We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Life is good”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Morning waters
True the window
Fishing
Turtles in spring
Rojitas our rooster
Canoeing
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
790theres...
Burnaby, BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for families but not for us”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Pros: This cabin is in an idyllic spot on the lake. It's good for families, lots of activities. There's a lake with a dock and canoe. We swam in the water a few times and enjoyed the lake. The kitchen in the cabin is very functional and we used it quite a lot in the few days we were there. The family who owns this property is quite friendly.

Cons: It's not great for couples for privacy: the cabin is right behind the main house and the curtains don't cover the windows completely. The patio on the cabin is quite nice, but looks out onto the house, not onto the lake. The bed and futon couch weren't comfortable. They are dog friendly, but the cat on this property didn't like me or my dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming in the lake
Liked least: The bed and futon were very uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Muchas gracias por tu review Teresa, espero todo lo mejor para ti Tania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realneilo...
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
“Life is good”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We came over to the island for a short break and enjoyed our stay here. The cabin is rustic and fits in well with the surroundings - it is comfortable, clean and has everything you need for a short stay. Do not expect a modern condo if you are coming from the city - this is country living! The lake is just a few metres away - and we bought our own kayaks to paddle around the lake and off the island - so the location is fantastic.The owners Tania and Jose are extremely friendly and happy people and never intrusive - just let you get on with things, which makes the place easy going and a place to come to relax and chill out. We loved our stay - and will be back for some more serenity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: To go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you Neil I am glad you enjoyed the place and love to have you guys back too. Tania and Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
char2015
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cabin was basic and a little small for 4 people. The pillows and beds were flat and hard.n I had to ask for sheets and blankets.
the cleanliness of the kitchen was okay but the rest of the cabin definiately needed cleaning . There were cob webs and dirt in corners and behind furniture, etc.
THeir dog nipped my leg on the way out.
The people seemed nice and the lake was truly beautiful. I really appreciated their canoe and had some great paddles.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori J
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away, definitely on list to return”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 6 days July 25-31/16 and the weather was outstanding! Here is everything you need to know about Magic Lamp Cabin. It is a cabin on the owners property - just behind their house. It felt like a B&B that was separate from the house. The owners were there if you needed anything but gave you privacy. You have use of the dock and lake along with the canoe and kayak, we were also offered eggs and veggies from their garden.

The cabin itself was very clean and fairly updated with pretty much everything you need. There are reviews that stated you can not use toilet paper, which is not true, just that they are on septic so don't want anything that doesn't break down in the system. Also mention of water not being drinkable. The owners have put in a filter system and the water tastes great. I had brought bottled water because of the review but preferred to drink the tap water! Also reviews of rotten deck boards and dirty spider webs everywhere was definitely not the case when we were there. The boards have been replaced and there was more spider webs in my house when I got home! There is a small TV that you can access the Netflix account so if you need your tv fix you can watch some movies or use the DVD player. The WIFI was strong so you don't have to totally unplug! The bed was fine, little firmer than I like but good enough for your cabin stay. There was only one HUGE disappointment for us - there is no BBQ! West coast living is all about BBQ and I grill year round. It also got warm in the cabin when I had to use the oven and stove.

The lake is a lovely setting, the water though a little murky was warm and I was in most days for a swim. My partner was canoeing a couple of times each day and caught one small bass and a few lost bites, but we both certainly enjoyed the canoe, even the dogs got in for a ride! Which brings me to the pet policy! It is a fantastic place to take your dog kids! I have two rather rambunctious dogs that like to wander and they were welcomed and had a great time being off leash and able to enjoy their surroundings too! They have a min-pin that is a friendly little girl and a couple of cats and everyone got along.

Great location to get some peace and quiet, I mean really quiet...dark nights to see the stars, actually got view of the space station flying overhead while looking at the stars!

Special thanks to Tania and Jose for offering their place and hospitality would suggest anyone wanting a great getaway do not hesitate getting to the Magic Lamp, you will not be disappointed! As mentioned the only thing is the lack of a BBQ and next time I will bring along a small hibachi or camp grill!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: it was even more comfortable than I thought it would be. Location great, cabin great, hosts great
Liked least: no barbecue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Hi Lori, thank you so much for a lovely review, we also enjoyed to see the dogs so playful, they are so friendly. We will take the BBQ suggestion very serious and next time you come you will have a BBQ for sure! It was so nice meeting you guys! Tania and Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susy2002c...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Greatest scape”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed every moment, Tania and Jose made us feel welcome and at home, the cabin was clean and equipped with all that you need and more. The lake close by was a paradise not only for us, but also for our German Shepard dog " Sace" too. The tranquility and the aroma of nature was wonderful. And so were the complimentary mojitos. Thank you Tania, Jose, and Rumba.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we enjoy Sace too, Tania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicSeek...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“It was truly a magical location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Tania and Jose were very welcoming: This location was beautiful and very peaceful, as well as, the the cabin had all the modern conveniences that we needed including an updated water filtration system, so now there is plenty of drinking water available in the cabin.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
1 review
“Lovely hideaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nothing fancy, but clean and well-equipped studio cabin. Perfect! Hosts were very pleasant too. The lake is beautiful and you have a small view from your porch, with immediate access to a big view, and use of lakeside seating, canoe and kayak. We loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing