Owner at Mowhinna Creek Campground, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
You were wonderful guests and we are always gratefull to have you back. Return customers are the best endorsement for a business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
430 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#8 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowhinna Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowhinna Creek Campground

Property: Mowhinna Creek Campground
Address: 515 Fulford-Ganges Rd, British Columbia V8K 2K1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing